We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay for a business traveler in a touristy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #20 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed two nights at the Loews Hollywood for business recently, and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Its touristy location, in Hollywood, wasn't a factor for me. But I found the rooms to be large, clean, and recently renovated, and the hotel staff was helpful. It has one of the better hotel gyms a traveler can find. One caveat: I couldn't find the hotel business center, though I did find a FedEx office where one could pay for computer use. But I wound up not needing a desktop.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when traveling on business in the area next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,750)
There are newer reviews for Loews Hollywood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,136 - 2,142 of 3,750 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is smack in the middle of all the Hollywood glitz. Next door to Grauman's Theatre and all the star's footprints, Hollywood Walk of Fame, Madam Tussauds etc, and next to a shopping centre that has entertainment, restaurants and music pounding in your ears. Our first room was a shocker on the 2nd floor, claustrophobic and terrible so we asked to be changed and we had a lovely one on the 12th with a little glimpse of the Hollywood sign. The hop on, hop off bus is 1 min away and can take you to all the sights of LA. This is the perfect position to be in the middle of all the glam and bling of Hollywood but if you prefer quiet, this is not the place for you! The bar downstairs is lovely for a relaxing drink after a day's sightseeing.

Room Tip: Get a room higher than the 5th floor for a chance of a view. The higher the better!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieGolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for the evaluation of your recent stay.
It is great to know that the hotel’s location worked well for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Loews from August 13-16, 2014. The hotel, located in an upscale outdoor shopping mall at the corner of Hollywood and Highland is in the middle of the Hollywood tourist action. Steps away from the Hollywood Walk of Fame, there is action on the street at all hours of the day and night, but the hotel is well insulated and blocked from street noise by the location of the mall.

We got a great price for our fifth floor room from Priceline, so our bathroom was not like the modern spa bathroom pictured on the hotel's website. I suspect the lower floors of the hotel have not been fully renovated from the days when this was once a Holiday Inn. Having said that the bathroom was clean and our sleeping room was spacious, modern and updated with two double beds that were very comfortable.

We used the Loews as base camp for our three days in Hollywood before moving to the beach. It was a perfect location for visiting the Griffith Observatory, the Hollywood Bowl, the Greek Theater, downtown L.A., the Staples Center, a Koreatown dinner, Rodeo Drive, and a taping of Two and a Half Men at the Warner Brothers Studio. Each of these places was no more than a 10-15 minute drive from the Loews.

We rented a car and parked in the mall parking lot as opposed to the valet parking offered by the hotel. On days where we did not use the car, it was less expensive than the valet. But because the mall lot does not offer in/out privileges, on days when you plan to take the car from the hotel several times it would probably be less expensive to valet.

The rooftop pool deck is dramatic with a large Egyptian themed wall towering overhead that gives the area a good sense of style. We used the pool only once late in the afternoon one day and it was hard to find a chair.

Overall, we were happy with our stay and the quality of the hotel. If you're planning a trip to Hollywood to the tourist thing, you cannot beat this location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mdtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We are delighted to know that Loews Hollywood Hotel’s iconic location served you well on your travels. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This place got a nice re-do in their recent renovation, AND a new menu. It was just big enough to have choices, but small enough to not feel overwhelmed. That's always really important to me.

The tuna app was made with super fresh and yummy fish.

I also had the greek salad which was a good size and tasted fresh and health as well!

I was hear for a business lunch, but I might come back and try the other menu items!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentina1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for the feedback. We are proud of the exciting changes in Preston’s and delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have stayed at my fair share of hotels and this one ranks among the best. I was traveling on business so cost was not a factor in my stay as the hotel was covered by my company's events and meetings organization. The room was immaculate and had a view of the "Hollywood" sign, so that was a nice bonus. The meeting facilities were also very nice. I was a presenter and everything worked, as expected. The location is also great as it is half a block from the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Grauman's Chinese Theater, the Dolby Theater, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dad_Is_A_Big_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent experience.
We truly appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hotel has a great location, very modern looking rooms and lovely pool. I have only rated as a two star as the hotel had toiletries in it which were exactly the same as the two star hotel we had just come from but was charging us about five times the price. They also charge for WiFi which the two star did not. When we sat down for breakfast in the morning the waitress was pushing the breakfast buffet on everyone in our party telling us it was a great option, unlimited trips up etc. Myself and my husband opted out and got some pancakes but everyone who was with us took up the buffet option. The food was dire, uncooked eggs, uncooked pancakes, sausages that were cold and looked uncooked and all of it bar the still raw pancake was stone cold. Iv never felt so lucky to have ordered something different! The hotel was unapologetic on check out, the receptionist rang the kitchen to say we had complained about the food but that was all that happened. Felt slightly cheated for the price

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zeva90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for the feedback. While we are thrilled to have been your hotel of choice on your fist visit to Hollywood, it seems we fell short in the execution of your experience.
Please accept our apologies and feel free to contact a member of our management team for further assistance. Note that Complimentary Wi-Fi is a standard amenity at all Loews Hotels. Additional, premium connection may be purchased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in July on a family holiday, great hotel in a good location to discover Hollywood. Excellent check in with really friendly staff, we were upgraded to room with view of a Hollywood sign free of charge. Good size well decorated room with really comfortable beds. Nice pool area. Used near by open top bus to get sound LA and all the sights. Hotel near a shopping centre and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Hollywood sign
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at Loews Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent experience.
We truly appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,946 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#68 of 353 in Los Angeles
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
The Garland
#13 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,088 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#73 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1755 N Highland Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £221 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Hollywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood sign. The Hills. The Academy Awards. Jimmy Kimmel Live. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. The city's major movie studios. This is the stuff a classic visit to Hollywood is made of-and a stay at Loews Hollywood Hotel puts you right in the middle of all the action. Whether it's sightseeing, business or relaxation that brings you here, our 628 guestrooms and suites are the perfect place to unwind after a day in L.A. Just outside our doors is the expansive Hollywood & Highland Center-a hive of activity where you can shop, eat, hang out or host an event at the Dolby Theatre, home of the Academy Awards, with catering by Wolfgang Puck. We count Jimmy Kimmel's studio as our neighbor and we're close to the Hollywood Hills and the Hollywood Bowl. Our recently refreshed rooms have some of the best views in the city-choose from postcard-perfect views of the Hollywood sign, the Capitol Records building or the L.A. City skyline. When you're ready for a little me time, head to our hotel's rooftop pool and deck, or to the Exhale Spa for a spa treatment or yoga class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Los Angeles
Los Angeles Renaissance
Renaissance Hollywood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing