We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspected”

Ports O'Call Waterfront Dining
Ranked #523 of 10,036 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Harbor Blvd
Description: Ports O’ Call Restaurant is everything that a waterfront dining should be, the setting, the food the service, in a comfortable unrushed atmosphere that is simultaneously cozy and classy, equally suited for romantic dinners and business conference. Our menu is quite varied but not overwhelming, definitely there are enough choices to ensure that every guests dining preferences will be accommodated. Ports O Call Restaurant has a well deserved reputation for serving only the finest, freshly prepared cuisine and for its skilled courteous staff, dedicated to making each guest’s dining experience a memorable occasion. Happy Hour: Monday to Friday 3:00 pm to 8:00 pm ( No happy hour on major holidays ) $4.00 for house wine, domestic beer and premium well drinks. Complementary appetizers, and half price on selected food items
Phelan CA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unspected”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Whe when there for mother day brunch usually ther brunch is $ 33.00 but the day was $ 37 they have a large plethora of good food the only bad thing is the building is so historic that they acommodate the food by the entrance and is a long way to walk around for get your food, but is a great experience we will go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillPhelanCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    44
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place but needs theme!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A great location- looks wonderful from outside as you make your way in across a little bridge, past statues of fishermen and with the ports shipping channel as a back drop! When you enter though it loses all sense of ambiance and them- it needs a theme owners!! Stick to seafaring, pirates, ships, fishing....just give it a theme and you have an excellent package.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CientoVeinte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oroville, California
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best choice in the area”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

First of all. I'm not sure what the atmosphere is likely usually...... we apparently got there on a night where they were having a fund raiser. It was a very loud and hopping place. They had a band on the patio and lots of people chatting and partying.

We ate in the bar area. The view was great! The night lights of the port make it a very magical place to sit. The view during the day would be very different, but probably interesting because of the activity. You are right on a waterway.

Our directions from the hotel were not very specific, so we stopped along the way at a couple of restaurants that were a bit iffy....... When we found the actual Ports's O'Call Waterfront Restaurant, we were greatly relieved and felt that this is one of the best choices in the area. This whole area is called Port of Call, so finding the restaurant is difficult. It didn't come up on our car GPS, nor on phone Trip Advisor. It is at the end of the restaurant area and of the port of call area.

Our waitress in the bar area was very friendly and helpful as well as prompt with the food. Considering how many people were there, that was amazing. Though she was not knowledgable about the wines, she was good in all other areas.

The fish & chips that my husband had were tasty, though heavily breaded, so he took the coating off and ate the fish. The calamari was good, but I thought the dipping sauce was a bit odd. The salad was good and I ordered a crab cake. It had good flavor, but if you are looking for the really nice crab chunk type, this is not that. It has a sort of soft crab salad type filling. All and all, this appears to be the place for an evening meal in this area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gdncd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
377 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Good food with a view”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Right on the channel. Watch giant cargo ships glide past.

Good food. Well served with attentive staff.

Great warm rolls with excellent butter and powerful pesto.

The Caesar salad didn't spare the garlic either.

Good steamers with plenty of broth and crisp bread to dunk.

Salmon done the way we requested.

Tight wine list reasonably priced.

Salad bar OK, nothing too wild.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perris, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We made the mistake of coming into San Pedro on a Sunday afternoon not expecting the enormous out of control crowds that were there for lunch that required police presence. Instead of eating at the Fish Market we sauntered out of curiousity down the pier until we found this restaurant and thought we would give it a try. There were hardly any people, the lobby and entrance were stunningly beautiful, classy and clean. The hostesses were very pleasant, accomodating and polite. The drinks were quite strong, a great value for the money and the view from the dining deck can't be beat. Cruise ships pass by every now and again with their waving passengers. The food was very tasty (try the tortilla soup) and about the same price as the food at the Fish Market minus the birds, the disastrous messes and crowds. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ports O'Call Waterfront Dining also viewed

 

Been to Ports O'Call Waterfront Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing