We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dixie Hollywood
Ranked #118 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We got in pretty late in the evening but the hotel was easy to find with GPS and ample parking so late. Check in was very quick and easy. Our room was near the office on the main level. It was clean.. bed comfy.. A/C and heat worked great! We requested a late checkout and was able to leave our rental car in the parking lot while sightseeing with a local!

I stayed here with a friend, just two women, for 4 days and the location was safe for us. A little sketchy walking to Starbucks in the morning but it is so public that we weren't worried at all. We did walk to the Thai restaurant at around 10:00pm but its a quick 3 minute walk round trip so nothing abnormal.

The diner attached had AMAZING and fresh breakfast for us everyday. Everyone there is extremely nice and it quickly became my favorite little diner!

Overall, its a good deal for staying in a safe area with comfy beds while exploring LA!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Robin, The team at The Dixie Hollywood would like to thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, and our amenities. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
There are newer reviews for The Dixie Hollywood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Not at all what we were expecting. Basically a Motel 6 with an updated paint job. Thought I'd get a great deal at $150 per night. Should cost no more than a Motel 6 at $53 per person. The location is not desirable: too far East of the Hollywood tourists are expecting to visit. Not safe or recommended to walk from here. Parking lot was full, and had to use street parking (scary). I would not recommended this hotel for families or single woman travelers based on the location and the other types of guests at the hotel. The room was remodeled on the cheap, most likely with stuff from Home Depot. Smelled of paint, the hardwood floor panels were poorly installed, the TV was in the wrong input mode, the TV shelf looked homemade and cheap, the toilet seat was not tightly secured (your welcome for my handyman skills), lights were burnt out, the shower control went from hot to cold with little range to adjust (probably just needs a new Moen faucet cartridge). Our upstairs neighbors were up at 5:30 am and we heard every footstep. I lived in SoCal for years, and I thought this hotel (5400 W Hollywood Blvd) was actually near Hollywood and Vine (6400 W Hollywood Blvd), so that's my fault for not looking it up on a map first, or visiting TripAdvisor to read the reviews. Booked two nights, fled after just one (spent just nine hours in there, just to sleep and shower). Went to a Hilton near Universal Studios for the next night, and felt that was well worth the $250 per night. You could not compare the huge value in quality, service and safety the extra $100 per night is worth. Now I probably have to fight with the hotel not to charge me for the second night, due to their 24 hour cancellation policy.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ponyboy_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that your stay with us was nothing but perfect, we are working on some changes to our hotel. We hope that in the near future you stay with us again so we have the opportunity to give you a better stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights,the great things for this hotel is location. It situate in Thai town and near the metro station. The room is clean and well decorated.
Overall I recommend this hotel for budget traveller.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NuNeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

The team at The Dixie Hollywood would like to thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, and our amenities. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were on holiday staying in Vegas and decided to drive to Los Angeles for 1 night and stayed at the Dixie Hollywood, the hotel is just off a main road which can be noisy with traffic if staying in one of the rooms near the car park entrance.The hotel has a good sized car park with plenty of spaces. The rooms were clean with plenty of amenities such as kettle, coffee and tea, iron and ironing board and tv. The area felt safe to stay in although later than 9pm there wern't many eateries open without a 15 minutes walk. we had a few minutes wait when checking in as some staff were there but oblivious to a queue however once checking in were friendly and helpful. Good low room prices you get what you pay for without frills. Overall clean, basic, friendly and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Away from car park entrance due to traffic noise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelbySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Dixie Hollywood, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

While staying at this hotel for three nights, I received multiple bed bug bites! My arms and legs were covered in them and the bites hurt tremendously. I went to the hospital to make sure that they were bed bugs and the doctor confirmed it. I contacted the hotel and they were not courteous at all. They said that they searched the rooms and they did not find anything. These people did not care the pain and bills that I had to endure. After informing them that I was considering a law suit, the hotel gave me a refund. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Guevara0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest, I am sorry that you had a horrible experience while staying at our hotel. we have resolved this issue since your last stay. We will make sure your next stay at our hotel is nothing but excellent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a small clean,but not by any means fancy place to stay. The neighborhood was seedy, but not threatening or dangerous and the metro is 100 feet away. Good bed, lots of parking, safe, wifi, nearby breakfast spot, good TV. Not a luxury place, but an adequate place. I leave first thing in the morning and get back at bedtime, so didn't need any features. I think the hotel has a pool, but never bothered to look at it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterDeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Peter, Thank you for your generous comments. The team at the Dixie Hollywood greatly appreciates your feedback. Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Not sure why the reviews are so high. For 159 dollars I would expect at least a comfortable bed. My camping pad is more comfortable. The only thing going for this hotel is that the metro is around the corner. But that's it. The area around the hotel is run down and homeless everywhere.

Nothing up eat within walking distance except Starbucks

I put this hotel on par with a super 8.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Treadonme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harshal P, Manager at The Dixie Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

The team at The Dixie Hollywood would like to thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay. We are sorry to hear you did not have a pleasant stay. We will work on our hotel and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#116 of 352 in Los Angeles
679 reviews
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#111 of 352 in Los Angeles
195 reviews
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#84 of 352 in Los Angeles
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#151 of 352 in Los Angeles
428 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Hollywood
Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dixie Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dixie Hollywood

Address: 5410 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-3406 (Formerly Days Inn Hollywood)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £112 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dixie Hollywood 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dixie Hollywood Hotel is located in the very heart of Hollywood California, a stone's throw from the Hollywood Walk of Fame. A tribute to sophistication and elegance, The Dixie Hollywood Hotel prides itself on its attentive service, guaranteed to make visitors feel at home. A stellar location puts the best of Hollywood's attractions, like the Hollywood Bowl, Universal Studios Hollywood, Greek Theatre and Griffith Park within easy reach by the use of the Metro Subway located directly next door to The Dixie Hollywood. Discover a vast range of boutique stores, Hollywood studios, and celebrity restaurants virtually blocks away from the doorsteps of The Dixie Hollywood. Relax at the pool in front of the world famous Hollywood murals with a refreshing lemonade and a book before heading out for the night. Perfect for families, couples and singles, every one of the Dixie Hollywood's 70 rooms and suites are decorated with a hand painted Hollywood themed mural, alpaca headboards, crisp, white high thread count triple-sheeted bed coverings, all accented with warm minimalist dark wood furniture and sparked with brushed stainless accents. A large flat screen TV along with ambient recessed lighting together create the perfect setting to enjoy a late night Hollywood flick in the comfort of your room. You'll discover The Dixie Hollywood to be a relaxing launchpad for all your adventures in Hollywood, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Dixie Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dixie Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Days Inn
Days Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing