We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay - Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood
Ranked #154 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Two stays with a total of 8 nights at Motel 6 Hollywood (Whitley Ave). Nice standard and clean hotel. Staff were polite and helpful. Motel 6 has made an fantastic effort to establish very good quality at a reasonable price in a very central location.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank thhaa1963 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

The room keys didn't work. WiFi was a joke. Desk jockey was abrupt and unhelpful. Room grubby. View atrocious. Fridge piddled melted water over room floor. The other residents were noisy, but you can't blame the motel for that. Pricey. Thank heavens, it was not the Hotel California!

The car park was incredibly tight to drive a car into, but the car park attendant was friendly and helpful.

But the location was great.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel itself is in a good central location right on Hollywood Blvd. The rooms are spacious with good facilities, they are cleaned regular and beds are comfy. There is parking but they charge $12 a night. I would say though that this is not the nicest of areas, there was a shooting right outside the Hotel whilst we were there. Also be aware - there was some fairly major internal work going on as it would appear they are refitting the rooms, not to much impact but hall areas looked scruffy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcWain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We went on a weekend trip, the guys in the front desk where very helpful, the room was clean and comfy, the parking is $12 a day, wich i think it should have been included but most of the hotels are like that. A lot of things are walkimg distance, so we didnt have to take the car out as much as we thought. Overall great trip and great stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lourdes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We had previously read reviews about the customer service and arrived prepared, but we were pleasantly surprised - all staff we encountered seemed nice enough! They allocated us an upper floor refurbed room as requested which was very decent for the price. The bar fridge came in handy, as did the small dining booth. Beds comfy.

Our biggest gripe was with the neighborhood - I would not want to stay here with kids, as a couple I did not feel safe walking down the street to get to Hollywood Boulevard, and had trouble sleeping with people running up and down the halls and sirens going all night (seemed like every 5 minutes).

Reception can book a decent priced airport transfer if you need - the second man we spoke to though suggested we do it online which was slightly cheaper.

If we ever go back to LA we would consider staying in Beverly Hills instead - not far away and felt much safer.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alicia-jessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Motel 6 chain is a budget hotel but with the prices of hotels in the Hollywood area in a safe area for the price stay here.Its only a few mins SAFE walk to the" walk of fame" and almost any tourist attraction can be organised at the front desk and picked up from the hotel, we did universal movie world which we organised with a very helpful lady (sorry forgot her name) right in the hotel. The front desk is staffed 24/7. The rooms are clean and have new bathrooms and most remodeled. The rooms are not to sound proof as u can hear people walking down the timber-carpet covered hallway but other than that a good night sleep was had. We walked day and night to surrounding restaurants and pubs and felt safe enough people and police out and about at all times. WIFI in the room which is better than Vegas!

Room Tip: organize a car through the hotel for airport transfers they can save u on a metered taxi
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterhutcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for one night a few weeks ago, and was very impressed with the cleanliness, location and price. Granted, as other reviewers have stated, reception staff could crack a smile, and show a more welcoming expression on arrival, but hey, can't complain. The Motel is a 2 minute work from Hollywood Boulevard, what better location could you ask for? A little further, probably 5 minutes in total, is a nice little watering hole called The Pig and Whistle. The room, although basic, was very clean and spacious, and even came equipped with a fridge, which we didn't expect. Nothing like that in budget accommodation of that ilk over here in the UK. The bathroom was clean and tidy, so no complaints from us on any front. Would definitely stay here again, without a doubt, as it suited us for where we wanted to be in L.A and what we wanted to see.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Hollywood
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Hollywood VIP Hotel
#184 of 352 in Los Angeles
382 reviews
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#160 of 352 in Los Angeles
179 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 352 in Los Angeles
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Comfort Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Hollywood La Brea Motel
Hollywood La Brea Motel
#165 of 352 in Los Angeles
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood

Address: 1738 Whitley Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4809
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £78 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Los Angeles - Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles
Motel 6 Hollywood
Motel Six Los Angeles
Los Angeles Motel Six
Los Angeles Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing