We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #172 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 7 November 2005

Was a little dubious about this choice having read some previous reviews however the hotel turned out to be immaculately clean, provided pleasant rooms and a highly satisfactory complimentary breakfast.
The staff could not have been more pleasant.
The local area was questioned by some previous reviewers however I did not feel at all threatened and enjoyed a high quality meal locally at the California Canteen and even enjoyed a beer at a bar just across from the hotel.
My only reason for not rating the hotel as excellent is the less than adequate pool - not much bigger than a bath really however that said the hotel is excellent value for money.
Previous reviewers have said that you can walk to Univeral Studios. You can but would probaly need a shower on arrival after the uphill trek - get a cab stay on for a meal at Citywalk & have a beer.

12  Thank DaveHodgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2005

For the price this hotel is well worth it. It is very close to the studios, Hollywood Bowl and Hollywood. The room wasn't anything special, but it was very clean. I would recommend that you get a room not facing the road. They first assigned us a room facing the road and we heard a lot of road noise. When we requested a room on the other side, they did so with no problem and we didn't hear a thing.

For some reason there was a peculiar smell right when you entered the lobby. No problem in our room.

Breakfast was a not much to speak of, but it got us going in the morning.

Staff was very friendly and overall we would return if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank cpatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank bootsobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2005

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank btnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin
110
Reviewed 12 July 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2005

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank diconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Claudio_sanFRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#90 of 353 in Los Angeles
397 reviews
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#139 of 353 in Los Angeles
181 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#124 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
The Garland
#13 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 3241 Cahuenga Blvd W, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Formerly Clarion Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £117 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Inn Los Angeles/Universal City! We are centrally located in the Los Angeles area, a very short distance from the studios and theme parks. For the Hollywood tourist, we are one mile from Hollywood and Sunset Boulevard. You can walk to numerous theaters and event centers. For the sports enthusiast, we are within a few miles of Dodger Stadium and the Staples Center. And, for the shopper, we are close to Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive. Our knowledgeable staff is ready to make your stay perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles - Universal City - Cahuenga Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing