We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "stay" at the Economy Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Economy Inn Hollywood
Ranked #205 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our "stay" at the Economy Inn”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

During a late night peruse around Los Angeles, my boyfriend and I were desparte to find a hotel or inn to stay at to spend the night because our flight would be leaving the next day. After calling various hotels that kept saying they were all full, I finally called the Economy Inn. This lady spoke to me and said they had rooms available and that it would cost $75. I was ecstatic at finding a place for that price and so I asked her again if she had room and she said 'Yes.' So my boyfriend and I drove there, about 8 miles, and arrived and then parked. We got to the front desk and it had a bell so we rang it and waited. About a minute later we rang again and waited. 30 seconds later we rang it repeatedly for several seconds. We then called them again and told them we were at the front desk and the speaker said, "We can't rent out rooms right now."

So our 'stay' at the Economy Inn because nonexistant and not only that but we wasted our time and gas coming here because they neglected to let us know that we can't rent out rooms. Also, there was no one at the front desk the entire time so whoever was working must have had the phone forwarded to their own personal phone. Extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all possible cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GinnyN680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    21
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
24
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Whe spend 1 nigth on july 2012. Good price for the location. Better if you have a car. Good rooms and clean. Free parking. But they dont have breakfast, at least they should give us one cup of cofee, but its OK

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ferfeito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

First it wasn't a hotel, it was a motel then It had lots of homeless people walking around the place, the price said 79.99 and I ended paying a total of 96.80 ,$5 for a 3rd person in a double queen bedroom, the parking lot was very small, the person who was in the reception was VEEEEEEERYYY RUDE!, but the ubication is good,it was very easy to find , the room was clean and descent, but I wood not stay there again. I only recommended if you'r staying for one night and if you don't mind how people threats you.

Helpful?
4 Thank Beckypeace
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a good location in the city but it's proximity to a heavily trafficked road, a really dreadful apartment complex next door and neutral staff left me wondering why I chose this place. It was affordable! There were some other motels in the area that looked better but I didn't check them out.

PROS
Good location - Thai town
Lots of stores and restaurants nearby
Off-street free parking - a real necessity these days in LA
Big screen TV
Heater functioned

CONS
Room could be a bit cleaner
No remote control
Front door not properly sealed = lots of traffic noise
Room a bit cramped
No blanket on the bed or closet
Lots of street people out front

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flavioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights in July. The hotel is perfectly fine, exactly what we expected it for the price. Classic American motel. No fuss, some sketchy things but all and all pretty good. Our card did not work, we went back 4 times to the front desk, they came right away to try to fix it, it didn't work but they were very nice and helpful and the following day the door was fixed. We felt safe, and were very close to everything. BUT, if you don't have a car, it's a bit of a walk to everything. With a car, it's perfect. There are tons of other similar motels on Sunset boulevard that are closer to the Walk of Fame and you wouldn't have to walk as much. All in all, no major bad things to say. You get what you pay for, and it's perfectly fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2bfreeand2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

This Inn is accessible to public transport about 7-10 minutes walked from Hollywood/Western Metro Train Station it is also near to convenient store and fast food restaurant. We stayed in this Inn for 3 days the price was reasonable, size of our room and bathroom was good, we have a clean room, free Wi-fi, Cable TV, the pillow and bed was soft and comfortable to sleep in. One down side is the air conditioning was a bit noisy but we manage to sleep as were very tired if you’re a light sleeper it will be difficult just bring your ear plugs. To reach this Inn from LAX Airport look for the shuttle bus G, which offers a free connection to the Aviation/ Metro Green line Train Station then get off at Imperial/Wilmington Station then transfer to blue line and get off at 7th street/ Metro Centre then transfer to Red line and get off at Hollywood/Western.Get a day pass worth $5 this is good till 3 am the next day and less expensive while the one way pass/base fare $1.25 is only good for one line only. It is also accessible to Universal Studio no need to rent a car just get off at Universal City then cross the street then you will see a bill board of universal studio then there’s a free shuttle bus waiting that will take you to Universal Studio.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lmv62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nv.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

If your lookiNG for an AFFORDABLE place to stay RIGHT IN HOLLYWOOD this is a GOOD choice! GOOD rates, on SUNSET Blvd., FRIENDLY owners, fairly large rooms. Only limitation is parking(which during the day is NOT a problem but later in the evening if the property is full you may not get a parking space & have to park on Sunset Blvd. as we did one of the two nights we stayed). Other than that this was a GOOD experience & one that met our BUDGET!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AFamilyGuy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#109 of 351 in Los Angeles
667 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Hollywood
Hollywood Stars Inn
Hollywood Stars Inn
#231 of 351 in Los Angeles
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Hollywood
Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area
Super 8 Hollywood/LA Area
#254 of 351 in Los Angeles
513 reviews
Hollywood
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#155 of 351 in Los Angeles
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn Hollywood

Property: Economy Inn Hollywood
Address: 5308 W Sunset Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-5612
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Inn Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and Comfortable rooms at Affordable Prices...The Economy Inn Hollywood features an excellent central location to complement the recent renovations, which have totally updated the traditional California motel style architecture. Gaze at the world famous Hollywood sign and enjoy the many amenities of this exciting facility. All 19 rooms of this tourist class property have been refurbished making it the perfect choice for vacationing families or busy business travelers. . All rooms are comfortable; fully air conditioned, feature color television with remote, direct dial telephone, and spacious writing desk. A wonderful and affordable choice with great access to all that southern California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Economy Inn Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Inn Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing