We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalist is great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Standard Downtown
Ranked #92 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Minimalist is great”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Really liked the room, as minimalist as it is. While there are no drawers, there's plenty of shelves and closet space in which to put clothes. Think of it as having less places to lose your stuff before checking out. Loved the spacious glass shower. Amazing.Staff was very helpful and professional. The main restaurant was pleasant and the food was excellent. I didn't try Spin upstairs though; I'm antisocial. But I understand it's fun.
Only problem was a corporation across the street decided to share their Christmas party with an entire four block radius. The noise was incredible until 11 PM but, with the help of earplugs thoughtfully provided by the hotel, I was able to sleep. I will certainly return if I have to do business in this area again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce_Romoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Joyce - thanks so much for the review and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in Downtown Los Angeles and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    419
    209
    115
    141
See reviews for
60
325
111
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

It was a last minute decision to stay an extra night in LA and move from the W Hotel in Hollywood to The Standard downtown…. TERRIBLE decision to make the move. My room was on the 3rd floor directly above the ping pong lounge or whatever. The music was so loud, my room was rattling and I couldn’t hear the TV. I called the front desk to complain and apparently it was my fault that I got a room on the 3rd floor. They “recommend you don’t stay on the 3rd or 12th floor because they are loud.” I didn’t book a hotel room to listen to my neighbors; I booked a room to sleep.

I couldn’t take it any longer and decided to go out for the night; after all I had top 40 hits rattling my cold concrete box of a room. I sat at the valet for 5-10 minutes with no service or anyone to take my car when I pulled back in after my night out. Parked it myself, then went to the front desk to see what the deal was. I was greeted by a rude/ arrogant front desk clerk who took with my keys and offered no condolences for the inconvenience.

The following morning I went down to speak with a manager. The front desk manager, Stephanie S. was very nice and professional. This was the first time someone tried to make things right. They ended up giving me a 25% discount on the room and took care of the movies I ordered (to mask the sound of the club below me). Pretty poor remedy to a terrible night’s stay/ terrible customer service. 25% isn't worth the Starwood points I lost by switching hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Travis - we're sorry to hear that your stay with us was disturbed by the event taking place in our ping-pong club SPiN. I have also left a message on your Yelp review but please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

If you're looking for a swanky downtown venue with views - this is it! The top floor roof-top terrace bar has a swimming pool and futuristic-like "POD" seating. Makes you feel (almost) like you're in New York city!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks for the great review Rebecca and we hope we can welcome you back the next time you're in Los Angeles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Not good. If you never stayed in a nice hotel, you will be unimpressed. From the time you pull in the driveway/ lot, lobby is small, dark, and cheap. I don't see how anybody would be impressed. This is an old building with cheap fixtures and decorations. The staff was nice. Supposedly, I was given an upgrade. I can't imagine what the basic room looks like. The hallway way is dull, and creepy. The room looks like they had forgot to put any furniture in it. The mattress was on a raised carpeted structure with no box spring. There was one plastic (patio) chair in the room. Absolutely no art or decorations. No table. The tile in the bathroom looked like it had been there since the sixties. The bathroom had one small sink with no running cold water. The hot was very hot. Only two bath towels and two hand towels. I felt like I was in a hospital room or on a military base. Boring! Please do yourself a favor and book elsewhere. At very least, ask to see the room before you lay down the card. It wasn't even ok.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and stay somewhere else. Please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hi Bob and thanks for taking the time to write a review. Our design is of a minimal nature so I understand that this wasn't to your liking. Please do let us know during your stay if you experience any issues with the plumbing so our engineering team can see to it straight away. Our housekeeping department would always be happy to offer extra towels upon request. We're sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't what you had hoped for. Please do contact me directly should you wish to return and I'd be happy to take care of your request myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here from the 1st till the 5th of Novemeber. This was our third time staying here within the last couple of years and it's still our favourite of the places we've stayed Downtown. Front desk was awesome and accommodating after our 14 hour flight. Checked us right in and were able to upgrade us to a Gigantic room which was amazing. Really big room with a massive bathroom and hot tub.
Our stay was extremely relaxed, comfortable and without complaint. Awesome location, which we knew already.
I've read some reviews below and really don't understand why, after seeing photos of the rooms on The Standard website or on the third party site they booked through, someone would not know what to expect at this Hotel. The design of the rooms is minimalist and different but very comfortable. There are see through showers in some of the rooms. There will be music and people drinking on the roof top. The staff will be laid back but professional. If you would like a more conventional business hotel with a work desk and lamp and complete silence, The Sheraton is just across the street.
I'd also like to thank the staff member who returned my passport to me which i'd "misplaced" after a few too many the night before. He saved us a massive headache and a costly replacement at the start of our month long hoilday!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks so much for the great review and we're always delighted to hear from repeat guests! Our team really care about the guests experience and we're happy to hear that you experienced this first hand. Have a wonderful holiday and we're looking forward to welcoming you back to The Standard, Downtown L.A!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Fun and friendly staff. Professional service and a quality experience provided along the whole stay - fun designed rooms with a chic personality, fast room service, attentive staff in the lounge and bier garden upstairs. John and the guys in the BierGarden really know their drinks. Thank you guys!

We stayed here 2 days last weekend would definitely recommend to an eclectic crowd that is there for a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Try the beet smoothie if looking for an tasty way to start the morning (or end a late night). Had Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troubadour4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks for the review and we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you can come back again soon and enjoy our Winter Cocktail Menu in the Biergarten!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Very stylish hotel, trying a bit too hard in places, but overall a nice, fun, eclectic hotel. A classy rooftop pool and bar with waterbed lounges, and a fun black-light ping pong bar.

The platform bed was so low that I practically had to crawl out of it on your hands and knees in the morning. The public bathroom had "Adult" ads to read above the urinals. Just a crazy, unique place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thanks for the review and we're happy to hear you enjoyed yourself! We'd love to welcome you back for your future visits to Downtown Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#90 of 351 in Los Angeles
395 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#53 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,246 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,085 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown

Property: The Standard Downtown
Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#87 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar and Biergarten, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. The newest addition to the hotel is SPiN - a ping-pong club founded by Susan Sarandon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Standard Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing