We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Standard Downtown
Ranked #100 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Even staying downtown didn't bother us too much, when we stayed at the Standard Downtown. It's a great and hip place and has a crazy good breakfast menu. Staff is unbelievable friendly and also helpful with LA Lakers Tickets. I can only recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tolga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hi Tolga and thank you for the review! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,255)
There are newer reviews for The Standard Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms are an nicely done out of simple things. The lobby and bar are borh hip locations in downtown, where you may also meet locals that look for something more than just the average. The rofftop bar and beergarden are great, on sunny days a place to hang out next to the pool and in the evenings there is some party going on. If you come first time to LA and want to discover it, maybe downtown is not the best area, so a drive through might be more than enough, while staying in Beverly Hills or Venice as your home base are both more "holiday" areas. Allthough if you want to be in the business center, this is a great-value choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks for the review and for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Los Angeles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Great service, very fun, very cool hotel. Stylish, but bare rooms. The shower was a surprise. If you are looking for something cool and funky, definitely book. If you are traveling with a friend and staying for more than a couple nights, you may start to miss more conventional room.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank SweetMonster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks for staying with us and we're glad you enjoyed your visit! Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Not sure if this would be for a business traveler, but a very interesting place. Twelve floors of fun loving people. While I did feel like I was in a frat house, there is a lot of excitement and energy in this place. The accommodations are interesting and quaint, but as a 60 year old person, I found the bed a bit challenging being on a pedestal on the floor. When they say rolling out of bed, it is literally taken, just watch you step at night if the lights are out. Shower is in middle of room, so if you are shy with your partner, could be an issue. Rooftop bar and pool is a plus for nightlife, but again, perhaps not for the senior crowd. Overall I enjoyed this property and would recommend this with some hesitations on hallway noise... The staff was accommodating and always were eager to please.

Room Tip: Great restaurant in hotel with inside and outside seating. If you have luggage and use valet, there...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us Alan and for taking the time to write a review. We're really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay - especially the restaurant! We'd love to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

If you are over the age of 23, literally or emotionally, ask for a room on a quieter floor and avoid the pool at night.

Otherwise, this is a solid Standard location. The food and the wine list are good enough that you can stay in your room all day (lay off, it was raining really hard) and feel like you're spoiling yourself rather than subjecting yourself to overpriced hotel food. A lot of effort goes into making Standard properties unique; while their aesthetic sometimes draws the 2014 version of disco trash, it's never boring.

It's a little weird, a little tawdry, so don't come if you're not okay with that or you're expecting it to be as cool as it was in 2003. That's all part of the charm. Lots of typically fun Standard flourishes, like the pervy wall-less shower (don't stay here with somebody you don't want to see naked) and buttons on the phone for a Motivational Speaker and a Fluffer.

All of the staff were beyond nice and nobody was too cool for school. I didn't visit the lounge areas past sundown, because in general, I find that places that require wristbands are places I don't ever want to be, like "VIP areas" or hospital trauma wards. I've been to the pool during the day before though, and it's a great view if a little "Entourage"-y.

Stay here if you'd like to stay downtown or just enjoy someplace with a personality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequent_Sleeper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and it sounds like you fully explored the property! Entourage was indeed filmed here at one point! We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Nicely renovated and trendy hotel in downtown. The best thing about it - the bar on the rooftop - is maybe also the reason why some people might complain about a bit of noise at night. For us it was perfect though. We loved the design of the room including the see-through bathroom. We did get charched around $40 for overnight parking though. That seems a bit unreasonable, especially since the valet staff was very unhelpful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jake_82ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay with us Jake - we're happy to hear you enjoyed our design elements! Our valet parking is comparable to other hotels in the area and priced lower than most. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Friendly staff from valet to front desk to the restaurant. Form of payment, reservation process and check out process made clear. Front desk attendant informed of all hotel amenities and activities during check in. Check in adn out wasall under 10 minutes btw. Simply stylish rooms. Large kings beds, plush down pillows. Nice quality comforter and crispy linens. Even a nice throw blanket. Cozy waffle weave bathrobe. No bedroom slippers though (haha). Nice fragrant shower amenities. "Entertaining" glass box shower =). Great outdoor rooftop space to soak up fresh air and watch funny business travelers let loose. This simple hotel is still better than the global chain boxy generic hotels. Hotel's 24 hour restaurant has a nice selection of comfort and healthy food choices. Would I come back? Yes. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the upper Downtown LA area.

Room Tip: Aim for higher than the 8th floor. And east- or south-facing for the best views. Not so near the 12...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us during your trip to Downtown Los Angeles! We hope we can welcome you back in the near future and if you travel here frequently on business you might want to ask our Sales Department about a corporate rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,163 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#86 of 352 in Los Angeles
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#60 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,287 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 352 in Los Angeles
750 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown

Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#86 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £168 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar and Biergarten, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. The newest addition to the hotel is SPiN - a ping-pong club founded by Susan Sarandon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing