We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Standard Downtown
Ranked #109 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

What a cool place. Once you enter the building you just want to hang out there forever. Great and friendly staff, nice ambience and terrific rooms. The rooftop situation is more than you could ask for. Do not forget your bathing suit. And a nightime drink or two at scenic bar is a hang to die for.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi Jimmy - YES! We'd love to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Downtown Los Angeles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

What made this a winning hotel by my husband and I was the 2nd floor ping pong room. We had way too much fun on Sunday night! watching the pros and playing ourselves! We loved the 24 hour cafe, roof top bar, Afternoon Delight party, staff, and location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and the time you spent in SPiN Standard! Please come back soon - we have lots of fun events coming up that you can find on our website!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I had reserved a room with two double beds because there were going to be three of us in the room. Upon arrival, the front desk told me they had overbooked and no longer had rooms with two double beds available. They were offering a "complimentary upgrade" with one king bed for the inconvenience, but this was more of an inconvenience because now we were down 1 bed. The front desk agent was rude and unapologetic for the fact that the hotel had overbooked. The "wow" suite they gave us was anything but "wow." It felt like a prison and the couch was SO dirty we didn't even want to sit on it. I was very disappointed especially because we paid $340 for the night. I will NEVER be back.

Room Tip: Trashy party crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We're so sorry to hear that your room request wasn't fulfilled. We have a limited number of rooms with two beds in them and so you were upgraded to a Wow suite with a rollaway bed. I see that this didn't suit your arrangements so please accept our apologies for this. We've also checked the couch in that suite and although the covers were deep cleaned very recently, we have since deep cleaned them again. We hope your visit to Downtown Los Angeles was a good one overall, and again, apologies for the room mix up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Visited The Standard for with friends and what a place! Loved the design of the 24/7 restaurant and the cocktails were delicious! Different and v moorish. After this we found there's almost too much to do here. It really isn't your average hotel at all and we made use of everything it had to offer. It was a typically gorgeous day in LA so we headed to the German Biergarden after lunch and played ping pong in the sun with a beer. Playing ping pong on the 12th floor of a building in LA is definitely one of the more unique afternoons I've spent. There was a DJ playing in the area just next to us - the tunes were awesome and I just loved the time I spent at The Standard. One the way out we had time to kill so played a game of pool which was a lovely way to finish off the afternoon. Can't recommend this place enough, quirky, great staff and all in downtown LA. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msnare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Standard Downtown LA is by far my favorite place to stay. Excellent prices, nice rooms, very "standard" if you're familiar with their properties. Location is a short 2 block walk to the subway, private cars (and ubers) are quick, parking below the hotel, best restaurant in downtown (Bottega Louie) is a 3 block walk. The party of the rooftop is always the best place to be on a weekend night or Sunday day. Never had a bad experience here. Stay here roughly 1 weekend per month. Stayed here alone, with buddies, with my girlfriend, and for business meetings. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I came here on Saturday for an event called "Swimming With Sharks" and it was a great way to spend mt Saturday afternoon. We arrived around 2:30pm, got our wristbands from the bouncers and were on our way up. By the time we got up there it was still picking up, which was perfect for us since it allowed us some time to get drinks and grab an area to relax in.

The vibe itself was nice and the music was super chillin' - hopped in the pool with my margarita and was simply enjoying the summer vibe of it all.

This is a great place to come hang out for pool parties if you want something a little more low key than a Vegas Day Club vibe, I'd recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I only really travel to LA on business but with this hotel theres always plenty of time to play and feel like i'm on vacation. The staff are super friendly with a great hair dressers downstairs in the lobby. The gym is a good size and the food is great. I do prefer the location of the hollywood standard rather to the downtown but i think overall the hotel is nicer downtown, with a great pool and pods to chill in on the side with it turning into a good atmosphere for drinks at night.. i always end up feeling like i'm on holiday rather than working.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,202 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#91 of 355 in Los Angeles
437 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#52 of 355 in Los Angeles
742 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown

Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#86 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £160 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Standard Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing