We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Standard Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Angeleno(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$221
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
US$612
US$452
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$462
US$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$261
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$193
US$138
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$617
US$514
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$361
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$562
US$448
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$425
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$468
US$440
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,313)
Filter reviews
1,313 results
Traveller rating
360
444
237
121
151
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
444
237
121
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barping pongtable tennisglass showerfun hotelpool partyfunky hotelvalet parkingwest hollywoodstaples centerbiergartenwaterbedskyscrapersretrodtlanightlife
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 1,313 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed there not long after the opening and stayed there recently again. Staff was as nice as ever. Rooms are spacious and the open lay out works still very well. Restaurant is good. Rooftop bar lost some of its coolness but still a nice place to hang out at night. All in all a great place to be for a couple of days if you need to be in this part of town.

Room Tip: higher floors are close to the club, which for some people is great but most prefer calmer!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hollandais_volant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thanks for the review and for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Downtown Los Angeles. We hope we can welcome you back next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Rented a corner room. HUGE HUGE room and HUGE HUGE shower. The shower area needed two or more shower heads for as large as it was. Room was cool but needed two comfy chairs for seating. Restaurant was good. Rooftop bar was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcullip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thanks for the cool review and we're really glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Let me first say that the people who work at the Standard could not be nicer. From the valet parking, to check in, to the restaurant. Everyone we met was very helpful and attentive. However you need to consider the layout of the rooms when choosing this hotel.

It is certainly not business friendly as the outlets are very sparse. The shower is open glass with NO privacy whatsoever - so if that is an issue for you beware. The hotel did bring a privacy curtain promptly, but it went on with suction cups that did not hold.

The King bed was a Queen and they are set about a foot from the floor, so it is very low. Also the bathroom sink vanity is really low as well - not very convenient. Further there are no drawers for clothes, just a column of open cubby holes. As a result it is hard to make things orderly - and I am NOT a neat freak.

I think the Standard is great for a hipper, younger clientele, and I would potentially stay there alone, but it wasn't the best for a family. Also the roof pool is really not a scene for youngsters. Lots of smoking and picking up.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thanks for the review Matthew and for staying with us. We appreciate you giving us a try - even if some areas of design weren't totally function for you! Thanks again Matthew and let us know if you're planning a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stay there for 4 nights at 4th of July 2014. The hotel is very nice and popular. Top-roof bar and pool gathers many people daily and nightly. Personnel was friendly. Rooms are big enough.
However one night out of 4 there was a party in the next room, so it was absolutely impossible to sleep. Other minus is valet parking - 40 dollars per night. Guess what, NO One told us this fact. Only coming back home we discovered the sum on the invoice.
All in all I will recommend this hotel for people under 40 without kids.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KseniyaGolubeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We do include our valet price in our confirmation letters ($35) but I'm sorry if this wasn't reiterated to you when you arrived. Our valet parking is lower than many of our neighboring hotels but we get that you would have liked to have been told on arrival.
Thanks for staying with us and let us know if you're planning a return trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were flying out of LAX and have friends that live in LA. They recommended The Standard for the awesome rooftop pool. We were not disappointed. We arrived early but could not check in, the front desk associate was very nice and checked our baggage for us. After we left the pool around 5 or so, we were able to check in. The room was awesome. I wish we had more time to stay there. It was a perfect downtown location and the next morning we got to the airport in under 20 minutes. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FermiLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Come back!! We're really happy to read this review and we'd love for you to come back and spend more time at the hotel, experience our restaurant, play ping-pong in SPiN, enjoy Happy Hour...you get the drift!
We hope you can come again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews