We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“travel alone or with love” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Standard Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Standard Downtown
Ranked #91 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“travel alone or with love”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

Simply put, perfect stay for 2 days, comfortable quiet, great bed and view, just nothing but good as I subsequently flew off to Central America and needed time to gather thoughts. Found good food in the neighborhood, and interesting areas like MSNBC 8 blocks away, and Macy's for light pants and shorts. Even had a haircut with lobby barber, that's trusting nature, huh! The roof top pool, no I went in, and did the porpoise thing for 30 minutes, while wind swept across the water, a good stiff breeze, delighting the sun, and a beautiful woman lounged on one of three water mattress spaceships...what more? I ain't saying.. See my video on Youtube, The Standard Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bapstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    410
    204
    111
    139
See reviews for
58
318
110
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

If you want to stay on the Sunset Strip - the hotel is located near a number of bars, restaurants and hang outs. If you expect your room to be cozy with amenities you might expect from the W, Westin, or even a Holiday Inn...this is not the place for you. A box of tissue is all the frills this place has to offer - at no cost. The website says that the Large room can accomodate 4 people and I think that is misleading. The Large room has 2 FULL size beds which surprised us when we arrived because the beds were clearly not big enough for 4 adults to share unless you don't mind your friend's elbow or knee hitting you in the middle of the night. Stay away from the mini bar - we were charged for something that we did not use - maybe they charged us for just touching the mini bar? I also received a call from valet service during our stay that there had been a "mix up" with our car. Thankfully, our rented wheels were ok...crisis averted. In a nutshell, the place sucked.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Native2Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

San Francisco
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

What a treat! It's a fusion of mid-century + mod + hip. The staff was warm, welcoming, and competent. The rooftop lounge is amazing with heated pool is the coolest place to have a drink and a snack or hang out all day. The rooms are clean & edgy. Beds are are on a low platform but comfortable. Bathrooms are not for the shy. This is no ordinary hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorBenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

This hotel tries to be "hip" and "modern", and probably it would be a good option for those in the party scene. But for us who travel on business, it isn't the best place to stay. Rooms are kind of uncomfortable, the mattress is on the floor, and the chair for the desk is cheap hard plastic, not suitable for working long hours. On my stay, I had problems with the toilet. Unexpectedly it started to "bubble" and it released a nasty gas with the stench of sewage. And also, the safe had a very unreliable locking system. I was keeping there my important travel documents, but one day when I tried to open it up, the display showed "Err" and it couldn't be opened. I had to call the front desk, luckily the technician was able to open it with his special PDA. After that, I better kept my documents in my luggage with a lock. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for business travelers, but if you are a young partying animal, this is not a bad place, although a little expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PapioMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It's right in the middle of downtown which means there are plenty of restaurants, bars, etc within walking distance which is a rarity in LA. And if you have to be downtown for business in my opinion you can't do much better. It's also very convenient to the East Side (Silverlake, Echo Park) which is where I prefer to spend time while in LA, so for me that's a plus. If you're a tourist coming to see Hollywood this probably would not be the hotel for you.
I had no problem with noise, I found it to be very quiet and slept quite well on the mattress. The rooftop pool/bar is really beautiful although probably something you want to avoid on a Friday/Saturday night. It is a little strange that the hotel lobby seems to turn into a club on weekend nights, but also funny and unique.
The service is very hit or miss. There aren't coffee makers in the rooms or complimentary coffee downstairs which I found irritating, but you can buy it at the bar and there's a starbucks across the street. Wi-Fi is free for hotel guests which is a nice amenity.
I would recommend this hotel for everyone, my parents even stayed here once for the weekend and thought it was a lot of fun, but you should know what to expect. It's certainly not for the conservative or for those who are expecting the five star experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellasoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

I find this hotel confusing. On one hand the retro look is amazing. The commitment to the theme is all encompassing. The roof top bar is spectacular and if I hadn't spent so much time trying to roll out of the onion shaped water beds, I might have seen the view that my friends said was amazing. The downstairs bar/restaurant has a fabulous yellow colour scheme that shouldn't work but somehow does and some shag carpeting with cynical quotes scrolling up on an LED display. The barber and shop in the lobby are gorgeous and we couldn't walk past without checking them out.

On the other hand the basics I expect of a hotel weren't always up to par. The pillows were small and uncomfortable. The toiletries in our rooms were half used and we had to ask several times for new ones. In fact, that was a recurring theme, the staff were most willing to help but the communication between staff was so poor that we almost always had to ask twice. The bathrooms were big but the big glass window between the shower and the rest of the room made me anxious despite the sheer modesty curtain we could pull across it. Some of the staff didn't seem to have a great knowledge of the area but made an attempt to help us anyway.

Overall, the theme saved the day. Was it the best hotel service I've ever enjoyed? Of course not. But it was an experience and when you travel, sometimes that makes up for whatever shortcomings a hotel might have.

I wouldn't recommend this to my parents because the beds would be too low and they always say that when you've lived retro, it doesn't appeal as much; but to my friends who appreciate commitment to a theme, or who are experimenting with the hipster lifestyle, I would definitely recommend giving it a go.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerinaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

If you're expecting comfort and convenience from your stay, you should probably look elsewhere. Rooms are spartan: Mattress is on the floor (well, a little platform), no night table, inadequate lighting. TV is on the floor, too. No pictures on the wall. (Actually reminded me a lot of my first apartment, when I didn't own any furniture.) Lots of traffic noise from the street below, even on the 11th floor. Cold pizza from room service. No doorman or concierge or help with your luggage. If hip lobby design is more important to you than all that, you might well enjoy it. It's a great location, and the rooftop open-air bar scene is worth a visit on a temperate night.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#52 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#89 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#8 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown

Property: The Standard Downtown
Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#87 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar and Biergarten, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. The newest addition to the hotel is SPiN - a ping-pong club founded by Susan Sarandon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith and TravelUp so you can book your The Standard Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing