We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does not deserve the previous bad reviews!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Standard Downtown
Ranked #94 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
km59257
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Does not deserve the previous bad reviews!!”
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Booked a room at the Standard before i read the reviews, and then i was really nervous about our stay. Our expectations of a hotel are different than other travellers, i guess, becuase we were thrilled with the Standard. It was easy to get to from LAX, and the parking was great. Justin checked us in, and was super friendly. The hotel is beautiful, but my taste is different than the average person. I loved the sleek lines and modern look. Our room was super clean, with lots of cool extras. As said before, the bathroom is unconventional, but i am fine with being naked in full view so it worked out just fine :) i can see how a more modest person would not be thrilled though. I must point out that the grout is obviously meant to be grey in the bathrooms, NOT white and dirty as reported by others. SOmeone who knows nothing about and does not appreciate mdern design should not stay here. the lack of tacky art and nasty patterns was truly refreshing. If this is what dorm rooms really look like, you must have gone to a pretty nice school!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank km59257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    416
    207
    115
    140
See reviews for
58
321
111
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

The hotel is located a few blocks away from Skid Row in downtown LA. The hotel itself tries to be very 'LA hip'. There is a salon, a bar, a restaurant, a rooftop pool. It might be a nice place to stay if you want to take someone for an authentic "LA hipster night out". I would recommend this hotel to someone IF they HAD to be downtown for some reason or they wanted a hotel where they could party with wanna be socialites.

The beds are super comfy, the TV works and the bathrooms and big and clean. But the decor is kinda gross and it has an IKEA feel to it.

PROS:
- Comfy beds
- Good food at the restaurant
- Nightlife hot spot for LA Hipsters

CONS:
- Location is horrible
- You have to valet your car
- Room decor needs an upgrade
- Expensive

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaronessEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Simply put, perfect stay for 2 days, comfortable quiet, great bed and view, just nothing but good as I subsequently flew off to Central America and needed time to gather thoughts. Found good food in the neighborhood, and interesting areas like MSNBC 8 blocks away, and Macy's for light pants and shorts. Even had a haircut with lobby barber, that's trusting nature, huh! The roof top pool, no I went in, and did the porpoise thing for 30 minutes, while wind swept across the water, a good stiff breeze, delighting the sun, and a beautiful woman lounged on one of three water mattress spaceships...what more? I ain't saying.. See my video on Youtube, The Standard Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bapstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2010

If you want to stay on the Sunset Strip - the hotel is located near a number of bars, restaurants and hang outs. If you expect your room to be cozy with amenities you might expect from the W, Westin, or even a Holiday Inn...this is not the place for you. A box of tissue is all the frills this place has to offer - at no cost. The website says that the Large room can accomodate 4 people and I think that is misleading. The Large room has 2 FULL size beds which surprised us when we arrived because the beds were clearly not big enough for 4 adults to share unless you don't mind your friend's elbow or knee hitting you in the middle of the night. Stay away from the mini bar - we were charged for something that we did not use - maybe they charged us for just touching the mini bar? I also received a call from valet service during our stay that there had been a "mix up" with our car. Thankfully, our rented wheels were ok...crisis averted. In a nutshell, the place sucked.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Native2Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2010

What a treat! It's a fusion of mid-century + mod + hip. The staff was warm, welcoming, and competent. The rooftop lounge is amazing with heated pool is the coolest place to have a drink and a snack or hang out all day. The rooms are clean & edgy. Beds are are on a low platform but comfortable. Bathrooms are not for the shy. This is no ordinary hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorBenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

This hotel tries to be "hip" and "modern", and probably it would be a good option for those in the party scene. But for us who travel on business, it isn't the best place to stay. Rooms are kind of uncomfortable, the mattress is on the floor, and the chair for the desk is cheap hard plastic, not suitable for working long hours. On my stay, I had problems with the toilet. Unexpectedly it started to "bubble" and it released a nasty gas with the stench of sewage. And also, the safe had a very unreliable locking system. I was keeping there my important travel documents, but one day when I tried to open it up, the display showed "Err" and it couldn't be opened. I had to call the front desk, luckily the technician was able to open it with his special PDA. After that, I better kept my documents in my luggage with a lock. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for business travelers, but if you are a young partying animal, this is not a bad place, although a little expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapioMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It's right in the middle of downtown which means there are plenty of restaurants, bars, etc within walking distance which is a rarity in LA. And if you have to be downtown for business in my opinion you can't do much better. It's also very convenient to the East Side (Silverlake, Echo Park) which is where I prefer to spend time while in LA, so for me that's a plus. If you're a tourist coming to see Hollywood this probably would not be the hotel for you.
I had no problem with noise, I found it to be very quiet and slept quite well on the mattress. The rooftop pool/bar is really beautiful although probably something you want to avoid on a Friday/Saturday night. It is a little strange that the hotel lobby seems to turn into a club on weekend nights, but also funny and unique.
The service is very hit or miss. There aren't coffee makers in the rooms or complimentary coffee downstairs which I found irritating, but you can buy it at the bar and there's a starbucks across the street. Wi-Fi is free for hotel guests which is a nice amenity.
I would recommend this hotel for everyone, my parents even stayed here once for the weekend and thought it was a lot of fun, but you should know what to expect. It's certainly not for the conservative or for those who are expecting the five star experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellasoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#58 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#88 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown

Property: The Standard Downtown
Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#87 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar and Biergarten, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. The newest addition to the hotel is SPiN - a ping-pong club founded by Susan Sarandon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing