We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on Melrose”
Review of Palihotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palihotel
Ranked #122 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located on Melrose Ave. We had a car and it was very easy to find a parking spot on the streets around it. The hotel was nice, but different decorated. A little bit of industrial and country mix. Clean rooms, a little bit dark. The staff was very friendly and service minded. I would warmly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Bettan_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Bettan_60,

Thank you for your 4-star review! We will be certain to share your positive feedback with our entire team. We are very pleased to hear you found convenient street parking during your stay. Be sure to remember, we also have an underground parking garage (entrance off Hayworth avenue) which is available for just $20/night. The front desk staff can issue you a parking permit upon check in. Yes, our rooms are decorated to set a mood. We’ve recently added two additional lamps in response to guest feedback, and they’ve been very well received. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience with other travelers. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Finest regards,
Palihotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This little gem is really interesting. I am way past being 25 again that is the average age of the young people in the area and at the hotel. I knew by others who reviewed this hotel that the air conditioning was "iffy" so I asked to see the room saying I needed to stay in a cool one. Check in is at 3:00 and if at all possible get there by then so you might have a choice. The first room was too warm so I asked to see another one which was really cold. I chose the really cold one. The staff was most accommodating and Connor at the from desk was very helpful as was Angel, who was there in the morning. The deco is more than I could describe here, the only thing I can say is it is very artistically done and really fun to see. The beds were very comfortable with wonderful linen. We were there on a Sunday night, usually they serve breakfast but the restaurant is closed on Mondays. The one think I suggest for the ladies, do not expect to put on make-up in the room unless you bring a lighted mirror. There is light but in no way could you put on make-up. The location is only a 10 minute walk to the very fabulous Beverly Hills and Wilshire Blvd. Would I stay there again? the answer is yes, if I could choose my room.

Room Tip: Check in early to make sure you have a choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Sandra F,

Thank you for the 4-star review! We love how you described our style & that you appreciate our super comfy beds! We will be sure to tell Connor and Angel about your positive shout out. Thank you for letting us know you wanted to change rooms. We appreciate being advised of guest needs at the time of instance, so we can exceed your expectations. We are happy that Connor and Angel did a great job taking care of you!
You are correct; the restaurant is closed on Mondays. We always like to mention there are several cafes open early, and within walking distance of Palihotel. Insider tips can be checked out via our iphone app, Palifornia. Lastly, just so you know for your next trip, we completed an installation of 2 additional lamps in our guest rooms. One of which is near the closet and great for putting on make-up.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Finest regards,
Palihotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Overall, I really did like this hotel, but there was one aspect that would keep me from staying there again, which is that you cannot control your room temperature from your room. If you want to change the temperature of your room you have to go up to the front desk and ask them to do it for you, as they are all on one unit. Luckily, I was just down the hall from reception, as I had to ask three times to have it adjusted. Also, there aren't phones in the rooms, which isn't a big deal except it would have been nice to call the front dest regarding the temperature rather than have to walk back and forth every time.

Otherwise, the staff was lovely and the room was nice. The beds were a little small. I had a double room and the beds are twins and even felt a little smaller than that. Really comfortable though and the most amazing shower of any hotel I've been to.

Room Tip: Pick a room close to the front desk in case you have to change the temperature a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccag16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear RebeccaG,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you loved our awesome showers and that you were comfy in our beds! We will make sure to tell our staff about your positive experience.

You are right, we do not have individual temperature controls or land line telephones in our guest rooms. It sounds like our staff did a great job assisting you with adjusting the temperature. Just a reminder, we do mention during check in that we offer complimentary loaner cell phones for use during your stay. There is also a large notice on your room message board stating these are available at the front desk for your convenience, so you do not have to walk back and forth. Also, the front desk can also be reached via email at Frontdesk@pali-hotel.com 24/7 and responds to guest requests promptly. Thanks again for your comments, and safe travels!

Finest regards,
Palihotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night prior to visiting a friend's son attending UCLA. It is about 20 minutes from UCLA in traffic, while avoiding the highways. Nice way to see a different part of West Los Angeles area.
The front desk staff, Connor, was exceptionally courteous, with just the right level of graciousness, personality while being very helpful. Nice little touches included having tiny tasters of French style pastries from a nearby bakery at the front desk.
The lobby is plush and hip; the onsite restaurant-bar is a nice get away from the busy Melrose Blvd.
The hotel offers resources for Thai Massage, and if you are familiar with what Thai Massage is, or not, it is a wonderful way to relax and rejuvenate. The masseuse happened to be in the lobby during our check-in, doing paperwork. I was able to book a massage 45 minutes later. VERY pleased with the overall massage and the wonderfully serene, spa room. I have had massages all over the world, including Thailand. Her approach was a hybrid of techniques, mostly Thai, deep tissue and some other Asian modalities. Wonderfully therapeutic, strong, and worth the very very reasonable price.
The room was well decorated, nice touches with some personality. So much more than a sterile, hotel chain type of hotel. Now I am hip on staying at nice boutique hotels again.
We were able to check in early, and have one hour later check in the following morning. Conor loaned us an iPhone charger on request. Cute little mini relaxing areas, indoor and outdoor are positioned around the hotel. All non-smoking - Thank you.
The hotel location was perfect, Melrose Avenue, close to shops and restaurants (remember, "nobody walks in LA"), as well as three other main streets in W. Hollywood (Santa Monica Blvd, Sunset Blvd and Hollywood). Near Bevery Hills, Rodeo Drive.
A Wonderful stay and place that we will return to.
Thank You!!

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor room, quiet, away from the elevator. We stayed mid-week, so noise was not an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnovak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear nnovak_11

Wow! Thank you for your 5 star review! Your feedback is very special to us, especially coming from a senior contributor with Trip Advisor. We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed everything at Palihotel, from our amazing staff, to our stellar location, and more! Thank you for your shout out to Connor, he will be excited to read about your experiences and we will pass on the good news to him. We look forward to having you with us again very soon!

Finest regards,
Palihotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at the Palihotel recently as the first stop on my USA adventure. The hotel room was stylish and clean. My bed was comfy and the shower was incredible (no other hotel shower came close)! The bathroom could have used some ventilation but this wasn't too much of an issue. The walls were a bit thin but this also wasn't a huge issue as it didn't interrupt any sleep. Most staff were friendly and helpful but Angel went out of his way to help us book tickets to get out to Disney. A good place to start our trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astro_Girl_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Astro_Girl_82,

Thanks for your 4-star review. We are thrilled you could stay with us on your USA adventure and are delighted to hear you loved the shower, its definitely one of our favorite things too! We will be sure to check on the ventilation in the guest room you stayed in, as the bathrooms do have fans and some include windows that open for fresh air. We will also pass on your feedback to Angel directly. We look forward to having you back again soon. Safe travels!

Cheers,
Palihotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hotel is minutes away from majority of sites beverly hills, rodeo,sunset strip, hollywood, etc. as long as traffic permits. Staff were friendly and helpful we were in regular contact with Jaide who was very helpful and cheery. Overall we had a great stay for three nights. Only complaints i have (but they didn't bother me too much) are walls were thin in our room, we were woken up each morning from another guest talking on phone at 7am, we used the garage to park our car but spaces were not always available but the staff were very obliging to valet your car if necessary which we did once or twice. the hotel has a restaurant which at night was popular but it does not open for breakfast until 11am so if you are up early your only resort is to find somewhere else but there is a nice place two doors down that did the job. considering the location and quality of the hotel we had a very nice stay at an affordable price.

Room Tip: some rooms have balcony's others have windows that look at a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanpennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Ryanpennie,

Thanks for your 4-star review. We agree our location on Melrose is ideal for out-of-town guests, not just for sight-seeing via car, but also for walking. There are a bunch of cool stores as well as cafes on Melrose Avenue within walking distance that you should check out on your next visit. Be sure to look up our insider tips on our iphone app, Palifornia!

I just want to address a few of your comments:

1. We understand your concern about the traveling sound from your neighbor’s room. If this happens, we encourage you to let the front desk know right away, so we can notify the other guest. This will ensure all guests of the hotel have a restful visit.

2. We are glad to hear the front desk assisted you with parking your car in our garage and we are sorry it was full during your stay. We do get busy, so it is also good to know there is also free street parking around the property.

3. We have changed the hours for The Hart and The Hunter Restaurant. It is still closed on Mondays, but opens at 7 am Tuesday-Sunday now. On Monday, we do offer complimentary coffee for guests in addition to the local cafes you mentioned visiting!

Thanks again for sharing your experiences! We look forward to you return.

Finest regards,
Palihotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Bed good, room nice, bathroom limit, walls thin as paper, front desk exelent, restaurant/bar with weird menu and poor service (is it normal to fill in 20% gratuity the waitress herself for being really bad?)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Martin6789,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our comfy beds and will pass along the positive feedback to our front desk staff. We are sorry to hear you felt the walls were thin, and we always encourage a call to the front desk if noises bother you. We can easily address the concern with other guests right away. The Hart and The Hunter does serve a rustic, southern style cuisine with a semi-laid back home style type of service, that is not for everyone. The restaurant has won many accolades in the food industry – including a rating in the Top 10 of New Best Restaurants in LA by Los Angeles Magazine! We encourage guests to take a read of the menus online and be sure to try the biscuits – they are amazing.

Finest regards,
Palihotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
West Hollywood
Palihouse West Hollywood
Palihouse West Hollywood
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
236 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,405 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#43 of 355 in Los Angeles
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#82 of 355 in Los Angeles
348 reviews
Central L.A
The LINE
The LINE
#37 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,001 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palihotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihotel

Address: 7950 Melrose Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90046-7117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £126 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palihotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palihotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing