We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English visitor”

Museum of Tolerance
Book In Advance
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Go Los Angeles Card
Ranked #83 of 541 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Tolerance is a human rights laboratory and educational center dedicated to challenging visitors to understand the Holocaust in both historic and contemporary contexts and confront all forms of prejudice and discrimination in our world today.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“English visitor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

The unfriendly security check was a bad start which got worse downstairs when we were unable to process our children's photos. An attendant said they had been having trouble with the computers. So we asked for our money back, which was a further unpleasant experience, the manager saying no refunds but the very nice woman on the till saying they did!!
More a museum of intolerance and not the kind of service I have been used to in the 20 years of visiting the U S!

Helpful?
4 Thank Hilma13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    29
    9
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Educational + Entertainment = Edutainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Wow! The interactive museum challenges you with scenarios and role playing to see what you would do in different situations!

Its a highly entertaining way to teach about our past and prepare for the future!

We had a great time and highly recommend!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must see for everyone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

You'll leave there feeling like you learned something new about yourself, the world we share and inspired to make the world a better place. Put this museum on your must see list.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Newly opened Anne Frank Exhibition not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Anne Frank Exhibition, a permanent exhibition, had only recently opened when we arrived in October 2013. We'd visited before and found the Museum's "Finding our Families, Finding Ourselves" exhibition, narrated by Billy Crystal, very memorable. We would have visited again just to see that, as new narratives are added. But the highlight of the visit was the new Anne Frank exhibition, and it is certainly a beautifully put-together experience.

Timed and narrated, and with helpful guides to assist, it is a combination of audio-visual materials, artefacts, and spaces that do more than just tell the story of Anne Frank and her family's experiences hiding in their secret rooms in Amsterdam. The diary "comes to life" as you see images of their home in Germany, their move to Amsterdam, the changing political situation, her father's attempts to get the family to the safety of the United States and the years spent in hiding.

The bookcase "door" to the room where a film recreates the space they lived in, gives a sense of both expectation and dread. To see the other objects on display -- the letters to and from Anne to those outside, the yellow felt Star of David which Jewish residents were forced to wear, and to hear the church bells replicate the bells Anne heard while in hiding, create a very strong sense of intimacy with the story. There is film footage of Anne and a narration post-war from one of her relatives.

Particularly affecting was the wall of neatly folded clothing that wraps around the entire exhibition, floor to ceiling. It starts out colourful and cheerful, with the bright coloured floral prints and patterns of children's clothes. As you travel through the exhibition subtle changes take place. The clothing becomes more subdued, then drab, before morphing into the grey stripes of the uniforms of those condemned to Auschwitz.

If anything seemed out of place it was the "interactive" element at the end of the exhibition. Touchscreens display a range of concepts taken from the diary on topics such as "valuing your family", "making the world a better place", etc. and encourage visitors to share their own reactions. The visitor reactions I saw displayed were hardly profound, meaningful or in keeping with the tenor of the exhibition and came close to devaluing and trivialising the experience. Not a good end. See the exhibition, and also the other exhibitions including the main holocaust exhibition; they are very good. Skip the equivalent of "twitter" responses at the end.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank binduAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Holocaust, Civil Rights, Human Rights, Genocides ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Very worthwhile visit, beautifully put together. Self-guiding so you can spend as much or as little time as you want. But there is always someone close by to answer your questions or help you find the exhibit you are looking for. Free parking garage, security check inside. Book store/gift shop.

I especially enjoyed the replica of a sidewalk cafe where you could "listen in" on the conversations taking place before the Holocaust. it put you back in time, into the heads of people living then & their perceptions of what was happening. Ordinary people some of them. Could it happen again?

There were displays, films, re-enactments, photos, and interactive exhibits. Fascinating!
I would allow 2 hours for sure unless you are with small children. Maybe more depending on your level of interest.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank daljulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Tolerance also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Tolerance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing