We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Ranked #146 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I specifically booked a suite with separate living room and bedroom so that teenagers and adults have privacy. Was assured that was what I was booking. When I got there, there was no such suite available. The hotel is in a bad area of Hollywood. All businesses around it have bars on windows. Hotel's lobby is locked shut. While we were there asking to have our reservation canceled, a disoriented person tried to get in, but desk clerk would not unlock door. We wanted our reservations canceled, but desk clerk refused. We left there and found a wonderful Hotel 6 on Whitley Street less than a block off of Hollywood Blvd. in a nice area. Hollywood Downtowner still charged us for the room we had reserved. My advice, don't choose this hotel. Check out the Motel 6 on Whitley.

Room Tip: rooms are pretty, area outside the room possibly dangerous, open to street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank KelleyFamily06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is central when visiting Hollywood and breakfast is good compared to standard hotel "continental breakfasts". Parking is a bonus. But that's it: nothing special about this hotel. No complaints but compliments either. I'd definately stay somewhere else next time because this is a place you don't really want to "spend time at": the pool is just a puddle of water without a leisure area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusannaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

What a great hotel, the family that runs it could not be any nicer, they were most helpful with any request we had and helped with directs and the best places to eat at night, the room was a good size, the bed was comfortable, the sheets where nice and clean and we got clean towels very day. They have the best free hot breakfas and free car parking, it was in a great location from the highways the metro and the bus ran passed the door, it is in walking distant of the Chinese theatre, we were very surprised with this hotel and would recommend it to any-one, yes it is old but it has the 1930 movie style feel about it just wonderful. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I stayed at the Hollywood Downtowner for 5 nights at the end of March 2011.
The location was great as it is only a 5 minute walk to the Hollywood walk of fame and Kodak theatre.

I stayed in room 6. The room was a decent size and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom had a good shower in and looked modern.

The room had a fridge and a tv with more channels than you could ever need.

I loved the breakfast. It is in the building next door but it is only 60 seconds from the rooms.
They had fresh fruit, toast, bacon, egg, pancakes, juices, cereal.

The staff were very friendly.

They had a pool which looked clean and well maintained but it was too cold to go in at this time of year.

I enjoyed my stay that much that I booked to stay again for 4 nights on my return from Vegas.
When I stayed the second time I book the room opposite room 6. It had a double bed, plus a single and a seperate kitchen with a table. The room was much bigger and it was the same price.

It also has free wifi and free parking. The only hotel in Hollywood for this rate and parking.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I think we were given the worst room in the place...even though I had booked it months in advance.
Our room had a creepy dark vibe...not much room to move around...and the view of the Hollywood sign couldn't be enjoyed due to the window being absolutely filthy.
I did ask if we could be moved to a different room...but got no response...and it actually became depressing toward the end of our stay.
We knicknamed it our 'prison cell'

The hotel offers complimentry breakfast every morning which is hosted by the nearby diner. That was the only good thing.
Location is very poor...having to walk past homeless people who line the street outside. That made the stay even more depressing.

Time seemed to drag on...and when our prison sentence was over...I was so glad when got to pack up and leave.

Would I stay again?.....NOPE

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragonflywhispers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

The location is just minutes from anything in Hollywood you could wish to visit.
Free parking and the Breakfast are the redeeming features of this Hotel. There are many things that could be improved such as the cleaning of the room. The Television automatically closing down every 60 minutes. Our room was insecure because the patio doors to the balcony were secured by a broom handle, and the glass was cracked. Other health and safety issues were the overloading of the sockets and an eclectric point in the bathroom above the sink. It was also quite noisey at times as some guests do not know how to consider others. Breakfast was in a cafe two doors down from the Hotel. It was the best breakfast I have ever had in the states.You could make your own waffles

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaystant21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Last minute trip ,in town for unpleasant business, needed to be close to Forest Lawn Hollywood Hills. This hotel selected based on Southwest Airlines site. For the money not that bad- very noisy at all hours of the night, room C+, but for the price, reasonable. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmc2737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#120 of 355 in Los Angeles
692 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#121 of 355 in Los Angeles
700 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#140 of 355 in Los Angeles
159 reviews
Hollywood
Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#60 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Downtowner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Downtowner Inn

Address: 5601 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £81 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Downtowner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Downtowner Inn is truly the "Chev Vous at the Walkway of the Stars" located minutes from Universal, Paramount, Nickelodeon and Gower studios, Kodak, Mann's Chinese, Egyption, Arclight, El Capitan, Greek, Pantages Theaters. Griffith park with in walking and a great hike to the observatory. Rooms featuring king or two double beds and some efficiency suites as well. Pool and hot breakfast each morning before you get on the various tours that can be arrranged to all attractions and star homes. There is complimentary parking, WiFi, HBO/Cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer, iron with board and in-room coffee in all rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Downtowner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Downtowner Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Downtowner Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing