We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Ranked #153 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Great location, friendly staff and a great breakfast.
The staff were very helpful and its close to walk to everything and only a 5 minute drive to Universal Studios.
Its good for the money you pay and our rooms were cleaned every day.
My friends and i had a great time and i would stay here again on my next trip to LA.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaylorVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Hollywood Downtowner Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

Our car was broken into and rifled through right in front of the door. Very unsafe area and rude owners!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lettersvsnumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The hotel was clean looked very nice with the palm trees around the pool and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We paid 70 USD per night and that included a very delicious breakfast next door. We will definetely stay there for our next L.A. trip.
It's perfectly located near the highway and just 5 min drive East from the Kodak Theatre.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ducktailcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Rooms badly renovated,bad location,breakfast looks nothing like the web page,toilet works when it wants to,shower water runs away from the drain,tv OLD,building sad, reception locked,GIVE IT A MISS.

Room Tip: We were at the front VERY NOISY all night,spend a bit more go someware nice
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barrie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed for three nights on my own here - I had not pre booked and walked in, which I would only suggest if you hadn't already booked somewhere (they were actually pretty busy so I was lucky) - and upon arrival I was greeted by friendly young staff who may have been new but you can't really hold that against anyone - the only time you should be in a huge rush on holiday is when you're on the way to the airport!
The room was fresh and clean, spacious and a big relief from what I expected I may have walked into randomly on Hollywood Boulevard. A good, powerful shower with complimentary soaps, tea and coffee and a television.
There is a pool, although I didn't use it as being I was on my own and out most of the time - probably more suitable for families staying, you may as well make the most out of it.
The morning breakfast was quite nice; a soya option would be good but not that many places do soya funnily enough. There are several options; waffles, eggs, fruit, juice, coffees...
This place has free wifi and generously allow guests to use their personal laptop inside the office if they need to. It is family run, which adds a nice touch to a venue, and the managers are very friendly and helpful. They know the city so ask them what's where and how if you need to.
Hollywood Downtowner Inn is also affiliated with a taxi service a few doors up which gives you a much better deal on cab fares than the regular Hollywood cabs, and Bechir also knows his way around.

I travel on my own a lot and as a female this can be tricky in certain places - I've developed a pretty good intuition for picking out the good from the bad, and these are good people who are happy to help and want to see you have a good time. I've stayed in plenty of places where people really don't give a [--].

Room Tip: A room with a good amount of natural light coming through is always nice but if you want to sleep la...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladybirdladybird111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Hollywood Downtowner Inn is a good place to stay; nice and clean rooms, a swimming pool, near Universal Studios (a ten minute ride), free parking space and the breakfast is also great! Hollywood Boulevard is a short walk. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I specifically booked a suite with separate living room and bedroom so that teenagers and adults have privacy. Was assured that was what I was booking. When I got there, there was no such suite available. The hotel is in a bad area of Hollywood. All businesses around it have bars on windows. Hotel's lobby is locked shut. While we were there asking to have our reservation canceled, a disoriented person tried to get in, but desk clerk would not unlock door. We wanted our reservations canceled, but desk clerk refused. We left there and found a wonderful Hotel 6 on Whitley Street less than a block off of Hollywood Blvd. in a nice area. Hollywood Downtowner still charged us for the room we had reserved. My advice, don't choose this hotel. Check out the Motel 6 on Whitley.

Room Tip: rooms are pretty, area outside the room possibly dangerous, open to street.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank KelleyFamily06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#117 of 353 in Los Angeles
680 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#119 of 353 in Los Angeles
682 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#61 of 353 in Los Angeles
979 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Downtowner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Downtowner Inn

Address: 5601 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £87 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Downtowner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Downtowner Inn is truly the "Chev Vous at the Walkway of the Stars" located minutes from Universal, Paramount, Nickelodeon and Gower studios, Kodak, Mann's Chinese, Egyption, Arclight, El Capitan, Greek, Pantages Theaters. Griffith park with in walking and a great hike to the observatory. Rooms featuring king or two double beds and some efficiency suites as well. Pool and hot breakfast each morning before you get on the various tours that can be arrranged to all attractions and star homes. There is complimentary parking, WiFi, HBO/Cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer, iron with board and in-room coffee in all rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hollywood Downtowner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Downtowner Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Downtowner Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing