We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel but not a good customer service from the wife!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Ranked #160 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great motel but not a good customer service from the wife!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I stayed there with my partner for a few days and had a great time. The location is convenient (close to the metro and walk of fame) and our room was clean. The pool is a definite plus. Clean and well maintained. Not a 5 star hotel but lovely place for young couples wanting to be close to the main Hollywood attractions.

The husband that runs the place is probably one of the kindest person I've ever met in LA. Amazing customer service and very friendly. He made sure we had everything we needed. It's a pity his wife is quite the opposite.

Room Tip: Hire a car so you can drive around LA.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Ryan, We appreciate your thoughtful review. We
certainly welcome you to come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    147
    120
    42
    55
See reviews for
113
137
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My partner and I had a fantastic stay at the Hollywood Downtowner Inn last month. Clean room, lovely customer service by the husband who runs the property with his wife. Pool was lovely and clean to use after a long day out sightseeing around LA. Also location great - only 5 mins walk to Hollywood/western station.
Really appreciate that the owners looked after our luggage for us for the day after we found out that we could not leave our luggage at the airport (or train station) and it was our last day in the US before our long flight home to Australia. It's the little things where people go out of their way to help you that really make a difference. Definitely will be staying here next time we are in LA.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Margot, We sincerely appreciate your thoughtful review.
We look forward to an opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbett, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

It's been a couple (a couple plus a couple, actually) years since my four-day stay here, but I was completely charmed by it. My first impression was of a sweet oasis of flowers and warm retro color and architecture. My plane got in early, and the owners were gracious about getting me checked in as soon as a room was available. The room was clean and good-sized, and the only thing I missed by getting in early and snagging first available was a balcony (I'll wait for that next time).

Yes, the neighborhood is a little wobbly (see "oasis"), but, even walking to the Walk and back solo a couple times a day, I had no problems. Stayed alert, but never felt unsafe. Breakfast is minimal, but that wasn't an issue since I wanted a comfortable place to come back to after adventuring, and wouldn't likely have eaten the best of breakfasts at the hotel. The staff was pleasant, and I got to meet some good people sitting out in the courtyard.

The only downside of the entire trip was that I packed look-good shoes instead of feel-good shoes, had shredded my feet by day two, and couldn't find a pair of flip-flops in November to save my soul (in L.A.??? Really??). Great trip, and I would have accepted neutral from the hotel, but instead it made a good trip better. Hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: Get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loree_Harrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Loree, Your thoughtful review was greatly appreciated! We look
forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This was my second time staying here. I love the location, it's a good starting point for many Hollywood and Downtown L.A. adventures . The rooms are a bit quirky, but that's part of the Hollywood Downtowner charm. The rooms I stayed in, (2 different rooms during my recent stay), were a good size, comfortable and had lots of character. I always enjoy the breakfast choice that's available at the little restaurant a couple of doors down from the motel. Good parking, friendly, family-run business. It's good value for the area and good for people who like something with a bit more heart than your usual uniform motel room. Good local restaurant and shopping choices and good access to public transport, though I find it really useful to have a car in L.A.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Vivienne, We appreciate you kind and thoughtful review! We strive to
make our guests feel they are 'home-away-from-home' and getting value
for their expenditure with us. We appreciate your business. Look forward
to your future visits. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel is in a pretty sketchy area of town. About a 15 minute walk from the beginning of the hollywood walk of fame. It's a decent hotel for the cost per night (we were on a budget and all the other hotels in hollywood are very expensive). We were able to get upgraded to a suite room with two king sized beds and a full kitchen even though we booked for two double beds. Breakfast was great!
I would suggest this hotel if you're on a budget and not travelling with kids as it is not in the best area of town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Ashley, We appreciate your thoughtful review. We are delighted that you
were able to see the sights within walking distance. We strive to exceed guest
expectations. Glad you enjoyed the two-bedroom king suite. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This isn't the best place but it's certainly not the worst. I could level a lot of criticism but really, you get what you pay for and this place offers decent value. Just don't expect too much. The free overnight parking (in Hollywood) alone is worth at least $40.

The lady at the front desk is pretty rude and like other reviewers have stated, the front desk is always locked and you have to ring a bell. Which means this is a "mom and pop" place, not professionally managed. So, what do you expect.

The rooms are funky and there's tape over windows and the pool isn't well-cared for. And the bathrooms down at the YMCA are probably better.

But park your car, toss your stuff in your room, and go see the sights. When you come back late, you'll have a decently price place to crash and you can go grab a free taco for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanceS984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Joe, We appreciate your review. We strive to provide value for our guests.
Our hotel was built in the '50s and we have made and continue making every effort
to keep the property updated. All the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I paid 100$ for a night not at all worth it.
If you are offered about 40-50$ they stay there else dont bother.
Very old small room,rooms were not painted, taps in bathroom were broken. Terrible breakfast. They sent us to a small hotel nearby for breakfast which was awfully dirty.
1 gud thing is metro train in near by.

Room Tip: Stay here if you get it for 30 - 40$ per night else dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest Traveler, We appreciate your review. We strive to exceed guest expectations. We include free parking, WiFi, HBO/Cable TV, hot breakfast and in-room coffee at no extra cost to the guest. We regret that we were unable to exceed expectations with you on your visit. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#109 of 351 in Los Angeles
668 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#123 of 351 in Los Angeles
645 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Hollywood
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Dunes Inn - Sunset
#102 of 351 in Los Angeles
512 reviews
Hollywood
Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Downtowner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Downtowner Inn

Property: Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Address: 5601 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Downtowner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Downtowner Inn is truly the "Chev Vous at the Walkway of the Stars" located minutes from Universal, Paramount, Nickelodeon and Gower studios, Kodak, Mann's Chinese, Egyption, Arclight, El Capitan, Greek, Pantages Theaters. Griffith park with in walking and a great hike to the observatory. Rooms featuring king or two double beds and some efficiency suites as well. Pool and hot breakfast each morning before you get on the various tours that can be arrranged to all attractions and star homes. There is complimentary parking, WiFi, HBO/Cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer, iron with board and in-room coffee in all rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Downtowner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Downtowner Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Downtowner Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing