We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Ranked #162 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Oslo
Level Contributor
138 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Convenient and reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Downtowner Inn is not a luxurious hotel; but it is a quite ok place to stay and sleep while enjoying everything else the Los Angeles area has to offer. Clean and reasonably comfortable. A good location for easily driving to Hollywood, West Hollywood, Santa Monica, Silver Lake (the new in spot), Malibu, Pasadena. The Inn also has sufficient free private parking. Also only a five minutes walk to the Metro, which is an easy way to reach many areas in Los Angeles, if your destination is near one of the Metro Stations and you travel in daytime; otherwise not. Infrequent trains in the evenings, and don't count on finding a taxi near the Metro stations. Breakfast in a taco restaurant next door included in room price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    141
    116
    41
    54
See reviews for
110
132
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night and it was really nice. The hotel is in a nice location, not far from Walk of Fame and many great restaurants. The room was large, clean,and had a small,separate "kitchen" room with a table, 2 chairs, sink, microwave and small fridge! The bathroom was clean but could use a little paint on the back of the door. The Wi-Fi worked fine, parking was good and the breakfast buffet at House of Tacos was nice - eggs, bacon, potato's, make your own waffles, fresh fruit, toast - basic but nice. The owners are really, really nice. I was told that if I had any trouble parking to come and get them, they will make sure we have off street parking (I was able to park just fine - plenty of space). The hotel is in "Thai Town" so they recommended some good places to eat - we went to one of them and it was delicious! I was very happy with my stay here and will be definitely go back!

Room Tip: Our room was #24, it's upstairs and on the backside of the hotel. It's big and there is a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mpls001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Traveler, We appreciate your review! We look forward to seeing you again! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Although I found the owners/staff to be very accommodating & friendly, I was disappointed because the TV didn't work properly, the internet was very difficult to get on even though it was FREE, it was pretty noisy almost all day & night, the place is run down, but clean & honestly I've stayed in much nicer places for half the price!
Having said that it is close to shops & restaurants as well as only 15 minutes walking distance to main Blvd. Parking was also FREE but very tight at times!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Patti, Your thoughtful review is appreciated. Happy travels! Hollywood Downtowner Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place was good for its price, it's close to cvs, Ralph's, Starbucks lots of restaurants. No extra towels though and when I asked the housekeeping for more towels she replied " you need to give me the ones you have and I'll wash them then give them back". I like that they locked the gates at night for extra security. Also it was less than half a block from the redline which connects you to all the other subways so you can get pretty much anywhere quickly and cheaply and not have to worry about parking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Jessica, We appreciate your thoughtful review. Happy travels! We hope to see you again. Hollywood Downtowner Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here July 2012 for 5 nights, a couple in our late twenties. This hotel is closely located to all the touristy attractions you would want to see on Hollywood blvd. I was nervous to stay here based on other reviews but I was surprised that it really wasn't that bad. Room was old but clean. There was cable TV and strong AC unit. I stayed close to stairwell so I could hear people coming in and out but it wasn't a huge bother. Bathroom was ample sized but outdated. Complimentary breakfast consisted of cereals, juice, eggs, pancakes, potatoes. Parking was free but sometimes hard to find a spot. We had a problem only once and when we went to the desk they shuffled some cars around to fit us. We really just slept and showered here, we were gone for most of the day so if that's your plan then I wouldn't to hesitate to stay here. There was construction going on next door which started at about 7:00am but it didn't bother me.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Angela, We appreciate your thoughtful review and hope to see you again! Management @ the Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for 11 nights and would do it all over again. Free parking, free wireless internet and absolutely great free full breakfast. Was in contact with the owners before arrival as I wanted a specific room with balcony view over the pool which we got. Also extra pillows for my son who broke his collar bone a few days before arrival was already in the room upon arrival. Over all great service! This is an old place yes, but IMO you get more than what you pay for. Where else do you find free parking and free breakfast in Hollywood? Also the location is fantastic for exploring Hollywood, downtown LA, Santa Monica etc. And I really love the vintage vibe at Hollywood Downtowner.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 17 - private balcony and with pool view. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanishJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Traveler, We greatly appreciate your review! We hope you will lodge with us again! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights on a trip up the coast. For the price with parking and breakfast it was a reasonable deal, but we didn't eat the breakfast after the first day. The restaurant serving it didn't seem particularly clean and the staff weren't very friendly.

As for the hotel, the room was a good size, but is old and a bit rundown. The room seemed to be cleaned well, but the carpet was quite stained, and we found someone else's underwear tucked between the bed and the bedside table, suggesting cleaning isn't overly thorough.

The hotel is walking distance from the walk of fame, but Hollywood isn't really the nicest area in LA.

The Thai restaurant a couple of doors up from the hotel was excellent though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XavierV43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#110 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#129 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#67 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Hollywood
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Dunes Inn - Sunset
#100 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Downtowner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Downtowner Inn

Property: Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Address: 5601 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Downtowner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Downtowner Inn is truly the "Chev Vous at the Walkway of the Stars" located minutes from Universal, Paramount, Nickelodeon and Gower studios, Kodak, Mann's Chinese, Egyption, Arclight, El Capitan, Greek, Pantages Theaters. Griffith park with in walking and a great hike to the observatory. Rooms featuring king or two double beds and some efficiency suites as well. Pool and hot breakfast each morning before you get on the various tours that can be arrranged to all attractions and star homes. There is complimentary parking, WiFi, HBO/Cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer, iron with board and in-room coffee in all rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hollywood Downtowner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Downtowner Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Downtowner Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing