We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cute place, but some things were in disrepair.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Ranked #147 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What's most important to me when selecting a hotel is cleanliness, affordability, and location. Our room and bathroom were clean. The price was right. And, the location wasn't bad although I would have preferred something closer to West Hollywood because that turned out to be my favorite spot in LA. There aren't as many lodging choices in West Hollywood, and what's there is probably more expensive. My husband and I spend very little time in our hotel room when traveling. We like to be out and about. So, The Hollywood Downtowner served its purpose as a place to sleep and shower. It's east of the sights in Hollywood, but you can walk to them. It's close to Koreatown. The staff was very nice, friendly, and happy to help. There was a/c, a fridge, microwave, closet with hangers, an iron, small coffeemaker, and alarm clocks. There isn't a fan in the bathroom so that's a con. The ice machine was broken. Bonus to have free parking though! There's a buffet-style breakfast that's included with the price. It's served two doors down from the hotel at Hot Taco. Basically, the hotel folks pay the Taco people to use their space in the mornings. Breakfast is served from 7:30-9:30. We got there at 7:30 the first morning, but the chef was late and breakfast wasn't served until 8am. A little frustrating when we wanted to hit the road first thing. We heard through the grapevine that this wasn't the first time this happened. Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage patties, make-your-own waffles, canned fruit cocktail, breads for toasting, coffee, oj, milk, cereal (Frosted Flakes, Fruit Loops, and Cookie Crisp - I would have appreciated a non-sugar choice), rice, beans, dried fruit, and a cheese plate. Some strange items. We only ate there twice because we weren't happy with it. The second day, there was a hair in the scrambled eggs I served to myself. Last comment, there's a pool that I was told wasn't heated. It wasn't crystal clear, but it looked clean. However, there was a sign on the gate to the pool stating that people who have had active diarrhea in the past 14 days are asked not to use the pool. We decided not to take a dip based on that sign.

Room Tip: Might want to ask for a room toward the back, one that's not right on Hollywood Boulevard. It c...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizGage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Liz! We appreciate your thoughtful and honest review. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Hollywood Downtowner Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Hollywood Downtowner a few weeks ago for 7 nights while visiting my brother. The owner and his wife could not have been nicer and I enjoyed several conversations which allowed me to know them as a family. There is the need for some minor repair work; however, the rooms are clean and I must say the beds and pillows (!) are very comfortable. Had the room not been perfect for us, we would not have stayed that long. The location is within a block of the metro and there are bus stops close by as well. We were very pleased that a full hot breakfast was included. A local restaurant 2 doors away prepares the food - eggs, toast, sausage, bacon, fresh fruit, waffles, etc, etc, etc. It was very good. As others have said you get free wifi too. I can't say anything bad about our stay. I will gladly stay there during future annual visits.

Room Tip: Rooms located towards the back are quieter. The front is directly on Hollywood Blvd and you hear si...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Kathy, In gratitude for your kind review! Kind regards, Hollywood Downtowner Inn Hopitality Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Hollywood. We stayed here for 3 nights on our trip from NZ and the couple who run this place were extremely kind, friendly and willing to help guests. We had some issues with lost passports during our US trip and they truly went out of their way to help my husband and I. It is clean, has a safe feel to it and the rooms were spacious. It is situated in a great location, with yummy restaurants in walking distance and close to the Metro station and the inclusion of breakfast is an added bonus. Definitely worthwhile!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Catherine, We appreciate your kind & thoughtful review. Best of luck with the family. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit. ~Shaila & Bharat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great stay ! Good location, you walk a little and youre around sunset and hollywood . Free breakfast decent enough with rice bread bacon egg etc etc. its a family business, you see them really reaching out to guest for concerns. Wifi is all around. Big room. Altho quite old building, you see its well maintained. Suggestion is put small carpet in the room to absorb coldness. But still you can turn on the aircon for heater. Fast check in and check out. They help you book airport shuttle with a fixed rate. Stay here its a ood value inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manilabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest, We appreciate your feedback and review. Great suggestion!
We will work on it! Happy travels! Come visit us again.
Hollywood Downtowner Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

So after staying here literally the last 3 nights I had to read the negative comments, which included "we had no ice for our champagne", and "there's a security gate" pin your ears back for an honest review. It's located in Hollywood near the tube station very useful, it's around a 25 minute walk to the Hollywood walk of fame which is a pleasant enough walk on a nice day ( call at the 7eleven for a big gulp on the way extremely cheap) you can see the Hollywood sign walking on Hollywood blvd as well! Bonus? The staff were great, friendly and very useful. Yes THERE IS A SECURITY GATE AND A BUZZER FOR RECEPTION now if this is a colossal issue don't stay here but personally for me I'd rather have a security gate and spend the 5 seconds scanning my card to get Into the complex as it keeps out any riff raff. Breakfast was beautiful wide variety and tasted great along with the awesome staff that serve you there! Now it does mean a 25 second walk out of the gate to the taco joint! Take oxygen for the long journey as for some people leaving bad reviews its like conquering Everest!! Loved my stay here and wish I could have stayed longer! Rooms fantastic with cable fridge and microwave!! Would highly recommend! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tomgun89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Tom, Your thoughtful & candid review is appreciated!
We look forward to your next visit. Happy travels!
Hollywood Downtowner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights after reading reviews we were somewhat concerned but arriving at the hotel we were very pleased greeted by a friendly lady and checked us in straight away.
The room was overlooking the pool spacious large bed tv fridge microwave and coffe maker.
It was clean and so was the bathroom we felt very comfortable, we are travelling round the world and have stayed in some holes but this place was clean well cared for and nice.
The breakfast yes its 3 steps down the road but it was a great breakfast eggs bacon waffles juice fresh fruit coffee we werr very happy with it and that place was clean and the man serving was lovely.
Yes it is a walk from the Hollywood walk of fame but it took about 30 mins as we stopped and gawped at everything on the way it wasnt a great trek!
7 11 just down the road as well as plenty of places to eat!
We felt extremely safe there there was a gate with a lock to get into the place and then keycard to get into the room
Some.of these reviews are just pathetic I would definitely recommend this place its not the ritz but its reasonable priced and a great place to stay on a budget.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stacey8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Stacey, Your thoughtful review is appreciated. We are glad
you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy travels! Come visit us again.
Hollywood Downtowner Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here for 5 days, with our 5 year old son and friends of ours stayed in another room. Our friends room had been recently renovated and included a kitchenette, which all looked great. Despite our room being unrenovated and needing a bit of a revamp the room was clean and the bed very comfortable.(It looks like they are in the process of renovating rooms as they become available). Not that we heard any noise at all. The only complaint would be the heater was noisy and 1 lamp in the room was a bit dodgy which we informed the front desk so I`m sure they have rectified that by now. This would not stop us staying here again. The price and the position was ideal for us. The pool was clean and looked inviting, but too cold in December for us to use.
The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and joked around with the kids. The breakfast next door was good for a free meal, the hot food selection varied a bit day to day, just one of the kitchen staff was very grumpy. Is a great place to bring kids and not worry about them being a bit noisy. They had seating for big groups, (our group being 8 people).
There are restaurants, bottle shop within walking distance from the hotel. The hollywood walk of fame is a short drive away (we drove as we have little kids and they can`t walk that far without whingeing). Apparently a subway is nearby.
This is a great hotel, value for money and we loved the retro, funky look. If you want to just sit in your room and not see the sights, you will need to spend more and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Rhonda, We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed review!
We hope to see you again on your next trip. Happy travels!
Hollywood Downtowner Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#116 of 352 in Los Angeles
679 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#118 of 352 in Los Angeles
679 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#61 of 352 in Los Angeles
979 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Downtowner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Downtowner Inn

Address: 5601 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £86 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Downtowner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Downtowner Inn is truly the "Chev Vous at the Walkway of the Stars" located minutes from Universal, Paramount, Nickelodeon and Gower studios, Kodak, Mann's Chinese, Egyption, Arclight, El Capitan, Greek, Pantages Theaters. Griffith park with in walking and a great hike to the observatory. Rooms featuring king or two double beds and some efficiency suites as well. Pool and hot breakfast each morning before you get on the various tours that can be arrranged to all attractions and star homes. There is complimentary parking, WiFi, HBO/Cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer, iron with board and in-room coffee in all rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hollywood Downtowner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Downtowner Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Downtowner Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing