We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been there...done that...and didn't like it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Ranked #142 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I think we were given the worst room in the place...even though I had booked it months in advance.
Our room had a creepy dark vibe...not much room to move around...and the view of the Hollywood sign couldn't be enjoyed due to the window being absolutely filthy.
I did ask if we could be moved to a different room...but got no response...and it actually became depressing toward the end of our stay.
We knicknamed it our 'prison cell'

The hotel offers complimentry breakfast every morning which is hosted by the nearby diner. That was the only good thing.
Location is very poor...having to walk past homeless people who line the street outside. That made the stay even more depressing.

Time seemed to drag on...and when our prison sentence was over...I was so glad when got to pack up and leave.

Would I stay again?.....NOPE

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragonflywhispers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

The location is just minutes from anything in Hollywood you could wish to visit.
Free parking and the Breakfast are the redeeming features of this Hotel. There are many things that could be improved such as the cleaning of the room. The Television automatically closing down every 60 minutes. Our room was insecure because the patio doors to the balcony were secured by a broom handle, and the glass was cracked. Other health and safety issues were the overloading of the sockets and an eclectric point in the bathroom above the sink. It was also quite noisey at times as some guests do not know how to consider others. Breakfast was in a cafe two doors down from the Hotel. It was the best breakfast I have ever had in the states.You could make your own waffles

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaystant21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Last minute trip ,in town for unpleasant business, needed to be close to Forest Lawn Hollywood Hills. This hotel selected based on Southwest Airlines site. For the money not that bad- very noisy at all hours of the night, room C+, but for the price, reasonable. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmc2737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Grotty run down motel! Do not even think about staying there for another couple of dollars you can get nicer. 3inch gap for the cockroaches to get through the door, main door not even that secure. Ensuite is a joke tv is set on a timer to go off every hour which is really annoying, staff ok pool is really small and does not look that clean. Breakfast two doors down was nothing great but it has a A on the window which means it's clean which is a positive.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank pippy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We spent 3 night at the hotel, the room, bathroom and linens were clean, they have free internet and breakfast included, free parking. Don't expect too much from breakfast, but they at least provided some. Stuff very helpfull, room big, with a fridge, not even needed such a big one, the first impression is that it is very old. It is old fashioned, but if you just need a clean shower to wash and a clean bed to sleep... perfect.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
Thank NikoletaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I booked this hotel online based on the photo's. It looks half decent on the photo's but in reality it is not as nice. The room was very basic and the bathroom, though clean, had seen better days. The reception staff was very helpful and friendly. A full breakfast was provided in partnership with a local restaurant, which was very nice. The restaurant however was too small to accommodate all the guests.

The hotel is walking distance from the Walk of Fame, which too is nicer in photographs than in real life. Hollywood, on the whole, to be fair was a bit of a disappointment. I would not want to be going for a walk later in the evening.

The hotel too was walking distance from the underground Metro, which takes you to Universal Studios and central LA.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Reserved my room a week in advance to stay after a concert at the Bowl. Rushed to check in before the concert only to find they had overbooked & had given my room away after I had driven nearly 3 hours to get there. They claimed they did not have my phone or address despite the fact that I had provided them when making reservations and received my reservation confirmation via e-mail. They "arranged" for me to have a room nearby and generously volunteered to pay the difference of $5 . I would have graciously accepted the offer had the hotel been comparable but it was not. It wasn't even close. I ended up late to the concert and driving home several hours afterward.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Ojaicindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#119 of 358 in Los Angeles
724 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#125 of 358 in Los Angeles
697 reviews
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#58 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Hollywood
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Dunes Inn - Sunset
#97 of 358 in Los Angeles
571 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Downtowner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Downtowner Inn

Address: 5601 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6809
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £80 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Downtowner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Downtowner Inn is truly the "Chev Vous at the Walkway of the Stars" located minutes from Universal, Paramount, Nickelodeon and Gower studios, Kodak, Mann's Chinese, Egyption, Arclight, El Capitan, Greek, Pantages Theaters. Griffith park with in walking and a great hike to the observatory. Rooms featuring king or two double beds and some efficiency suites as well. Pool and hot breakfast each morning before you get on the various tours that can be arrranged to all attractions and star homes. There is complimentary parking, WiFi, HBO/Cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer, iron with board and in-room coffee in all rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hollywood Downtowner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Downtowner Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Downtowner Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing