We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“went to the riverside showing.”
Review of The Murder Mystery Company - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Murder Mystery Company
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Looking to Solve the Case of the Perfect Party?Here's a clue! The Murder Mystery Company is the nation's most popular, interactive, mystery troupe.
Moreno Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“went to the riverside showing.”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

It was actually pretty fun. I read the reviews before so I wasn't expecting much. But the Riverside one was good. The food was good. And we didn't pay any extra charges. Other than drinks if you wanted it. We had ice tea which wasn't extra. They did pick random people but they explained the script while they did it. You did have to participate a lot to solve the crime. Maybe just the Riverside one was good because I've seen so pretty bad reviews. But we are going back next month.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nekay411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very accommodating for dietary needs”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We bought the Groupon for three of us. My fiance is vegan and they were so accommodating! They made him a vegan pizza that he absolutely loved as well as brought a fruit plate in place of the cakes they had for desserts.

The show itself was a blast. It is very campy and full of silly puns, and there is a lot more audience participation than I had anticipated, but we had a blast! Our table was pretty lazy so we didn't get up to talk with every one else to discover clues, but most of the tables got the correct answer for the "Who Dunnit". Lots of silly twists and a lot going on, but certainly a great staff, great actors, and a wonderful night out!

I do agree that the $9 service fee should be stated on the Groupon, but we had read reviews beforehand and so we were prepared, they take a credit card at the start of the dinner to put the service charge as well as any drinks on. They explained that it was for taxes and fees on the dinner and show, we didn't mind but it would have been nice to know ahead of time without extra research.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Fun entertainment, if not for the hidden charges”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I took my wife to the Murder Mystery in Hollywood for our Anniversary in August 2013, we both enjoyed ourselves, but did not like the extra $18 charge that we were not notified of until we were walking into the show.

The show takes place in a bar/nightclub that is closed during the performance. I wasn't real fond of the chairs during the dinner show. Some were nice, and some were very basic patio chairs, some got to sit on sofas, some at a table. It was kind of hit and miss as to where you sat. I guess if you were there first you could ask for seating to your liking.

The show was a 1920's style murder mystery, and has about 4-5 actors who guide the story/plot line. They also select at random about 6-7 audience members to be part of the plot and play a character. Since I have never been to a murder mystery dinner I was expecting to sit back and watch all the action unfold in front of me. Actually, there is a lot of interaction required. All of the guest are expected to interact and talk with the other guest actors to get clues as to who did the murder. The actors did a good job of directing the action/plot and keeping it humorous. But at times it did get a little confusing.

The show is a little over 2 hours long, at the end of the show your team (people you are sitting with) fill out a form and guess who the killer is and why. They then hand out several certificates; winning team, dead last team, best actor/actress, best 1920's dressed guest, best group dress.

The dinner is served during the show. A small salad, humus and flat bread, and either steak or chicken kabobs. Desert was cheese cake or a moca flavored cake. I thought the meal was pretty good, but the portions were a little small.

The have waitresses to bring you drinks. My wife ordered a small signature cocktail which was $12, my well rum & cokes were $8.

A 20% tip is automatically added to your bill, which I did not have a problem with, as the service was friendly and professional.

The only thing I didn't like was the last minute charge at the door. They had a sign indicating there was an $9 per person service fee. This was not listed on the web sight, I'm really not sure if they can legally do this without offering you the ability to get a refund on your ticket purchase if you decided you didn't want to pay the extra $9 per person. It may not seem like a lot, but you have a family of four, they just added $40 to the already paid $260. I think this last minute charge is not professional, or warranted.

I also opted for the "gold circle" club which was an extra $15 per person. This got you a seat in the center of the room, where you could see more of the action, and it got each person a double souvenir photo in a binder frame. Since all the seats were pretty good anyway, I'm not sure if you are really getting that much value for the extra money.

I would probably go to another murder mystery dinner, but not from this company. The only reason being the unprofessional last minute charge at the door. I thought was was very rude.

I would refer this attraction to my family and friends, but I would inform them of what to expect as far as the meal, and the charges.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank SNAFU23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Fees”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Listen to the review you see on here. The story is very difficult to follow because it's poorly acted and explained beforehand. Your broken into groups (tables) and someone from each will become a character. There's so much chaos as the characters guide you though the store it starts to get frustrating.

The service was discussing. From both the 'server/waitress to the bus boy' the dinner was just as described in another comment. Cold chicken or beef skewer with hummus and flat bread. Drinks did include a 20% service charge for anyone.

The number one thing that got under my skin was the 9 dollar a piece service charge for just entering the building. No where in Groupon is that mentioned. Skip it and try somewhere else!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank xrichx04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So not worth it”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I had to book reservations four months in advance! Then when in case of emergency I called a week ahead and tried to change the reservation they did not allow it! It was there fault they were overbooked because of a groupon deal. Skip it. Go somewhere where they value you as a customer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Gemini7119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Murder Mystery Company also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing