We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new favorite Hollywood hotel - sweet deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hollywood Hills Hotel
Ranked #144 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Music City USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My new favorite Hollywood hotel - sweet deal!”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I love finding hidden gems! HHH is situated on the hill between The Magic Castle and Yamashiro in a spot close enough to fully experience all that Hollywood has to offer without having to listen to it all day and night. The pool is lovely, quiet and clean (bonus pagoda!) and the room made my friends and I feel like we had a little apartment in the hills. Comfy beds, great balcony (that view!) and a kitchen with a fridge, stove and stocked with dinnerware and utensils really made us feel right at home. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful to boot and offered a shuttle to get you up and down the hill if you wanted to walk into Hollywood. Loved it! I'll be back soon! (3 adult female guests, 2 nights, 1 car)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosaPecosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    94
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
48
106
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

A sister hotel of the Magic Castle? Really. There is a good view and the free snacks are the same deal that one gets at the Magic Castle and the staff - same as the Magic Castle are wonderful. And that's where it stops.

Yes, it is less expensive and the price point has been set based on it's short comings. However --- if you are use to fine hotels like the Magic Castle - you will not be happy at the Hollywood Hills. Don't do it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver-Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I'm a loyal and gung-ho fan of the HHH and usually stay here when in Hollywood. You can't beat the view, the bed, the location... But I must admit that the mildew stains (I'm sure it isn't actual mildew, but the stains left over from scrubbing it so hard forever), the constant smell of gas in the kitchen (that they say isn't a gas leak), the flaking/chipping paint on the balcony and certain areas... well, it's beginning to irritate me. I mean, over the years I've been staying there, they've had plenty of time to do some minor renovations (really, just minor ones). Replace a curtain if it's torn, or re-caulk the tiles in the bathroom. Things like that. But, nope. Nothing's really changed. It always looks the same. A little worn, but with a pretty view. Kind of like Hollywood.

Room Tip: You want the City View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Writer/Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The rooms are actually a portion of an apartment complex. We rented a one bedroom King unit. It had a full kitchen with eating area, separate bedroom, and a very nice deck with view of the city. It is an older facility with signs of wear (mildew in bathroom - draperies worn and drooping) but was otherwise very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Units have high speed wired Internet in the living room area. You have use of the pool facilities and can attend the Magic Castle private club as a perk for renting. Very helpful staff. One quirk; you check in at the Magic Castle Hotel at the bottom of the hill. The apartment complex is up on the hill above and is not set up for pedestrian access. There is free parking near the units but if you want to walk down the hill into the Hollywood Boulevard area, which is just one block south, you need to call the front desk for a ride down the hill. Stop at the front desk to get a ride back up the hill.

Room Tip: Very reasonable price particularly if you are staying a week or more due to cooking failities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMB351C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Excellent Stay Can't complain about anything, always clean and very helpful staff when inquiring about thing to due & how to get there, about a 2min walk to the walk if fame!,,.. Overall great

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Az131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellokwnife
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Upon checking in for a 5 night stay our room had not been occupied for some time it had seemed. The apartment/suite was dusty and had to kill about a dozen spiders which were mostly on the ceiling corners. We called the front desk and advised them and the next day the room was spotless, we were also generously comped and treated to a buffet of leftover goodies left in our room by the housekeeper after each day that we got back from our daily activities.

The view is priceless and right behind is the Yamashiro castle which we loved walking up to each night and looking out at the city. As you drive up to your hotel it has a coded gate which adds a sense of security especially if you are parking a nice pricey sports car in your very own designated spot. There is a continental B-Fast down at the base hotel(Magic Castle Hotel)in morning which isn't spectacular yet the staff try their best to please which more than makes for any of the faults you may experience during your stay.

A big thank you to the staff for pampering us!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YK-Northernlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Its apparent from the time you register that Hollywood Hills wants your return visit!
Customer satisfaction is # 1, and they go out of their way to be courteous, accomodating,
and show genuine interest in EACH guest!

Shan, (front desk supervisor) , ALWAYS made you feel welcomed, and is the sort
of front desk supervisor that you should find at every hotel. He is an ASSET to the
Hollywood Hills hotel! Each day he would ask if there was anything we needed to
make our stay complete!
Eleven adults reunited for a 60th birthday celebration and the Hollywood Hills management made it a memorable reunion!
To all those whom I have not personally thanked, please know that your representation
of the hotel is unsurpassed!
I give the highest recommendation to those who will be visiting this area!

Room Tip: Noise more apparent on lower floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo_AnnL36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Highland Gardens Hotel
#228 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Best Western Hollywood Plaza Inn
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#112 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hills Hotel

Property: Hollywood Hills Hotel
Address: 1999 N Sycamore Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068-3782
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Hills Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hollywood Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hollywood Hills
Hollywood Hills Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing