We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Staff, Fantastic view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hollywood Hills Hotel
Ranked #142 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location, Staff, Fantastic view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This was one of the best places we've stayed in many years of traveling. It's hard to explain, because it's dated and a little worn around the edges. It has the atmosphere (and some furnishings) of something from the Rat Pack era of the 60's. but is still fairly nice and it exhibits a lot of class from it's glory days. Extreme value, the staff is really nice and helpful. Our spacious balcony-effeciency had a view of Hollywood and LA like from a postcard. The Yamashirio is a very classy old school Japanese restuarant that was fantastic and romantic, and it is right next door.
After a few days, we felt more like Hollywood apartment dwellers than just staying at a hotel. The breakfast (especially the coffee) was great. The cucumber ice water and snacks in the afternoons was a refreshing relief. It is very convenient to tons of famous attractions in Beverly Hills and Hollywood. The pool with the Japanese pagota is beautiful.
The Ritz it is not, but because of the relaxing atmosphere above the bustle of Hollywood, as well as the first class staff, I don't know if there is a better way to experience LA, on a budget than a stay at the Hollywood Hills.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichSikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    94
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
48
106
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

After much research, I chose this hotel as it was nearby to where one of our sons was living. We used it as a base of operations on either side of a road trip to the San Francisco area. Because our other son was traveling with us, we opted for the suite to begin with. We booked another suite (one floor higher) on our return to Hollywood. Then, when our son flew home before us, downsized to a smaller room. So, we got a good sampling of what they offer.
Customer service is a priority with this hotel, and everyone I dealt with . . . from initial booking, to the front desk, to the air conditioning mechanic, to the shuttle driver were all very pleasant and helpful.
Being separated from the Magic Castle Hotel, at the foot of the hill, was not a problem. Although we had our own rental car, we often used the shuttle for breakfast, or when we walked into the heart of Hollywood. The shuttle was ready when we were.
The swimming pool was a plus . . . located in a remote section of this hillside retreat, it was gated as was the entire hillside compound. Well-maintained, it provided relief from the hot temperatures.
My major gripe, was the level of building maintenance common to all rooms. Windows that didn't lock . . . same with a slider. Domestic water temperatures that were excessively hot, and were reported but not sure if they were fixed because of our short time in each room. Areas that needed caulking and painting.
Overall, we would stay here again as the viewpoint of the city from the hillside gave us a feeling of place. From our balcony, we could see the Griffith Observatory, downtown L.A., the Capitol Records building, and a good portion of Hollywood. From our third floor suite we could see half of the Hollywood sign. We were in good company, at that altitude, as we were on the same level as many of our Hollywood Hill neighbors . . .beautiful homes perched on the hillside.

Room Tip: If you're opting for a suite, (I believe there are only a couple) ask for the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SublimeSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Loved our 8 night stay.Great location,minutes from Hollywood blvd.Front desk staff The Best! We had problems with our rental car and girl at front desk made them bring us another car instead of losing time returning it to LAX. You can't beat the value for the location.If staying in rooms on top of the hill,you can park your car in the Hotels street level garage and walk,saving yourself the $10 parking fee that you will pay everywhere in Hollywood.Rooms are very clean.Loved our Bed.the comforter was awesome.Enjoyed some relaxing time in the pool with a great view of the city.Take an evening and visit the Japanese restaurant at the top of the hill.It is beautiful.It was nice to start the day with with the hotels continental breakfast,another money saver in a very expensive Hollywood.I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a city view balcony.Loved opening the draps at the end of the day and dozing off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a strange one. It is great value for money, the pool is fantastic and as previous reviews have said, it has some great additions such as the free snacks and shuttle service. We were prepared for the slightly shabby look and dilapidated feel but the superb service of the Magic Castle makes up for it. Overall, despite some initial misgivings, we really enjoyed the location, the space, the value and the service this provided.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel Park
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Hollywood Hills Hotel is managed by the hotel on Franklin Ave. called The Magic Castle Hotel. You check into The Magic Castle Hotel and drive or take their shuttle a minute or two up the hill behind the Castle Hotel to the apartment complex. The complex has permanent residents living in it and some apartments are used as hotel suites. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for three nights. The furniture and appliances were a little dated, but everything was clean and the price was great for a major city. There is an unheated, very nice pool in the apt. complex and then a heated pool that is open 24 hours a day at the Magic Castle, available to guests of the Hollywood Hills. A simple continental breakfast is complimentary and served at the Magic Castle Hotel as well. But the feature most loved by my children were the snacks; the desk clerk hands out menu sheets listing all of the snacks you can request and guests can ask for candy, chips and soft drinks as often as they like.
The hotel is located in the heart of Hollywood, one block from Grauman's Theater, the Walk of Fame, Hollywood and Highland complex, and The El Capitain Theater. Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive are a short drive away as is the Paramount Studios. We found the location to be quite convenient to most of the sites we wanted to visit. Be sure to drive up into the hills behind the hotel (Mullholland Drive) to see great views of LA.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joycebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Hollywood Hills Hotel was an excellent and affordable place to stay in West Hollywood. It is affiliated with the Magic Castle Hotel (shares a front desk and breakfast area), but the rooms are located up a hill and offer a significant amount of privacy for a hotel. The staff will drive you up if you don't want to walk, as well as shuttle you to nearby locations. The pool is beautiful (beats the ones we've lounged by on the sunset strip) and the room we stayed in had a great view of LA. An added perk - munchies (granola bars, cheeze-its, oreos) and drinks (iced tea, soda, etc) were all free - all we had to do was ask the front desk! The front desk was extremely friendly and accommodating throughout our stay. We intended to stay just one night but decided to stay an additional night after scoring free tickets to the baseball game. The room was clean, large, and had a great little balcony we drank coffee on in the morning. The only problem we had with the room was the first night; while the AC worked, we felt heat blasting through the wall vent. I waited until the morning to call about it and they sent a maintenance man to take care of it right away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and loved it. The welcome we received when we checked in was very warm and friendly and made us feel at home straight away.

Only a ten minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Hollywood Boulevard, the hotel was a quiet and secluded retreat after a long day exploring LA. We booked a 'city view' room which had a fantastic panaramic view of the Hollywood hills, Hollywood itself and the skyscrapers of Downtown LA in the distance.

Some aspects of the room itself were maybe a little dated if you are bothered about that sort of thing, but everywhere was clean, and the size of the room, the location, and the staff, who could not do enough for us, more than made up for this. Sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine, taking in that amazing view, we could almost kid ourselves we were a resident of Hollywood, rather than a guest in a hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveHWorcester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Highland Gardens Hotel
#229 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,978 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#119 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hills Hotel

Property: Hollywood Hills Hotel
Address: 1999 N Sycamore Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068-3782
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Hills Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hollywood Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hollywood Hills
Hollywood Hills Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing