We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Place..Great great location and fun atmosphere, Wonderful STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hollywood Hills Hotel
Ranked #144 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Chandler, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved this Place..Great great location and fun atmosphere, Wonderful STAFF”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Hello Everyone! We “were just there this past weekend. I must say that I had the most memorable and amazing service ever. I am completely impressed will ALL the staff. There was not one person that did not go over and beyond for my family and I. It was a great experience and we will be back. Thank you so much for making our trip special !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    94
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
48
107
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hallett Cove, SA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We did a fair bit of research before deciding on the Hollywood Hills hotel. We stayed 3 nights while we did a quick stopover on our way back to Australia from Florida.

The good: Fantastic service. Nick, the guy at the desk, was truly a font of knowledge on the local attractions. Helped me with booking a day tour that turned out to be brilliant. He explained how the hotel worked, that we could get free mini-bar snacks and soft drinks and about the included buffet breakfast in the morning.

All the other staff were also friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the mornings is awesome and sets you up for the day.

The average: The rooms could do with a bit of a spruce up. There was mould in our bathroom and the room was pretty smelly, stuffy and hot. The small air conditioner didn't really do much to help so we ended up having to keep all the doors open which isn't ideal.

Some new carpets and a split-system airconditioner would help.

That said, the room was ample in size for our family of 4. There is a separate room for the master bedroom and a pull out sofa. As our kids are older we bought an air bed and sheets at the local Target for our son to sleep on (too old to share with sis :0)).

The pool area was teriffic and the views of the city from the balcony superb.

There is a shuttle bus up and down from the sister hotel (Magic Castle) for breakfast if you want it. We just walked which only takes 5 mins at the most (no wonder the yanks are obese if they can't take a small walk up and down a hill).

The location is great, you can easily walk to Hollywood Blvd for the nightlife, star walk and city tours. Plenty of places to eat also within walking distance.

Would I stay here again? 50/50 on that one. The place was nice enough, but could do with some TLC so I'd have to think carefully about it.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better your views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This was one of the best places we've stayed in many years of traveling. It's hard to explain, because it's dated and a little worn around the edges. It has the atmosphere (and some furnishings) of something from the Rat Pack era of the 60's. but is still fairly nice and it exhibits a lot of class from it's glory days. Extreme value, the staff is really nice and helpful. Our spacious balcony-effeciency had a view of Hollywood and LA like from a postcard. The Yamashirio is a very classy old school Japanese restuarant that was fantastic and romantic, and it is right next door.
After a few days, we felt more like Hollywood apartment dwellers than just staying at a hotel. The breakfast (especially the coffee) was great. The cucumber ice water and snacks in the afternoons was a refreshing relief. It is very convenient to tons of famous attractions in Beverly Hills and Hollywood. The pool with the Japanese pagota is beautiful.
The Ritz it is not, but because of the relaxing atmosphere above the bustle of Hollywood, as well as the first class staff, I don't know if there is a better way to experience LA, on a budget than a stay at the Hollywood Hills.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichSikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

After much research, I chose this hotel as it was nearby to where one of our sons was living. We used it as a base of operations on either side of a road trip to the San Francisco area. Because our other son was traveling with us, we opted for the suite to begin with. We booked another suite (one floor higher) on our return to Hollywood. Then, when our son flew home before us, downsized to a smaller room. So, we got a good sampling of what they offer.
Customer service is a priority with this hotel, and everyone I dealt with . . . from initial booking, to the front desk, to the air conditioning mechanic, to the shuttle driver were all very pleasant and helpful.
Being separated from the Magic Castle Hotel, at the foot of the hill, was not a problem. Although we had our own rental car, we often used the shuttle for breakfast, or when we walked into the heart of Hollywood. The shuttle was ready when we were.
The swimming pool was a plus . . . located in a remote section of this hillside retreat, it was gated as was the entire hillside compound. Well-maintained, it provided relief from the hot temperatures.
My major gripe, was the level of building maintenance common to all rooms. Windows that didn't lock . . . same with a slider. Domestic water temperatures that were excessively hot, and were reported but not sure if they were fixed because of our short time in each room. Areas that needed caulking and painting.
Overall, we would stay here again as the viewpoint of the city from the hillside gave us a feeling of place. From our balcony, we could see the Griffith Observatory, downtown L.A., the Capitol Records building, and a good portion of Hollywood. From our third floor suite we could see half of the Hollywood sign. We were in good company, at that altitude, as we were on the same level as many of our Hollywood Hill neighbors . . .beautiful homes perched on the hillside.

Room Tip: If you're opting for a suite, (I believe there are only a couple) ask for the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SublimeSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Loved our 8 night stay.Great location,minutes from Hollywood blvd.Front desk staff The Best! We had problems with our rental car and girl at front desk made them bring us another car instead of losing time returning it to LAX. You can't beat the value for the location.If staying in rooms on top of the hill,you can park your car in the Hotels street level garage and walk,saving yourself the $10 parking fee that you will pay everywhere in Hollywood.Rooms are very clean.Loved our Bed.the comforter was awesome.Enjoyed some relaxing time in the pool with a great view of the city.Take an evening and visit the Japanese restaurant at the top of the hill.It is beautiful.It was nice to start the day with with the hotels continental breakfast,another money saver in a very expensive Hollywood.I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a city view balcony.Loved opening the draps at the end of the day and dozing off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a strange one. It is great value for money, the pool is fantastic and as previous reviews have said, it has some great additions such as the free snacks and shuttle service. We were prepared for the slightly shabby look and dilapidated feel but the superb service of the Magic Castle makes up for it. Overall, despite some initial misgivings, we really enjoyed the location, the space, the value and the service this provided.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel Park
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Hollywood Hills Hotel is managed by the hotel on Franklin Ave. called The Magic Castle Hotel. You check into The Magic Castle Hotel and drive or take their shuttle a minute or two up the hill behind the Castle Hotel to the apartment complex. The complex has permanent residents living in it and some apartments are used as hotel suites. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for three nights. The furniture and appliances were a little dated, but everything was clean and the price was great for a major city. There is an unheated, very nice pool in the apt. complex and then a heated pool that is open 24 hours a day at the Magic Castle, available to guests of the Hollywood Hills. A simple continental breakfast is complimentary and served at the Magic Castle Hotel as well. But the feature most loved by my children were the snacks; the desk clerk hands out menu sheets listing all of the snacks you can request and guests can ask for candy, chips and soft drinks as often as they like.
The hotel is located in the heart of Hollywood, one block from Grauman's Theater, the Walk of Fame, Hollywood and Highland complex, and The El Capitain Theater. Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive are a short drive away as is the Paramount Studios. We found the location to be quite convenient to most of the sites we wanted to visit. Be sure to drive up into the hills behind the hotel (Mullholland Drive) to see great views of LA.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joycebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Highland Gardens Hotel
#217 of 350 in Los Angeles
270 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Hollywood VIP Hotel
#185 of 350 in Los Angeles
378 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Lexen Hotel - Hollywood
Lexen Hotel - Hollywood
#178 of 350 in Los Angeles
6 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,131 reviews
Central L.A
Best Western Hollywood Plaza Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hills Hotel

Property: Hollywood Hills Hotel
Address: 1999 N Sycamore Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068-3782
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Hills Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hollywood Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hollywood Hills
Hollywood Hills Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing