We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essentially a Hostel at Hotel Prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Ranked #121 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Very disappointing experience. Walls are paper thin. You can hear people cough or watch TV in rooms next door. Bed was not very comfortable. Room was musty and humid despite turning on the Air/Fan unit. AC/Heat unit was not temperature controlled. No incoming calls or messages; nor was there a clock in the room, or hairdrier, or safe. Linens and towels seemed slightly unclean. Breakfast was sugar with a side of sugar with some sugar on top: some bagels and jam, but mainly danishes and cakes. cream cheese and milk was on the table but was left out without refrigeration or ice. tables aren't cleaned by the staff, so they stay dirty after they were eaten at.

On the plus side, it is in a great location. Room had fridge and two sinks, which was nice. Wifi and parking are included. Front desk staff are helpful.

In sum: would not recommend and would certainly not go back. You can probably find a hostel for half the price and same quality. we are not sure why this is so high on tripadvisor....(currently #11)

Room Tip: Get renovated room not facing the main street
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigfuzzybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Wilshire Crest Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stayed with my wife for 4 days.
Beautifull and large rooms.Very clean!
Great beds.
Breakfast kept us going all day.
Will surely return!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidRose59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My friend and I stayed here for the night after a concert and loved it! The place is so cute and best of all had the best beds! I honestly have never slept on such a comfy bed in a hotel! The staff was also very friendly, especially Aaron, the manager!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomasy35, Public Relations Manager at Wilshire Crest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We have just replaced the beds in the hotel and so many of our guests have been experiencing the same high level of comfort you did. I hope to see you on your next visit to L.A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed here because it is close to our daughter's house. The room was large and well kept by housekeeping - good. Now the bad - parking is on the side streets o my, so you may expect to walk a bit from your car -especially if late in The evening. And the breakfast was a real problem. On our first day, it had been picked over at 9:00, and no one was replenishing it, even though breakfast runs until 10:00. We finally went to the front desk to get someone to replenish it.

There are no tongs to pick up the bagels, rolls, muffins, etc. So people just pick through them with their hands to select the one they want. The yogurt, when present, is just set on the counter without ice to keep it cool, and the coffee pots looike they haven't been cleaned in some time, as the glass is stained brown.

The final problem was several children, presumably the owners', as they would come and go through the kitchen door. They came in with bare feet, and would go up to the serving table, and since there were 5 of them, no one else could get anything as they stood there, pouring cereal, getting juice, etc. And once they arrived each morning, the ability to have a conversation disappeared, as they were very loud.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimboATL610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomasy35, Public Relations Manager at Wilshire Crest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2011

Dear valued guest,
I apprecaite you writing a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our large rooms and appreciated the cleanliness. In terms of the breakfast room, I will look into this matter ASAP. We are very strict as to who may access the kitchen. I assure you that it was not the owners children and under no circumstance is anybody allowed in the kitchen barefooted. We look forward to greeting you on your next visit to Los Angeles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

My husband and I were recently in LA on holiday. We picked this hotel based on the reviews on trip advisor. We stayed for 6 nights in total. We weren't looking for a 5 star hotel, just something clean, comfortable and reasonably priced in LA.
There were two main problems we encountered with this hotel - the first was that it was extremely noisy. We heard vacuuming by housekeeping every morning at 8.30-9am (we were on holiday so hoping for a sleep in), we heard garbage trucks outside, and guests speaking in the hallway and other rooms. There just didn't seem to be any sound proofing in the room. We didn't manage to have a good night sleep at all while we were there.
The second problem was the toilets. They seemed to be from the dark ages! On our first night the toilet clogged up. It wasn't pleasant, but we fixed it and moved on. We decided to stay an extra night in LA and therefore had to move rooms. In the next room we stayed in the toilet clogged up again. When my husband went down to ask reception for help, the man behind the desk pulled out a plunger from under the desk and handed it to my husband (clearly this happens a lot). We had to fix the toilet ourself. Nice service!
The price was reasonable but when planning our holiday we actually looked at the Wilshire and The Standard, which is considered much more classy (The Standard in downtown LA has a rooftop pool and is a bit of a celeb hangout). The price difference was minimal - The Standard ended up being $100 more expensive in total and so we decided to go with the Wilshire. A mistake we won't be making again in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gwynney30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My husband and I normally veer to brand name hotels so you know what you're getting. We were working on a budget this time. Based on the price and reviews from here, we decided to try a 'Boutique Hotel'.

Service - We were very impressed with the service. We arrived home late on Sunday night. The street cleaners were doing one 1/2 of the street (Mondays), so parking was full on our entire block. We stopped at the desk, and he said he left a bit of room where he parked in case this happened. So he went out and moved his car so we could fit in! Awesome!
The free continental breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, bagels, sweet pastries, Cheerios, Cornflakes and yogurt. It wasn't anything to write home about but it did the trick to get our day going! If you're looking for more, there is an IHOP close by.
I brought along a laptop (I've never used one before) and tried to access the WiFi (the person at the front desk gave me the code). I never did get connected. Could've been me? Either way, they had a computer in the sitting area by the front entrance that we used.

Room - We were in Room 215 (view of apartments next door and partial view of front street) and it was just what you would expect. A bed, bathroom, a door for an option to use adjoining rooms, dresser, table with 2 chairs, wall-mounted TV, mini fridge, stand for setting your luggage on, and a very spacious closet. There was also a vanity mirror and sink outside the bathroom (which was very handy). We weren't expecting to spend much time at the hotel, so the basics were all we needed. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable.
We heard something through the wall maybe once for about 10 secs. That was it. I guess it depends on who your neighbours are at the time!
Check out was seamless. We didn't get any 'surprise' charges.

Location - We planned on doing the typical touristy things. It was great being so close to The Grove/Farmer's Market. It's only blocks away, and there were tons of dinner options there. We also caught a movie at the theatre there.
We drove everywhere else (Venice Beach, West Hollywood, Rodeo Drive, Griffith Observatory, etc..) and didn't use more than 1/2 tank of gas in the entire 4 days. Everything is nice and close! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdnTrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomasy35, Public Relations Manager at Wilshire Crest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. Your review is so valuable to us becuase you represent a growing population in hotel travel. Traveles are now trying independant hotels as opposed to a chain hotel. I am glad that you were happy with your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This hotel is in a GREAT location, quiet street very close to the grove shopping mall and to the LACMA clean and large rooms. Kosher breakfast.The Synagogue within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hbbiov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#123 of 352 in Los Angeles
299 reviews
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#68 of 352 in Los Angeles
623 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#39 of 352 in Los Angeles
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#93 of 352 in Los Angeles
438 reviews
Central L.A
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
#187 of 352 in Los Angeles
195 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilshire Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilshire Crest Hotel

Address: 6301 Orange St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4816
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £126 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wilshire Crest Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wilshire Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing