We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So quaint with a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Ranked #130 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My friend and I just returned from a fantastic LA vacation! We had booked Wilshire Crest Hotel by the reviews we read. We were NOT disappointed in the least! Loved the fact that their front door is open "inviting" you into this quaint small hotel on a corner within walking distance of the Farmers Market and lots of shopping and eating places.
The lady at the front desk, when we arrived, was very pleasant and accommodating. She got us checked in promptly and we felt we were off to a good start. I had read about a "musty" smell and yes, we smelled that immediately when we walked to the front desk. But that was the only time we dealt with that smell. It definitely was not any other place in the hotel after that first initial encounter. As we walked to our downstairs room, we passed the room where they put out a pleasant morning "breakfast" for us every morning. It consisted of tiny muffins, bagels, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee cake, etc along with orange juice, coffee, etc. It was a great way to get every morning started and it was included in the price of the room so we felt we were saving on the purchase of one meal every day.
The lobby was so pretty! Loved the furniture and a nice surprise was a computer sitting in the corner for all the guests use. I was able to check my email from home and go on and search for some places to eat, etc when we chose not to ask the front desk although they were a great help while we were there. They called a cab for us, gave us tips as to where to eat, places to see within walking distance, etc.
Oh I wanted to mention that people complained about parking. We didn't experience that as we took a shuttle service from and to the airport and public transportation thereafter which worked well for us. But I could see where it might be a bit of a problem because it seemed people were coming and going from the parking spots on the streets. So that would be hit and miss.
The room was a pleasant surprise. Some of the reviews we read talked about outdated, mismatched furniture, etc but neither of us saw that. It was very clean and spacious and the beds were very comfortable. We were the first room on our side of the hallway so we had plenty of traffic passing by our room. Although we could hear people talking as they passed, for the time we were there, it was not a problem. We also heard people upstairs a couple of times but again, not a problem. Nothing that disturbed our sleep or kept us awake.
There are plenty of hotels in LA but I cannot give you one good reason NOT to book Wilshire Crest and I hope I've given you plenty of reasons TO book this small hotel. This hotel would definitely be our only choice if we were to return to the LA area! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luvthedesert22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Wilshire Crest Hotel is not your newer suite style hotel but an excellent value. The location is great a very short drive to Beverly Hills, West Hollywood and Hollywood attractions. Since you almost have to drive everywhere in L.A. you might as well stay in a good central location and this is it. Our room with two double beds was very large, faced an adjacent building, very quiet, and had a large round table with two chairs good closet space and perfectly good bathroom with very good water pressure. The breakfast had a good variety hard boiled eggs, instant hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, bagles and pastries with coffee and juice. The place is very clean and I would stay there again. The free parking is a bit tough as it is on the street with a window plackard so you have to compete with the neighborhood which is very residential. The main street two blocks away has shops and restaurants if your walking.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor in either courtyard or adjacent building which is a private residence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Nice rooms, friendly staff, cute patio area. Breakfast is simple but plenty for light breakfast. Hard boiled eggs and cottage cheese for those who want protein. Bagels, cereal,etc. coffee and tea, juice. Nicely set out. Computer in lobby free to use.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DARUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel is in a residential neighborhood close to many attractions in Los Angeles. It works perfectly for us when visiting family. The staff is accommodating and the hotel is spotless. This hotel is typical of the NON-chain hotels in Europe and is ideal for people who prefer walking to being stuck in traffic on Wilshire or Fairfax. If you have a car, the parking can at first appear to be an issue, but then the excellent staff steps in and makes it all simple for you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamia77005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were visiting family in West Hollywood and were directed to this hotel. The small building is in a residential area, but is close to just about everything in West Hollywood...Farmers Market, LACMA, and shopping. We stayed on the second floor and it was quiet all night. The hotel is an old building, but the bathrooms were completely renovated with new tile and fixtures - and it was spotless! The bedding was very comfortable, important since we stayed here for 4 nights. While eating breakfast with the other hotel guests we could hear just about all the languages of Europe. We were very pleased with these accommodations and will stay here again next visit.

Room Tip: We were first given a room on the first floor but request one on the second. We really enjoyed the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 978lindas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here 8 nights during July - Aug. Hotel is more like a motel, basic accommodation although the room we had was very spacious, decor needs updating and bath towels were threadbear! Staff were helpful. We did not like the breakfast. Quiet , safe neighbourhood with walking distance to LACMA (5 mins) and Farmers Market & The Grove (15 mins) with it's pleasant atmosphere of shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I needed a place close to doctors appt I had on Wilshire. Excellent and large comfy rooms and bed with good TV, safe and quiet area, close to where I needed to go, excellent price. The continental breakfast was also excellent. I also liked that it was a block away from multiple restaurants and the room had a small refrigerator.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleGuy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomasy35, Guest Relations Manager at Wilshire Crest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you found our accommodations suited your needs. Many guests appreciate all the things that you mention in your review. We look forward to greeting you on future visits to Los Angeles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
#202 of 355 in Los Angeles
199 reviews
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#137 of 355 in Los Angeles
313 reviews
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#69 of 355 in Los Angeles
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#35 of 355 in Los Angeles
847 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#93 of 355 in Los Angeles
463 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilshire Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilshire Crest Hotel

Address: 6301 Orange St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4816
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £96 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wilshire Crest Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wilshire Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing