We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Ranked #120 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Boulder Creek, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights last week. And I would definitely stay here again. Walking distance to the LACMA, Tar Pits, LA Farmers Market, The Grove. I parked (on the street) when I got there, only had to move my car once (for street cleaning). Yes, there's "only" street parking, but you get a tag to let you not have to move every 2 hours. I didn't have a problem finding a parking spot, but then again, maybe I just got lucky.

Room was clean and spacious. Actually, the room was so big, it would have been nice to have a bigger television :)

Even the continental breakfast was fine - a nice assortment of pastries, bagels, some fresh fruit. It would have been nice to have some yogurt, and maybe some bread for toast. BUT, was enough to get me started on my day.

I would definitely stay here again, and definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a conveniently located bargain in LA.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheryl_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    153
    51
    23
    16
See reviews for
113
96
63
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is the second time I've stayed here (last time was in December) and had a great stay both times. The staff remembered me from last time (or at least pretended to; the effort is always appreciated when you've been on the road) and were friendly and helpful. This time I was in (I think) room 220, top floor at the end of the hall. The windows faced into the trees and the light was so green coming through the leaves, it was kind of like staying in a tree house. The room was plenty big for one person, with a small refrigerator, king-sized bed with a bookshelf headboard (which made it a little hard to prop yourself up in bed, but there were lots of pillows to help), a table and two chairs (right in front of the closet, which might have been annoying if I was using the closet, but I wasn't), and was clean and well-maintained. The wifi worked fine. The cable tv had free On Demand! Loved catching up on a few tv series. The free breakfast is nothing spectacular but it's enough to get you out the door -- breakfast pastries and breads, whole fruit, cereal, hard boiled eggs, bagels, coffee and tea and juice. If you're on a budget, the 99 cent store is a block away and you can get a box of granola bars to supplement your meal for, well, 99 cents. As others have said, this hotel is perfectly located if you're visiting LACMA and/or the La Brea Tar Pits. Also nearby are the Petersen Automotive Museum and the Craft and Folk Art Museum. A Limited bus runs on Wilshire into downtown LA, and when they extend the Purple Metro Line to the museums, it'll be even more convenient to go between downtown and mid-Wilshire.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edwardsmom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We enjoyed our visit. It was close to LACMA and La Brea Tar Pits, the major point of our visit. The staff were attentive to our needs. We found some neighborhood pubs with good food and friendly patrons. We felt safe walking in the area and met locals who were interesting and entertaining. Getting to the hotel by taxi from LAX was somewhat pricey, but worth it for the proximity to the museums.

Room Tip: We used one of their rooms designed for those with physical handicaps, and appreciated the walk in s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hotel is 2 blocks from LACMA (purpose of our trip) in a nice neighborhood. Lobby is comfy and nice. Staff at desk friendly and helpful. Our two double bed room was very spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable and pillows were comfortably soft. Room has a separate sink from the bathroom with tub and shower as well as another sink which is convenient. Room also has small fridge, flat panel TV with time info on the receiver, air conditioner, and windows which can open for fresh air. A hair dryer can be requested from the front desk. Breakfast was a nice selection of several pastries, two cereal choices, instant oatmeal, orange juice, bagels and cream, cucumber and tomato, coffee and tea. A guest computer is available in the lobby, but the connections were very slow. A Pepsi machine is available in the courtyard to purchase sodas. Hotel is one short block to the #20 bus along Wilshire, and one long block to Fairfax Ave to catch the #217 bus to The Grove Mall/Farmers Market (only takes 5 mins). It was a very enjoyable stay at this hotel and would return again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard side would be quiet, no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We've stayed here before, we still love this hotel and will stay again when we come back next year, but there are some cleaning issues that we did not notice before. I would say that it was impeccable in the past, but there is dust on baseboards, there was trash under our bed, also the continental breakfast was not kept up as in the past, there was still plenty of food, but when people used the tables, they were not cleaned off. By the end of the service, the bananas were gone and the coffee was a little cool. Someone had left bagels in the toaster and they were not removed by the staff, also the trash was not emptied until it was overflowing. I know this seems picky, but this hotel would not have allowed that in the past.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very nice, but we prefer the rooms on the street with a view of the patio even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredtravelers30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is 2 minutes from Cedar Sinai Hospital. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are large and clean. The TV is a huge flat panel. The room has a fridge and air conditioning. The front desk is always kind and helpful. The only thing missing is a hair dryer. But no big deal. Nice neighborhood and well kept.

Room Tip: Bring a hair dryer and I like the king size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vespagal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

First visit to LA and consider ourselves luck to pick this hotel. Nothing is ever perfect but if you tick of the important things like location, nice clean/comfortable room, value for money and really helpful staff you can't go wrong. You have to park in the streets so it can be pot luck but if you are out early (and why would you not be to see the sights) then any parking restrictions are not a problem.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fidge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#122 of 348 in Los Angeles
285 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#98 of 348 in Los Angeles
399 reviews
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#75 of 348 in Los Angeles
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
#188 of 348 in Los Angeles
187 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#32 of 348 in Los Angeles
771 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilshire Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilshire Crest Hotel

Property: Wilshire Crest Hotel
Address: 6301 Orange St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4816
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wilshire Crest Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wilshire Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing