We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hollywood location...”

Hollywood Studio Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hollywood Studio Inn & Suites
Ranked #205 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hollywood location...”
Reviewed 26 May 2010

The Hollywood Studio Inn is brilliantly located. Positioned on Sunset Blvd., directly below the busiest stretch of Hollywood Blvd., it's a fifteen minute walk or less to the centre of things. And surrounded by shops, restaurants, cinemas and other hotels it's a bustling and safe area.

The rooms are basic but have everything you need and there's plenty of parking and the rates are great. Simple as that.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDN_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    4
    0
    7
See reviews for
1
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loma Linda, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

I stayed there from April 10-15, 2010. Even though I arrived late at night (thanks to flight delays), the front desk staff were there and very helpful. The room facilities were basic, but they were clean and they worked. There was no landline phone in my room, but there was free wifi. So if you're coming from overseas and not bringing your laptop (which you can use to communicate via email, Skype etc.) with you), you need to be prepared for that. But for such an amazingly low room cost, it's hardly something and not really something you can complain about. The walls are quite thin and I could hear normal activity in the room next to me, though it didn't give me any problem sleeping when I needed to sleep. Car parking was plentiful and secure. If you need them, there are strip malls where you can buy stuff to eat and drink within 2-3 blocks.

The Google map is a bit deceptive. The distance to the 'touristy' bits of Hollywood is a little bit further than it looks. It took me 17 minutes on foot to the Egyptian Theatre (on the corner of Hollywood and Las Palmas), and I'm a reasonably fast walker, used to travelling on foot within English cities. If you're visiting to see the tourist side of Hollywood and don't mind a bit of exercise, you can leave your car at the motel and explore on foot, but be prepared for a fair bit of walking. Unless you're a very slow walker, Hollywood and Vine subway station to this motel will take you no more than 25 minutes, and from there, a lot of other places in LA are available without needing to rent a car.

The only thing I was not impressed with was that on my last day, I asked if I could stay in my room for a couple of hours after the 1100 check-out deadline. My flight was late afternoon. No way, I was told - out by 11 or pay for another night. The impression I got was that there wasn't exactly an influx of new guests waiting to move in, and that this was pure inflexibility. But this is such a great location for the price that this is a very minor complaint.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bedbugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

What to say about this place, we stayed 3 nights, the same man was on duty every day, he was very miserable. The room was musty and the linen had cigarette burns on it, our tv had no controller, and although we asked we never received one.

Location wise, it was very good, and i would recommend looking around this area if you have a car during your stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beligerent_ghoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

great location being only 2 blocks from hollywood boulevard and on pick up route for tour bus. 2 repairs reported and fixed quickly. friendly staff. only downside was no phone in room.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grimbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Rolling onto the Sunset strip at 11:00 pm was a bit overwhelming. Being on a budget its tough to pick a place that doesn't look a bit schetchy. This place had a parking area that was protected from the street somewhat, I think thats why we picked it. The fellow working the desk was strange, not friendly, but not offensive. The price was good so we took the room. The good sized room was clean except for some hair in the bath tub. It smelled a bit funny but we quickly got used to it. The comforters looked like they came from another era, but they were new, wierd! The steel grate on the window made me feel safe. There was a minifridge and a free porn channel. This place was fine for one night but no more than that. Great location though, walking distance to hollywood blvd.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Tactic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Located on the Sunset Strip between a Strip Club and a public library with drunks sleeping on the sidewalk. The manager was rude, and obviously was the cause of of the hotels decline.

At one point in time someone had made the attempt to remodel the hotel, but had never bothered to follow up with cleaning the rooms afterwards. The carpet was matted down and black with dirt and sticky to walk on (your feet or socks were black within minutes). The sheets were not changed during our stay, and we suspected they may not have been before we moved in. The towels were thin, and we received no hand towels, just facecloths and bath towels. The room wasn't serviced until almost 6pm.

The parking lot is cramped and has fewer spaces than rooms, we just parked and walked everywhere. We booked through Expedia and I'm not quite sure why they rated it a 2 Star hotel. I think someone cooked the books on this one. And I can't quite believe the review here that someone stayed 3 months in this hotel?!!?!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juanvaldez001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

frankston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

I stayed there 10 days, well located motel near la brea ave, you can walk north to hollywood blvd and graumans theatre with stars messages in concrete on footpath, etc. a car and a cellphone would be useful
staff mexican and not really friendly, welcoming or helpful, no outgoing phone calls allowed, go out to street and try to find a working payphone, my room was kept clean but as is usual in USA had no fridge or coffee making facilities, my room was quiet at night, even though motel is on sunset blvd

its a druggy area with celebrities checking in for prostitutes and to buy and use drugs, some have died in nearby motels from an overdose. mostly a mexican area with some blacks, as a white I stood out but was never bothered, its handy to shops, resteraunts, take away food places and quite safe to walk the streets in daylight as I found and was told by locals

bus along la brea ave useful, goes south to la brea tar pits and museums, also motel is fairly close to Greyhound bus hollywood terminal

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthur55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#192 of 351 in Los Angeles
581 reviews
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#76 of 351 in Los Angeles
328 reviews
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#124 of 351 in Los Angeles
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Comfort Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Hollywood Guest Inn
Hollywood Guest Inn
#49 of 91 in Los Angeles
185 reviews
Hollywood
Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Studio Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Studio Inn & Suites

Property: Hollywood Studio Inn & Suites
Address: 7160 W Sunset Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90046-3422
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Studio Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hollywood Studio Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Studio Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Studio Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing