We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourists To LA * Uh, do not proceed to believe this is an "attraction"”

Sherman Oaks Castle Park
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Tourists To LA * Uh, do not proceed to believe this is an "attraction"”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This place is in a less than desired part of LA. Tourists, please don't even think of this as an "attraction". It is old, worn down, expensive and really beat. Kids would love the beach on a rainy day with sand in their eyes. People in general would be better off, never going through the effort, to ever got here. At least a rainy day at the beach, is free and does not smell as much.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    12
    7
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
316 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Needs New Management”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I live in the Los Angeles area and have taken my young children to the Castle Park mini golf several times, each time becoming more and more disappointed with this attraction. Our last visit ever was in July 2013, I'm sure we will not be going back.

The attraction has mini golf, an arcade, batting cages, and a restaurant. The attraction is owned and managed by Los Angeles City. Just like everything else Los Angeles City does, this place also has become a joke.

The golfing is $6.50 for adults, $5.50 for children, and replays are $3. There are three different golf course you can play on. The first thing you'll notice is that all three course are in need of maintenance, and repairs. Some good maintenance and a fresh coat of paint would do wonders for this place.

The arcade is a rip off! You have to purchase a card that you put money on. The more money you pay, the bigger the bonus. If you pay $25, you'll get $30 worth of credit. Most of the arcade games cost $1+ per person to play, which is pretty expensive compared to other area arcades.

The restaurant is pricey with the food being very average.

My biggest complaint is the customer service, which this place is void of. Because these are all city workers, they have the same wonderful disposition as the DMV employees. No smiles, so desire to make you feel like a valued costumer, and no professionalism. Just give them your money and go play your over-priced games.

One time my child had won close to 500 tickets on the arcade games, but she was 4 tix short of what she wanted. I asked if I could pay the difference, or buy just four more tickets. They told me no, that I would have to buy another $20 card and win the four tickets, just to pay for a prize that was worth about $3.00. No other business could be ran this way.

If you want to be treated poorly and overpay for a little entertainment, this is place for you. Otherwise I would go someplace else.

I will never go here again, and I would recommend that my family and friends also avoid this place. At least until the City sells it and a real business person starts to run it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SNAFU23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northridge
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun, but needs some referbishment”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Castle Park is a fun place for golf and arcade games. In the last few years it has become run down, torn carpet on courses, poor lighting at night. Not to say that ruins the experience, but it would be nice if it were kept up better. It is part of the City of LA Parks and Recreation, so money to fix is probably an issue. Food is from a stand inside that is ok, I'd recommend eating before or after. If you are in the mood to mini golf in the San Fernando Valley this is a good spot.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place to spend a few hours”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Came here for the mini golf and ended up playing in the arcades and batting cages too. The mini golf courses could do with a bit more care and better lighting for at night but was worth the trip and still good fun. The batting cages were great value and the staff helpful and friendly too. Overall a good night out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mcbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sherman Oaks Castle Park also viewed

 

Been to Sherman Oaks Castle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing