We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not come back again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dockweiler Beach RV Park
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Two positives about Dockweiler RV Park, the beach and the ocean view. I should have read the reviews first and saved myself $187. The grounds were not kept clean. the bathrooms were not clean, dogs everywhere and peeing in front of your RV spots. Not a lot of parking for visitors. Not a good experience. VISIT AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Dockweiler Beach RV Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Close to LAX therefore handy and beach was beautiful, otherwise not much to recommend this Pakistan. Overpriced, under serviced and rude staff! Very loud at night and parking is non existant. Makes entry and exits difficult.

Room Tip: Only good if you need to be close to LAX
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Airplanes take off from LAX right over this park at a rate of about 1/minute beginning early in the morning Until midnight. Their takeoffs interrupt tv and cell service, and the smell of jet fuel is awful. No views because the county has a sand berm piled too high to see over. In addition, the park is located next to a huge sewage treatment plant that stinks really bad at times. Apparently they upgraded this park recently, but in one bathroom the toilets were shutdown and there was no hot water for the showers. There was another park at the other end of the park, but we didn't bother going all the way down there. The bathrooms are typical industrial County park style. And let me assure you that there customer service is no better than their park. There were homeless people digging in the trash cans too.

The prices are high for this type of experience. Ranging from $55-65 per night. We regretted our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissLysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here on our last night in our rental RV. We knew it would be noisy because of the proximity to LAX (at the end of the runway), but we still managed to sleep ok. We had a front row spot on the beach which was awesome. Check in was easy as we had our booking printed and the park was clean and well laid out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had a spot in the first row practically on the beach, however, there was a huge artificial sand barrier right across and over the full width of the RV park to protect it from high tides, so there was no sea view at all... The noise from LAX was really bothering us, as the planes fly over about 2 per minute, day and night, you're literally shaking in your bed. None of us got a lot of sleep. On top of everything, there was this terrible sewer smell over the entire RV park. Also, who in his right mind designs a gazillion speed bumps in an RV park?! We will stay here never, ever again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Esther V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Great spot right on the beach. Very helpful staff at check in. Tidy place. Restrooms and showers dated but clean and tidy.this park is at the end of the runway but it is not as noisy as you think from aircraft. But the noise comes from the guests who party to 3am in our case even though the signs say quiet at 9pm! I realise that 9pm is early but 3am is way too late.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank jamfactorynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this RV park in our VW camper in July 2013. The location right on the beach could not be better and it's probably the best value campsite closest to the centre of LA. The staff at reception did not seem interested in being there and on checking in one staff member didn't even get up from her desk and I almost had to shout details over to her. The noise of the planes taking off and landing was not ideal but the location right on the beach more than made up for it. However this is a typical RV park with spaces right up against each other and the only facilities are toilets and showers. It's a handy place if you're heading to LA.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank beth362851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
717 reviews
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
511 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#54 of 353 in Los Angeles
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grandview Inn
#6 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
348 reviews
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
860 reviews
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockweiler Beach RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockweiler Beach RV Park

Address: 12001 Vista del Mar, Playa del Rey, Los Angeles, CA
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing