We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy tapas restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Primitivo - CLOSED

Primitivo
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Venice
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Trendy tapas restaurant”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

If you want to save money, you have to come here during happy hours which is 5:30pm - 6:30pm during the week. Sangria is $4 and a variety of tapas at reduced prices. We ordered half a dozen tapas (spanish ham, manchego and gruyere stuffed pepper, bacon wrapped dates, mediteranean dip, meatballs, etc.) and a couple of entrees. The entree's portions are small but they are priced like an entrée so I thought they were a little over priced. However, everything tasted really good. This is probably the only restaurant on Abbot Kinney that serves tapas. If you are a fan of tapas, you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StellaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    45
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food fair price for tge quality”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Went there for an early dinner as we had a long day travelling. Got a high table inside. Waiter was friendly without being over the top. Wife had a nice glass of red and I had a Czech beer which was good. We had 4 tapas plates between us and a dessert each and left pretty full but not stuffed. Would go again if I ever came back to LA ( which probably wont happen)

Helpful?
Thank Jono H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Order the Paella”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I ate here with a group of 6. We all had fabulous dishes but I have to say...order the paella. One in our group did and it was the best dish on the table and the best I've ever had. We were there on a Monday night which was 1/2 price bottle night for wines. I assume that's every Monday...so check it out!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A nice little piece of Spain”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Come to this place for a nice assortment of tapas and a decent selection of Spanish wines, the atmosphere is casual and the location great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best find near LAX”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We chose to go here with friends proir to our midnight departure back to Australia after walking down Abbot Kiney. We had the best service and the most delicious food with lots of healthy pre-flight options. The paella was able to ordered despite our tight timeframe and was enjoyed by all. the scallops and the truffled crab and lobster tower were also brilliant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Primitivo also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing