We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and reliable sushi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Hama

Restaurant Hama
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Hama is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #312 of 9,854 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Venice
Cross street: Main St
Description: Hama Sushi is a landmark restaurant located in the heart of Venice. Serving the freshest, most authentic sushi creations and French inspired fusion cuisine since 1979. Our eclectic clientele, lively atmosphere, innovative world class weekly specials and knowledgably and friendly staff make for an unforgettable dining experience.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service and reliable sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very well priced, fresh sushi while sitting outside in a heated tent. The service is great and is mostly filled with local regulars.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DocTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hama Sushi - Wonderful and Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

We sat at the bar with our kids for happy hour where that had a great selection of rolls and other things at a great price. The Venice Roll and the Strawberry Roll were highlights but we found the whole experience extremely friendly and satisfying.
The ginger martinis were outstanding!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
251 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Disappointing -- and noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

For a place specializing in sushi I would have expected better. The sushi was OK, barely. The fish was fresh, but hastily prepared, visibly cut in a haphazard way, I would have done it better myself at home. Again, it's OK, but not at the premium price you will pay at Hama. It's also *very* noisy, to the point of making your dining experience unpleasant. Also, we had to wait 15 min for our "reserved" table -- note that on the phone I was told "no problem" when I asked for a reservation. The only reason to recommend it is to observe the locals.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlfredoLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“pretty good sushi, but expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

pretty good sushi, but expensive for what it is

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“This is my favorite sushi place. Love the rolls. They made one up just for me!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

This is my favorite sushi place. Love the rolls. They made one up just for me!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Hama also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Restaurant Hama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing