We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this restaurant”
Review of Antonio's

Antonio's
Ranked #3,506 of 10,091 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: Central L.A
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Antonio's has been a tradition with my family for 40 years. It's our go-to restaurant for family dinners and we love it. Delicious food, huge portions, unusual recipes. The fish tacos and enchiladas Oaxaca are particularly good, as are the chips and guacamole.

Helpful?
Thank Modernity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Essential Hollywood Experience”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We were introduced by my celebrity relative to Antonio at the door. He is a very nice man with a nice family running this long-time Hollywood business for over half a century. I saw pictures of Antonio with the biggest legends of Hollywood and heard stories that Hollywood dreams are made of. The atmosphere was comfortable and mesmerizing. The food was very, very good. I am used to New Mexican food, and Antonio's stands up well on its own merits. Melrose Ave is special in its own way and you must eat at Antonio's!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mexican Food with a History”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This family owned restaurant on Melrose in LA, has been family owned and run in this very spot for 56 years and Antonio still greets his guests cheerfully at the front door. Other family members serve - both at the bar and at the tables & booths. The walls are covered with photos of famous guests through the years and there are also interesting artifacts (check out the Howard Hughes wine room!)- all of which add up to a very welcoming and interesting atmosphere.

But you don't go to a restaurant just for atmosphere - and the good news is that the food is also wonderful. The guacamole is fresh and and so are the chips and salsas. The pollo chipotle, the beef fajitas - served with corn or wheat tortillas are delicious and the portions are generous. Prices are very reasonable - and the dining experience makes you want to come back - and we will!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank flowerlady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south usa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretentious, poor service”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Wait staff tends to argue. Pretentious place with poor service. I know and love authentic Mexican food. If you too, avoid this place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jkjjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“How can there only be 3 reviews?! Fantastic place!”
Reviewed 16 December 2010

My wife stopped in for dinner last week and enjoyed every minute. Wait staff was absolutely top notch - and Antonio himself was walking the aisles. Nice atmosphere and very reasonably priced menu. With the history and "celeb approval", but most of all great food, Antonio's should be packed every night.
Valet parking but I didn't know that. There is a $5 lot just around the corner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antonio's also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Antonio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing