We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vegan Breakfast Options”
Review of Swingers

Swingers
Ranked #255 of 10,091 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Vegan Breakfast Options”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at the Beverley Laurel Motor Hotel above this restaurant on our trip to LA. They are open early, so you can always get breakfast before heading out for the day. We loved the vegan pancakes (complete with maple syrup and vegan butter), and the tofu chilaquiles. Everything vegan on the menu is marked, and the servers are really nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kaw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    109
    30
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overrated - meager portions, disinterested service”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Having heard good things, I decided to give Swingers a try - and was sorely disappointed. While the décor is impressive and there is a good overall vibe, a few of the basic elements of the restaurant were lacking to the point that it adversely affected my overall dining experience. First, I went for breakfast with a friend who recently discovered he has high blood pressure; while Swingers is ready to bend over backwards for vegans and those with gluten restrictions, they were unwilling to substitute bacon or sausage for anything else (fruit, an extra pancake, nothing). In fact, the service was generally subpar - our drinks were only refilled by a friendly busboy who noticed our glasses were empty and the waiting staff seemed more intent on chatting with the hipster element, which was in full force at the dining bar, than serving other patrons. The servings were scanty and lacking in flavor. I could name several places in LA with better sauce for the huevos rancheros I ordered. (Tapatio should always be a last resort or a point of emphasis, not a masking agent.) Given the number of very good breakfast spots in and around nearby Farmer's Market, I'm surprised Swingers doesn't seem to care to step its game up; then again, maybe hipster haven is what their aiming for.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Really nice place with very helpfull stuff. They have gluten-free menu (pancakes!) and also serve vegan meals which was important for me.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoannaRawska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a gem Swingers is. The food and the service was just delightful. We were staying at the Beverly Laurel and this diner was what made our stay great!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

This retro diner has a lot of atmosphere, a large menu, good prices and excellent service. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denisekv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swingers also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Swingers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing