We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school, old guard”
Review of Brandywine

Brandywine
Ranked #844 of 9,980 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: US$0 - US$80
Cuisines: French, Italian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: South San Fernando Valley
california
Level Contributor
470 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Old school, old guard”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

very good restaurant, smallish menu and ancient interior that looks as though the last remodel was in 1960. Few tables in this street front eatery; owner on premises and runs a tight ship. only downside is that its quite expensive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pandpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything is delicious!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

You would not notice this place from the street, someone recommended this place to me and I have eaten here many times. This last visit someone suggested I try the abalone - this is a special order item as they do not always have it. I pre-ordered with my reservation and totally enjoyed it. They have an amazing wine list and very charming atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsieBayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We recently celebrated a birthday at Brandywine. It's a small, intimate restaurant in Woodland Hills with semi-curtained separate booths run by a husband (waiter) and wife (Chef). A blackboard lists the menu of the day. Good food, higher end, but not outrageous prices, good personal interaction with both the waiter and chef. The negative was the very slow service. It took us over two hours for our dinneer, with more than an hour wait for the entre.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is simply on of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at!! The appetizers, salad, main course and entrees were all top notch. I would recommend this restaurant without hesitation to anyone interested in a fantastic meal. Also, great for groups, as we were a party of 7!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatsworth, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brandywine is the best”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This place is always perfect...the quality of the food and service is impeccable. We have eaten there many many times in the last 20 years and have always enjoyed our meal so very much. Chris and Peggy are the perfect hosts and the meal is a wonderful experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerrykritzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brandywine also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Brandywine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing