We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I stopped! ”

Mexicali Cocina Cantina
Ranked #4,319 of 10,086 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Universal City Area
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Glad I stopped! ”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I almost walked past; but stopped to read the menu and decided 5 give it a try. The Chicken Enchiladas were awesome, and the green rice was a great combination.
The service was fast and efficient.
I'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank fotojo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    28
    21
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hot tamale”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

As we drive through the southern California morning we savor the number of opportunities before us. Ventura blvd and all it's worldly choices await. Our first casa de cuisine is Mexicali Cocina cantina and all the fine comestibles it has to offer. Our choices this day included guacamole, braised beef burrito, fish tacos and a taco & tamale combo chosen from the voluminous pages of the menu. A large choice of large dishes once again demonstrating America's obsession with way too much food. Food was good, maybe could be a little less "Hollywood" and a little more "local". Service to be seated was a little slow, meal service ok. Server pleasant and helpful. Our experience says we well be back.(yeah, he eats there too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kolekei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love the Mexicali margarita.”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

This is one of our favorite Mexican places to eat in the Studio City area. Their menu offers lots of healthy options and unusual dishes in addition to your standard Mexican fare. The grilled fish or lobster tacos are fantastic for a lighter meal. The Americano Burrito is delicious and filling, filled with grilled chicken, veggies, and goat cheese.

Sit outside if you can, it's much more pleasant and a better ambiance. The restaurant inside gets pretty loud (it has something to do with the accoustics, I think).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachycali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“What? I can not hear you...”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Loud. Oh, this place is loud. Did I mention this place was LOUD? I I drank 2 double margaritas, just to try and drown out the noise. It did not work.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baronent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Local Tex-Mex restaurant”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Food is fresh with big portions, but because it's so popular it can be very noisy, especially at happy hour time!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank psychjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mexicali Cocina Cantina also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Mexicali Cocina Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing