We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Il Capriccio on Vermont
Ranked #455 of 9,980 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central L.A
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A little slice of heaven in Hollywood! I was amazed at the food and service. I will absolutely be coming back next time I visit Los Angeles!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Variety of tasty Italian fare at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Il Capriccio is a charming Italian restaurant close to downtown Los Angeles, near West Hollywood. If you're anywhere near downtown, this is a stop worth your while. Parking is rare at that section of Vermont. We were almost late, so we went to the nearby valet. Including charming patio seating, it could probably hold 60 at the busiest times, such as Friday or Saturday night. 2 brother were seating people; they were possibly the owners or managers. We had a party of 10 with reservations at 6:30PM Friday. Some of us were tied up by the heavy traffic, but the restaurant handled us well, serving the early comers beverages and bread. The menu had many great-looking choices. Our party ordered salmon, shrimp-spinach salad, papardelle bolognese, and New York steak, among others. The steak was ordered rare but served medium, although very tender and tasty; best to alert the waiter when doneness is important. The salad, fish, and papardelle were declared enjoyable. When the place is full, or nearly so, there's a din of conversation, so don't eat there if you need intimate conversation. We had a 12-month-old who cried and fussed at times, but it wasn't noticed by other customers. It's more of an atmosphere for a celebration, which was our purpose. One guest ordered cannoli and said it was outstanding; she at every bit of it. The true Italian dishes have an authentic flair, attractively plated and wonderfully flavored. We're still talking about it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllenaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
1 review
“Well done, indeed”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We (table of four) ordered a steak, lamb chops, pasta, a salad and both squid appetizers and everything was just right.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, California
1 review
“Special Birthday night”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I brought my boyfriend for his birthday. Made reservations and the guy (soo rude) at first didnt know where to sit us in this not so crowded restuarant .. so why did I make reservations? Unfortunately when seated it felt like everyone is cramped on top of eachother and theres only ONE small walkway to get anywhere. We started with the seafood salad appetizer and it claimed to have shrimp in it which sold me on the platter but we only found 1 piece in it.. then i bit into something which i thought was a mussel but it tasted like nothing but POOP. Needless to say but i stopped eating that platter have three bites. What a waste! My boyfriend liked the lasange and i enjoyed the steak although it took very long to get our food and i watched others get their food who came in after us and ordered close to the same plates. Most likely will never return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boyRagdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for a lazy lunch!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We enjoyed a relaxing late lunch at Il Capriccio. We tried to Checca and Antonio pastas..both were fantastic. The bread was fresh and the wines were great!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kirstenkrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Capriccio on Vermont also viewed

 

Been to Il Capriccio on Vermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing