We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic dive!”
Review of Coles

Coles
Ranked #186 of 10,091 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Classic dive!”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We are not drinkers, but we recently moved into downtown, knew this place was famous, and decided to experience it as a restaurant, not for the bar scene. We have been several times and it's very good for a slightly different twist on sandwich-type fair. To me, the french-dip was boring but my wife loves it. I prefer the pork and pastrami. The cole slaw side is ridiculousy priced, but once you taste it, you forget the cost. The salads and deserts are nothing special, walk over to Artisan House or Big Man Bakes for dessert after. The waiters are warm and sincere. Not gourmet, just solid and consistently good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Familyof5in5states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    49
    21
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Classic sandwich!”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I enjoyed the "big dipper" French dip sandwich with their special mustard and a spicy pickle and an IPA beer. It's a unique atmosphere which consists of original white tile floor, red leather booths,and dark wood paneling. It's a remnant of pre-WWII LA.

The only downside is that you need a token for use of the restroom, which can be a little disconcerting if you're in a hurry!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldtravelerMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Drinks THEN food”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Sandwiches are good. Atmosphere is way better than Philippe down the street, but if you're looking for the best beef dip that's where I would go (Philippe's, that is)... I usually go for the drinks and stay for the food...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Garrett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

this is a wonderful old bar however it has been taken over by the young and trendy. If not drinking at happy hour, the beers are expensive compared to other bars. Food was uninteresting and overpriced.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lpovolny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coles”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Overpriced possers bar go to the King Eddy Saloon its less than half price and you meet real people and bartenders not actors waiting to be never discovered

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tonynothappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coles also viewed

 

Been to Coles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing