We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All About The View”
Review of Yamashiro

Yamashiro
Reserve with OpenTable
Yamashiro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 10,042 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Franklin Avenue
Transit: Metro Red Line to Hollywood & Highland. Walk west down Hollywood Blvd turn right on Orange and cross at the light on Franklin. Once you cross at the light go left and turn right at sycamore going up the hill. It is a very steep hill so walking in dress shoes or in the dark are not recommended. We suggest calling a cab at the bottom of the hill.
Description: Yamashiro - translated to "mountain palace" - broke ground in 1911 and was completed in 1914 as a residence for the Bernheimer brothers. Housing a priceless collection of Asian treasures, the building was designed as a replica of a palace located in the mountains near Kyoto, Japan. During the "Golden Age" of Hollywood, Yamashiro served as the ultra-exclusive hang-out for the "Club of the Four Hundred": the era's most famous and influential stars and movie moguls. The structure and its grounds served as a boy's military school and later apartments before being acquired in 1948 by the Thomas O. Glover, who discovered the beauty beneath the disrepair and refurbished the space. Currently owned by Thomas Y. Glover, Yamashiro is still flourishing over 60 years later as an Asian-inspired Los Angeles institution.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“All About The View”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

this place is perched above Hollywood Blvd and offers incredible views of the LA basin. It's got a very cute pagoda vibe with lovely gardens too. I prefer the bar over the dining room though. It's a better experience for the price.

Helpful?
Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for the enthusiastic review. The lounge is a great place for a relaxing dinner while taking in the spectacular view of LA. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    217
    94
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No no no total disappointment”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

After hearing wonderful things about this restaurant I was really let down. I hosted a group there for a private business event. The sushi appetizers at our reception were awful and the fish smelled horrible. When it was time for our dinner, we prearranged what we thought would be an elegant buffet ( I realize that is a contradiction because I hate buffets too.) regardless, the jasmine rice might have been the only thing that didn't totally suck. Offering a chicken dish seemed reasonable but it was dark meat on the bone! With avocado mush surrounding it. Some slices of breast but really weird. Closed my eyes and I could have been in a Golden Corral seriously. The steak offering was way overdone and generally bad as well. After the disappointment with the dinner I had really hoped for a decent dessert to make up for the mess of a buffet. Nope. They actually brought out cookies that were still cold like out of the freezer! The chocolate dessert tasted like it had the smell of a dirty refrigerator ( prepared early and sitting uncovered in a fridge). Really? With all the great places in LA... Skip this one for sure.

Helpful?
Thank FloridaFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We're sorry to hear about your experience and would like to learn more about your event in order to improve our restaurant. Please send your thoughts to John at johnb @ yamashiro.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Romantic”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Yamashiro has a special place in my heart! It is where my husband and I had our first date about 32 years ago. I had never been there before, but I had heard it had a great view, and we both loved that. You wouldn't believe the panoramic view of the city! It's just beautiful, and very romantic. When you go, be sure to wait for a table by a window. We try to go back every time we visit L.A. We always order sushi, which was very good. The menu offers a variety of choices -- something for everyone. If you like to drink, this is the place for you, with their extensive wine list and drink offerings. If you want a romantic evening with your special love, this is definitely the place to go. Just bring your wallet, as it is pricey, but it's worth it for the view!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birdie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello,
We love to read about our guests' touching memories associated with Yamashiro. Thank you for sharing, as well as for visiting every time you and your husband are in LA. May we ask what it might take to get a fifth star? ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Amazing food along with a great view! We were lucky enough to get a seat right by the window, and coming from Magic Castle Hotel meant we even had a free shuttle up there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi Karen,

Thank you for visiting Yamashiro during your trip to LA. Isn't the partnership between Magic Castle and Yamashiro a great thing?! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view, but not authentic Japanese food”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Great view as on top of a hill, particularly convenient if you are staying at magic castle hotel since e restaurant is right behind it. The food was only ok though, not particularly authentic, I would not go back there again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JennyToole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Jenny,
Thank you for visiting Yamashiro while staying at Magic Castle. We're sorry to hear that you were misled, as our Asian-inspired Californian cuisine is not advertised as authentic Japanese and does not aspire to be. I do hope you were able to appreciate our unique fare, though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yamashiro also viewed

 

Been to Yamashiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing