We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated but casual”
Review of Tanino

Tanino
Reserve with OpenTable
Tanino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,916 of 10,091 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Westside
Cross street: Weyburn/ Kinross
marina del rey, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sophisticated but casual”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

You can always expect a warm welcome from this upscale Westwood restaurant
and the food and service are excellent. It's our favorite West Side pre theater and pre-concert restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IraT149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“**SOLID ITALIAN RESTAURANT IN WESTWOOD**”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

PARKING
========
Street or garage.

AMBIANCE
=========
Charming, old Italian-style.
Designed based on the architecture of Florence, the Pitti Palace.

FOOD
======
BURRATA E SPECK - $17.50
Mozzarella cheese with smoked Italian prosciutto and roasted bell peppers was very good. I thought it was a bit on the bland side. Needed a bit more salt. Generous portion. Good to share with a table.
RATING: 3.5/5

GNOCCHI VERDI AL RAGU DI VITELLO - $19.50
Spinach potato dumplings in a veal ragu was solid. The ragu sauce was tasty, made perfectly. I ate every single dumpling and experienced a carb overdose (sleepiness ensued).
RATING: 4/5

TIRAMISIU - $9.50
Light and flavorful. Prefer a bit more pow.
RATING: 3/5

BEVERAGE
==========
Their house cabernet was also solid.
RATING: 4/5

SERVICE
========
Attentive, not stuffy and not overly friendly.

If you need your Italian fix in Westwood, this is the place to go.

RECOMMEND for group lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, California
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food but not great”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The entrees were quite expensive so we ordered pasta. Spinach ravioli and papardelle were both good. Baby mixed greens were the only reasonably priced salad and they were tasty. Perhaps our expectations were high as this restaurant was warmly recommended. We did have a nice quiet table away from the bar and loud music. Service was very good and the setting was certainly lovely. Holiday decorations really added to the festive atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goletagone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Top prices for poor food at Taninos.”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our party of five were all disappointed with the food.The total was close to $350.00 which was about $150.00 more than one would expect for the quality and the number of dishes we ordered.This was the first time I had been to Taninos, and it will be the last. We should have gone to Palomino's around the corner which has never disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank broadwood24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Dine Near Geffen Playhouse”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Having tickets for a performance at the Geffen Playhouse in Westwood and not being local, we did a search on tripadvisor and decided to book based on the reviews. The recommendations on this web site were correct. The food was excellent, the room handsome and the service was professional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edgemont2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tanino also viewed

 

Been to Tanino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing