We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved !”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Front of house
One third garden. Beat your way through the brush to see a village gazebo, a pond, a vege garden +++
Your space relative to my space. (I live above) Your private table.
No, I'm not renting an apartment in the Capitol Records building. The place is behind it in the hills
Kitchen is small but you can cook a full meal here.
Patio with 1920's Barbeque--Shared area.
The ideal location. Close to everything.
Grounds
Halfway through the garden. Please have a seat
And contemplate the view
All the way back to the pond. Relax here.
Many more surprises when you explore the garden
Buddha contemplating the garden
Shiva contemplating the garden
Garden detail
Back of house
The house from the Garden. I live upstairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Los Angeles, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maria C
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved !”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I absolutely loved this place! It was quiet, comfortable and charming. Nestled in trees with bohemian touches everywhere and close to everything.
The place itself was decorated so beautifully and it had everything I needed.
Yvonne , was so accommodating and left a detailed list of instructions with everything I needed to know for my stay. She actually asked me into her house for dinner which I did and had a great time with her and some of her friends.( I definitely feel like I made a new friend in Cali)
Coming from NYC it was definitely the California experience I was looking for .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
It was great having you. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay. You and your children were delightful to have. Do you come back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edna_88
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable stay in an apartment with charm and character!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment was clean, well kept and comfortable. It is located in a very quiet neighborhood with easy access to Hwy 101, Hollywood Boulevard, Sunset Boulevard and many other hot spots in Los Angeles. We drove to most places, but public transportation is available and you can walk to some markets and restaurants. The owner Yvonne leaves a map in the apartment to help familiarize guests with the area. It's a place with loads of character and a beautiful garden in the back...a charming place to rest and relax from exploring Los Angeles. There is a small kitchenette with a mini fridge. We did not cook, just stored water/drinks in the fridge, had snacks/fruits and just made hot water for our coffee. There is a TV and Yvonne offers free Wifi (thanks for that). This apartment is well suited for those travelers on a budget and those looking to stay in a central location. Thank you Yvonne, we enjoyed hanging out with you and sharing that delicious bottle of wine. It was fun looking at all the lovely jewelry you make. I have had many compliments on my necklace (If you love jewelry check out Yvonne's hand made jewelry...she has some cool pieces.) We had a relaxing stay, like staying at a friends house. We had a fun time in Los Angeles. Thanks Yvonne. All the best Edna and David

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great Hostess. Apartment is comfortable and charming. Central location. Great for travelers on a budget.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you return because I really enjoyed having you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Funky place so close to everything”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed the for 6 nights at this unusual place. Our hosts were so friendly and the gardens were good for al fresno dining and boozing. Bohemian style accommodation that draws back to the 1920s - 1940s the old kitchen was small but provided enough equipment for basic cooking. The bed was really comfortable.This place is a great price considering its in a lovely gardened area in the heart of hollywood. 5 minute drive to universal studios and a 15 min walk to famous hollywood boulevard. The holly wood bowl is also in close vicinity. Great place for the price!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and price
Liked least: Uncomfortable couch and tv in wrong position (would have been nice to watch it in bed)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Glad you enjoyed yourselves. I'm always very happy when guests use the garden and enjoy everything there is to enjoy here. Do you come back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeeFromMe...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bohemian and romantic little apartment!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely little apartment decked out with eclectic, Bohemian furniture and a large, very comfortable bed. The bathroom and kitchen facilities are small but we found everything we used very functional (great flow of hot water)! The apartment is not posh but it's pretty and clean. We had a great two-night stay and will be moving on with fond memories. 15 minute relaxed walk to Hollywood Boulevard where Grauman's Chinese Theater, the Roosevelt Hotel, the Hollywood Walk of Fame and the Dolby (formerly Kodak) Theater all are. Fab wi-fi connection so you can look up everywhere you want to go with ease. Also Yvonne is very sweet - all smiles and friendly advice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2013
Thanks so much for all the lovely things you said. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmoo3180
Sebastopol, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Hollywood Meets Morocco”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed (myself and a friend) at this charming downstairs studio (bed plus sleeper) apartment for 3 nights. If you like old Hollywood bungalows, this is your place! Decor is a mix of Moroccan color (cool!) and great vintage. Tiny kitchen (with a very cool vintage gas stove) and bathroom, but great outdoor space attached, so it did not feel like we were on top of each other. The studio was clean and has just the right utensils, etc. Do remember that this is a vacation rental, not a hotel, so stop for supplies at the nearby Trader Joe's. Don't forget the toilet paper and paper towels (if you are going to take advantage of the cute little kitchen!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Funky charm and great Hollywood location
Liked least: Street noise on trash day
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2013
Glad you enjoyed yourself. I absolutely LOVED having you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang4...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Great Hollywood Location for affordable price”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This was a nice 2 day rental for us. We booked online and got great communication from the owner. She was very nice, very reasonable and provided us with reliable info about the property and area. We loved using Paypal to pay and we got our damage deposit refunded promptly.

We loved the Location! We had never been to LA so didn't know what to expect. We found the neighborhood to be quiet and safe. We walked with our teenage son and daughter to and from hollywood boulevard several times including at night and had no problems.

The room was small but functional. Kitchen was clean and had everything we needed. We used the pots, plates, cups and small coffee press. Bathroom had a pretty small shower but it got the job done! Nice TV and cable channels. Great wi-fi connection.

The main bed was clean and comfortable. Quiet at night. The pull out sofa bed is, well, a pull out sofa bed. I don't like them so I can't recommend it for adults. If your kids are OK with it then this room works for 4.

This room is not a polished luxury room, I would recommend it for travelers who understand that studios in older homes can have a few rough edges that you have to live with. Having said that, this place also has beautiful elements that make it relaxing and fun.

Liked Best: Location and Value
Liked Least: small shower and bathroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and value
Liked least: small bathroom and shower
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing