We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative delicious food in cool space”
Review of Salt Air

Salt Air
Ranked #354 of 10,091 Restaurants in Los Angeles
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Venice
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Creative delicious food in cool space”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Salt Air is a small restaurant in a visually cool white space with tables separated enough to feel comfortable. The food was creative and delicious. I had a butternut squash soup with popcorn and crème fraiche that was intriguing and wonderful. The waiter was extremely friendly and informative.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank napoli96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    42
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, nice environment”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We sat at the bar and had a veggie burger and the grilled brussels sprouts. Terrific. My friend enjoyed her salad…said, "it is just what I needed." Great place to talk -- quiet enough to understand what people are saying but busy enough to know that your next door neighbor can't eavesdrop.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I like everything about this place. It's on the coolest street in LA; Abbot-Kinney, near a couple of my other LA favorites. The vibe in the room is comfortable, light and modern. And the food is really good. I had the bouillabaisse, which had a wonderful, flavorful broth, which I suspect had a stick of butter melted into it, and rather than a small piece of toasted bread floating on the soup, there were to big pieces of great toasted bread sticking into the bowl. The house salad was just right and the salmon that was poached in olive oil was described as "perfect". The only miss was the pear and rhubarb tart, which had a few slivers of fruit in a tasteless crust. All things considered, though, a great meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Every single dish I tasted was exquisite”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Beautiful atmosphere, open space - enough room between each table that you keep your conversations to your self. The name fits perfectly to the place and the food is outstanding. I generally love mussels, but most of the time you get them served in white whine sauce with or without creme fraiche. These mussels were served in a coconut curry soup which was so spicy in a good way that I could have drank the whole bowl until the last drop. Fish chips were extraordinary as well as the desert: Brown sugar bruleed figs on angel cake and whipped cream - we ate everything until the last crumb. Havenly good! FYI: Fine wine selection by the way. We had a wonderful evening and they will for sure see us again - thanks to our very friendly charming warmhearted waitress!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Energyseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
640 reviews
430 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Okay courses. Crummy servers. No cocktails.”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We came here because the Tasting Kitchen was packed, wish we had just waited. I think this restaurant is missing something to make it special. The steak and seafood weren't bad, but the wine I ordered didn’t taste that great and didn't really compliment anything. It also felt like a light pour. The floors were bare concrete and the chairs felt like plastic so the ambiance wasn’t anything amazing – crowded and very noisy. The service was only okay, our server was slightly rude and other servers and bus boys ran into my elbow 5-6 times cause we were crammed in by in by the kitchen entrance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kipp7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Air also viewed

 

Been to Salt Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing