We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ventura' Finest!”
Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Ranked #2,136 of 9,980 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: US$10 - US$10
Cuisines: Indian
Neighbourhood: South San Fernando Valley
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: South San Fernando Valley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Ventura' Finest!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Coming from the UK, it was a very welcomed suprise to find a cracking indian restaurant on Ventura. Fairly long walk down to the restaurant from our hotel, so a great chance to work up an appetite. It really was worth it. Arrived at the mini retail/restaurant estate just set back from the road and really didn't know what to expect.
Once through the doors, we were welcomed and given a booth just to the right. A genuine welcome, plenty of eye contact, smiles and time given to the customer. Straight away, we noticed the vibe of the place, large group in the centre, couples dotted about the main room and on the whole a very jovial feeling. Now, onto the food. Just outstanding! Nothing was too much trouble from these guys. Ordered up a large Kingfisher and an orange juice, keema naan which was heaving and full! Chicken and lamb dishes, saag aloo, boiled rice and it all arrived promptly, piping hot, and with a smile to boot!
Cracking value and seriously worth considering if your in the area in need of an indian fix!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank domidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian in LA”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We hire a sitter on Saturday nights and my husband and I will go here a lot for our date night. The menu is huge – we’re just working our way through it. We always start with an order of Samosas – so delicious! And the dipping sauces are really a perfect compliment. The last time we went we split the Lamb Tikka, the Saag Paneer and the Mushroom Matar. They were all really tasty. The homemade cheese cubes in the Saag Paneer were outrageously good, while the lamb was very tender and the sauce on the Mushroom Matar was just perfectly balanced. We always get the garlic naan, and for dessert – the sweet and creamy riata cannot be beat! Don’t let the faded exterior fool you – this place is 1 in a million.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanAndBobBurnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a favorite”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This Indian restaurant in Sherman Oaks is consistently high quality and reasonable prices. We've been eating there for years.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fotodaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All Over
Level Contributor
196 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Fantastic”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This place looks shady from the outside, but nicer inside. The decor won;t knock your socks off, but the food will. Wow was this place incredibly delicious! Naan, tandoori, tikki, samosa - it was all so tasty. You must try it. Very filling so go hungry and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Indian cuisine in Los Angeles”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

It may be a bold statement, but I would go as far as saying it is the best Indian restaurant I've experienced in any city or country. Incredible nan, and rich, textures layers of curry, with both chicken and various meats tender and smoked in the wood fired tandoori oven. Usually not very busy, which is a surprise to me, since the food is just superb. Worth a visit if you love and appreciate the intricacies of Indian food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Radius360la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing