We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation in CA”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Vega

Casa Vega
Ranked #661 of 9,895 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Universal City Area
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Vacation in CA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

If you are in the LA area in the future, have a margarita and dinner at Casa Vega. It is frequented by locals, young career folks and celebrities alike. The common denominator, the food and drink!! A reservation is often a good thing, unless you know the waiter/hostess. Fortunately one of our party did! Skinny margaritas all around!! The apps were yummy (guac and flour fried chips as well as the house salsa and chips) and another round! Soups good, hot and ample as well as the house salads. The seafood burrito was a bit fishy and mushy but the huge taco salad with chicken and the burrito dinners were great. In fact there were leftovers. Not an inexpensive evening but for 5 adults, it was under $300. Keep your eyes peeled, you never know if there will be a Hollywood sighting!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    58
    34
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, But Be Prepared to Wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

To celebrate his birthday, my husband wanted to have dinner at Casa Vega. So we used this as an excuse to fly from DC to enjoy an extended weekend in LA. Fly 3,000 miles for dinner? Yes, it's that good.

The food is out of this world. And each time we visit the LA area, we have to have dinner at this place. I love the fajitas and cheese quesadillas, and he loves the chili rellenos and cheese enchiladas. The tortilla chips and salsa are awesome, but be careful not to fill up on them while you wait for your entrees because the portions are huge. Each time we've visited, the service has been a bit sub-par, but considering the volume they contend with during the dinner rush, I guess I can't complain too much.

My only complaint is the wait to be seated. Granted, this most recent visit to Casa Vega was on a Saturday night at 6:30pm. But a 2 hour wait is absurd, great food or not. But seeing as we flew from DC to enjoy a meal there, we were committed. And no, they don't accept reservations.

Would we return? Heck yeah. Would we recommend this place? Sure, anytime other than a weekend night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMichaelz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarzana ca.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A BIT DISAPPOINTING”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is the breakdown. The restaurant is very dark inside, From the moment we sat at our table it took a good ten minutes for the waiter to acknowledge us. Don't really know why it was a Monday night and it wasn't busy at all.
The drinks were delicious, had their skinny margarita....maybe the best I've ever had :)
Salsa is too spicy and food was disappointing.
All in all would not return and don't recommend :(

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerensh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Part of the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I grew up in Studio City and went to school at St. Francis de Sales and Notre Dame there in Sherman Oaks. My family and I have been going to Casa Vega since I was a little boy in the 1970s. I know live in Dallas, Texas and always take the opportunity to swing by when in LA visiting family. I find it sorta funny now it's become a Hollywood hotspot of sorts, but the food is still fantastic. Prepare to wait on busy nights, but it's well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank parkoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Valley classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A great vibe and great mexian food with killer margaritas. Waiters are old school and keep the food and appetizers coming. Be prepared to take a cab home!


Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Vega also viewed

 

Been to Casa Vega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing