We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hollywood City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollywood City Inn
Ranked #125 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We are having a great time in this motel. We struggled to find eating locations at first...but have just found Panda Express, Denny s a short walk away. Also mcdonalds, Burger King, starbuck's close by. Large supper market within walking distance and metro really close. There is a ross clothing store similar to tjmax's in the uk. Although there are only 4 sun loungers I have always managed to grab one at2pm in the afternoon, pool is a good size for such a small motel. Breakfast is good and can sit by the pool. Very pleased..at first our room seemed dull on the ground floor under a staircase but it has worked out just fine for the 4 nights we have here. Great cleaning...very friendly housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diswix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stumbled across this little motel just off Hollywood blvd it's a great location to walk everywhere it's newly decorated and has a lovely pool the staff were really lovely my cc didn't want yo work on check in and they were fine with me still checking in and sorting it once on wifi which was free as was the parking.

I would recommend anyone to stay here it's clean , fresh and convenient and it felt well loved

Room Tip: There's only two floors we experienced no noise at all we were ground floor and considering the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jules C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My stay at Hollywood City Inn was pretty average. The rooms are clean, even though I would appreciate less bugs flying around (but the room I was in was right beside the back garden, so it's a little understandable). During the day, the staff at reception are really nice, and they're extremely eager to show you all the places that you should visit around the area. The guy at reception even gave me a discounted pass for the hop on, hop off tour simply because he had one lying around. Since I woke up early the next day, I decided to walk all the way to Hollywood Boulevard. Being used to walking everywhere in London, I did not realise that it would take me almost an hour to get there! So, tip: don't walk to Hollywood Boulevard (even though it looks close on the map at reception) unless you don't mind the blazing LA sun. When I got back to the hotel, my key wasn't working, so I had to get reception to help me out. Would have been nice if the evening reception guy didn't glare at me for disturbing his night. Other than that, the trip was alright.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor can get quite loud, especially when there are people playing by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronnietsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

stayed august 13th to 18th. well located and close to the interesting scenes at Hollywood.its a budget hotel so my expectations were met. Ash at the reception was super friendly and nice. cant say the same for the others...rooms need to be properly fumigated. its mostly musty and can do without the roaches. breakfast is quite bare but there were loads of food joints around..

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kunle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Our family of 4 adults had an awesome stay at Hollywood City Inn Hotel California in June this year. It is centrally located near the tourist attractions with reasonable price. We paid USD352 net for a quad room for 3 nights which include a complimentary Continental breakfast each morning including donuts, croissants, cereals, milk, juice, coffee, tea and banana. Guestrooms are equipped with cable TV, complimentary wireless Internet access, in addition to microwave oven and refrigerator. It also provides an outdoor swimming pool. The rooms were cleaned and clean bath towels were provided daily.
Hotel is located in the center of downtown Hollywood about 10 minutes walking distance to Hollywood Walk of Fame, about a mile from Sunset Strip and four miles from Universal Studios. There is a train station at the junction across the road one minute walk away from the hotel. A convenient store and a supermarket are just next to the hotel. A shopping mall with another larger supermarket is 5 minutes away from Hotel. There are a few eateries including one that serve halal meals are across the road. With a Metro day pass, which provides unlimited rides for public buses and train, we managed to travel to Universal Studios. Paramount Studios, Sunset strip, Rodeo Drive, Beverly Hills, The Grove at Farmers Market and Santa Monica with ease. Price of the day pass is USD5 per day.
This hotel is highly recommended and we will definitely stay here again should we return to Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Ground floor pool facing is abit noisy in the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Hasnah1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed 21-24 July, so ok it was at the east end of Hollywood Blvd, walking was ok during the day. For an excellent budget location was good, pool was clean (well used heaps of people/families there), rooms were cleaned exceptionally well by staff. All staff friendly, helpful and informative especially Tim and Ash. Close to bus/train routes. I loved the donuts/breakie. Like the rest of USA (except for a coffee shop in Oakland San Francisco and in some of the hotels that had that little slide in pouch coffee maker) the coffee wasn't that good. I will definitively stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mary v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

It's really well located, but rooms are filthy and the breakfast is poor. It's surrounded by fast food chains and gasoline stations. Close to the freeway. Parking lot has small spots for the cars. I recommend for really low budget travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilherme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#119 of 358 in Los Angeles
724 reviews
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#198 of 358 in Los Angeles
591 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#58 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,028 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#142 of 358 in Los Angeles
453 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood City Inn

Address: 1615 N Western Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-4807
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £83 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood City Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood City Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing