We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great location”
Review of Hollywood City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood City Inn
Ranked #109 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great location”
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights, and it was great accomadation at a cheap price. Location was good - approx 30min walk to the Walk Of Fame, Hoolywood sign easily seen also. Room was big and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gav1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    294
    204
    43
    36
See reviews for
159
252
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We were only spending a couple of nights in LA and wanted somewhere in a good location to make the most of the time we had. We were also working to a budget, and this was the only hotel we could find in the area within our price range that didn't sound too horrific.
I wasn't entirely sure what to expect, and the front desk didn't inspire much confidence. It was rather bleak, and it seemed that we were an inconvenience to the lady at reception. Once we checked in, we made our way to the room, prepared for the worse. We needn't have worried. The room was large and clean, with plenty of storage area and a decent bathroom (although the toilet seemed to have a mind of its own when it comes to flushing!). We made use of the pool area once or twice, which was quite pleasant.
The area felt safe enough, and was right next to the subway which made getting around a piece of cake. We got a code to use the internet, which wasn't all that speedy, but sufficient for e-mailing.
Breakfast was included, if rather limited, but I didn't expect much more for the money.
All-in-all, the grumpy staff aside, I'd definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in Hollywood working to a budget.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Lebowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

After reading several reviews commending the Hollywood City Inn, we decided to stay there during a one niter visit to LA to see a Dodger game. Checking in was smooth, the desk mgr was courteous and the room was clean, although slightly worn. There is a pool, which we didn't use and it appeared clean. There is a U-shaped building around the pool and a seperate 2-story rectangular building with parking around it - this is were our room was. When we returned from the game, we took a shower, watched tv a bit and turned in around 12:30. There was only 1 lamp in our room, in a corner, that you had to get out of bed to turn on or off. At this time I heard someone in the room above us walking around. I could hear every footsep as the floor/ceiling creaked. Also, when they flushed the toilet above, you could hear the water rushing thru the drain in our bathroom wall. About 2:30 am I was awoken by footsteps above me...about 10-12 trips back and forth and about 6 flushes of the toilet!! Also, a couple men having a brief conversation in the hallway outside my room...sounded like they were in our room!! About 5:30 am, more footsteps from above and more toilet flushing.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jimdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

For the money that I paid, I cant complain about this hotel. I had free WiFi, the pool was cool. Breakfast was a non-event but I knew that before I booked and I didn't want sugary - fatty donuts or pastries so I got my own from outside. If you like fatty things then you'll be OK. There's a Mexican across the road to the right that opens at 8 every day and that's very reasonable for a hot breakfast that was relatively healthy. I liked the flatscreen TV that I turned into a 32" computer monitor for my mac laptop. Nice. Location-wise there's free parking and you're only about 15 -20 minutes drive from most places and a few minutes drive from many of the freeways/motorways. I'd stay here again on my next visit as there's nothing negative to report other than two small insects in the room and the toilet filler making a little too much noise but that could happen anywhere and remember this is a two star establishment. It's in a neighborhood which seems safe which is really important. My room and bathroom was huge.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OSXXYYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

My wife and I have stayed in many hotels but the price you pay for the Hollywood City Inn, it is perfect given location. I am not sure why you would want to pay mega $$$ for a hotel unless you plan to stay in it most of the time. We found our room to be a nice size, clean and the maids cleaned every day.

The guy at the help desk was very helpful and friendly, he helped us with buses etc. Free internet at the help desk. Continental breakfast - danish's, very sugary cereals, tea / coffee etc. We did not use the pool but it looked clean.

You can either bus or walk to the main attractions (i.e chinese theatre) however we chose to walk - would probably be 6ish blocks or a 15 minute walk. All the restaurants are in this area and we caught a cab 1 night and it cost about $15. If you like modern Japanese food, I would highly recommend the Geisha House. We also caught a cab to the Viper Room and Rainbow Bar and it cost about $20 one way.

I caught a bus to the Getty one day which is relatively easy to do (2 connections - 40 minutes) and my wife caught a bus to the Market. My wife did the dearly departed tour and highly recommends it.

The area is fine although it is a big city and like ALL big cities, I would not recommend walking too far at night time if you dont know the area, we found it fine although can't say we walked too much at night time because we were tired from day time activities.

As other writers have said, it is right on the cusp of Thai Town and the curries there are top quality (also, places like Burger King are in the area too). There is an authentic mexican restaurant across the road which was nice.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beau_and_Monique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camberley
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Stayed here end of April and again in May 2009 no problems at all. metro close on corner of hollywood blvd 3$ and 3 stops to chinese theater, supermarket on the corner. Rooms ok microwave ,fridge, flat screen tv,The man on the day shift front desk was very helpful. If you want to eat close by there are a number of places close by on Sunset Blvd turn right out of hotel and second right onto the Blvd Dennys about 400 mtres along on the right. All in all an OK place.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lofty42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Not sure why some folks have issues with this place? It's in a normal neighborhood (it's LA folks.), close to freeways, Hollywood Blvd, ralph's/walgreens/Food 4 Less (buy your alcohol here), and a ton of crazy nightclubs and Thai restaurants. There's free parking, free wifi in your room, and a swimming pool.

We were greeted with a clean, simple room. The bathroom looked newly renovated, tiles and everything. Be prepared to walk 300 ft to Walgreen's if you forgot your soap, they are lacking that here; the store is open 24 hours in case you arrive in the middle of the night and want to smell good. The room also comes with a mediocre tv, microwave, and fridge (store alcohol here).

A the best value if you don't mind listening to Frenchies sunbathe and smoke cigs all day :)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NinaBelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#117 of 351 in Los Angeles
633 reviews
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#190 of 351 in Los Angeles
581 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Quality Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#161 of 351 in Los Angeles
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood City Inn

Property: Hollywood City Inn
Address: 1615 N Western Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-4807
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood City Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood City Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing