We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view but not boutique....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
U.K.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful view but not boutique....”
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Obviously, I don't need to inform anyone of this VOTB's obviously spectacular location.
It is literally a stone's throw from the beach....amazing.

However, it is certainly nothing of the boutique hotel it claims so enthusiastically to be.
With it's sparsely scattered breakfast (packaged pastries - eugh - and bitter coffee with powdered milks....) on a narrow table next to the ageing computer facility, it doesn't even really qualify as a B&B.

We popped down to the cafe on the main corner of Venice for a coffee and a bagel.
At only a few dollars each, it was worth the small commute along the sand!

The room we had was pleasant enough...
Fully equipped with a microwave, fridge, iron and large plasma t.v.
Bed was reasonably though not extraordinarily comfortable and when I wanted a few pillows, I couldn't find the manager (for an entire day....) to ask.

Some people have mentioned the lack of sound insulation.
We found waking at 5 a.m. to the sound of quacking ducks on the street bemusing, but that was probably our jet-lag.
Less bemusing was the sound of people, nattering in the hallways or the next room.
It gave off a distinctly hostel-ish feel.

The roof terrace could have been amazing.
The view certainly was.
But the faded, bristly, astro-turf floor and total lack of charm was odd.
It felt more like a roof-top putting green.

Greg the manager was rarely to be found, and we felt brushed aside and something of a problem even when attempting to make pleasantries.

So bad was it that we had planned to stay again the next week, but checked out silently the next day and booked somewhere else.

Stay for the view, not the boutique treatment!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurora_mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    196
    43
    17
    24
See reviews for
68
277
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed at Venice on the Beach in March 2009 and have only got round to writing our review now! We were on a road trip from San Francisco to San Diego (which we would highly recommend in itself) and stayed in Venice for 2 nights. We promised Greg, the friendly manager, that we would add an honest review so I guess this is better late than never! We had a great time; we were in a really pretty, lovely room overlooking the beach and found the location to be fantastic and much safer than we thought it may have been. There were a good few bars and restaurants in a nice square just a couple of minutes walk away where we had a particularly good Cuban meal and a great Mexican. For the price of the room we couldn't fault it, especially as many of the hotels in LA are very expensive compared to other parts of California. Greg was extremely hospitable and even printed out a road map for us when we headed off to San Diego in order to miss some of the horrendous traffic that LA is famous for. If we ever visit again, we would not hesitate to book into Venice on the Beach Hotel and would certainly recommend it for those who are looking for a budget-friendly but comfortable place to stay in the middle of the fun and action of Venice Beach.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knottsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Venice on the Beach is a wonderful hotel situated in a perfect area. We loved our stay in Los Angeles so much and a lot has to do with the wonderfulness that was the Venice on the Beach Hotel and its manager Greg. Greg was so helpful, always ready to answer any of our questions and was just a really friendly guy - he made us feel so welcome. Venice on the Beach is literally located on the beach which is awesome and is situated in the nice area of Venice. When we booked it we were a little sceptical in that by staying in Venice we thought we may not be in the "heart of it all", however once we travelled to the where all the "action" is, Hollywood etc we were SO glad that we had chosen Venice as our area to call home. It was nice to be able to drive into the crazyness and awesomeness that is Hollywood and Beverley Hills etc but it was so refreshing knowing that we could go back to peace and quiet each night in Venice. We travelled all over LA including, Beverley Hills, Hollywood, Santa Monica, Anaheim, Laguna Beach, Redondo Beach, Newport, Malibu, Calabasas etc and loved every moment of our holiday and we also suggest that you hire a car if you want to visit as much as you can in LA! Would recommend Venice on the Beach Hotel to anyone and everyone, it is perfect!! Will stay here again :). Also our rooms were perfect. Perfectly maintained, elegant and cosy. The beds were the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on also!!!!! Free Wi-Fi is also a bonus oh and the free car-parking.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beqbeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Greg the manager left us 2 very nice notes as we arrived way too late, nevertheless the hotel is located directly at venice beach, we were unlucky to arrive late and leave very early in the morning, if you go there, be sure to take an ocean view room and enjoy the ocean.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank funkysoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Had booked throughExpedia to stay one night at the Hotel. When we got there we were asked if Expedia had got in touch with us as we we re being moved to a sister hotel. We had not been contacted. The other hotel when we got there was in a less desirable area of the beach, didn't feel safe, and there was no parking. We were told it would either be street parking or pay $20 for a patrolled car park. We cancelled our stay and found another Hotel. We felt that the Venice on the Beach has regular visitors and the we had been moved to accomodate them. Very angry at this as this part of the beach looked really good to stay at and it ruined Our first real night of the holiday. We have asked for a refund through expedia and wouldn't recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ed30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

This has to be one of the best hotel's I've ever stayed in. It was our third time to L.A, however our first time on Venice Beach...and it was FABULOUS.

Firstly, the manager, Greg, is extremely accommodating. He's constantly available for you [he even gives you his cell phone number so he can be reached at all times], and gave us a tour of the property the minute we got there. I work in the Travel Industry, and let me tell you...he's the definition of Hospitality.

The hotel cannot get any cuter. With a total of only 17 rooms, the hotel is very welcoming, charming and home-y. The rooms aren't fancy, but they are just what you need...a bed, t.v, and a washroom. The location is more than perfect...it's faces the ocean, right on the beach, which enables for a fantastic Pacific breeze at night time [keep in mind there is no air conditioning at this property, but it's not necessary...the ocean takes care of that].

Right by the hotel is Washington Blvd, where you'll find a number of restaurants, bars and shops. Be sure to try the garlic rolls at 'C & O Trattoria' right on Washington Blvd...to die for!

Another great feature: the hotel is within walking distance from Venice Beach's famous boardwalk, however still far enough to not be bothered by the constant activity from the boardwalk.

I plan to go back very soon. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on Venice Beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxiheartmtlxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Superb little boutique hotel, great location, clean and a very personal touch from Greg, the manager. No frills but a clean, safe bed for the night. No airconditioning which might prove a challenge in the summer months but if you get an upstairs room, you justleave the window open and let the Pacific breeze cool you down. (Downstairs too if you are brave, Greg assured me it was a safe area)

Would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#68 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#236 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice On The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice On The Beach Hotel

Property: Venice On The Beach Hotel
Address: 2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291-4311
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#81 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice On The Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased that you are considering the truly only Ocean Front Boutique Hotel in Venice California. Our Hotel is conveniently located between Santa Monica and Marina del Rey. We have Flat Screen TV, Refrigerators and Microwaves in each of our rooms. All the rooms are individual and well appointed with amenities that will always under promise and over deliver for you. Parking is very limited, we have a total of 8 parking spaces for guests to use, and they are done by reservation only. If there is no parking available, our front desk staff will be happy to assist you in finding free public parking in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Venice On The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venice On The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing