We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good dim sum”

CBS Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1,272 of 9,887 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central L.A
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
254 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Good dim sum”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

This is our first visit to CBS seafood. We went at lunch time and the place was packed yet we were seated within a few minutes. Almost immediately a cart was next to,our table with the lady offering us about six differnt items to choice from. The carts were moving at an average pace around the restaurant each with differnt items to select. The food was very good and reasonable priced. We had five items with final cost being $13 where can you get a very food lunch for two at this price. Despite some tof the other reviews our experience was very nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stay away.”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This restaurant, a former favorite, is really getting bad. The food is marginal and the quality is lacking. We were served dried out dumplings and sticky rice that tasted like just plain rice. That was when we could get served. The servers walked right past us three times - - I hope it wasn't because of our ethnicity- - and we finally had to yell across the restaurant to actually get anyone to serve us. The wait staff was just TERRIBLE. Attitude, awful service, and bad food. Never going here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamz-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Dimsum place in Downtown LA!”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This was my first time here, we arrived at noon on a Friday. Surprisingly, the place was already over halfway full.

What we ordered: pan seared dumplings, shrimp dumplings, bbq pork buns (siopao), pork spare ribs, shrimp rice noodle, beef rice noodle, crab balls (with claw attached), shumai, egg custard, mango pudding.

The dimsum is relatively cheap, with most dishes costing $2.10-$3.00 each. The crab balls were $9.50 (the most expensive item on the dimsum menu), but they were worth it (large portion size and yummy).

We made it back to our car in less than 40 minutes from arrival (which is pretty good for DTLA lunch time!).

The waiters were attentive in getting us more tea, and bring us whatever we asked for (red vinegar, ice water, etc.). The servers were also able to get us whatever we wanted (that wasn't on the cart) very quickly!

They also have a sort of express mini shop connected to it, where they have dim-sum and other chinese regular chinese food to go (peking duck, steamed chicken, etc.).

Glad to have found a new dimsum place close to work, we will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhishPhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bland...no memorable dish”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I go to dim sum in Chinatown because my coworkers can't make it out to San Gabriel valley and some never had dim sum outside of Chinatown. We decided to try CBS since our last attempt diverted us to Ocean seafood. At CBS, our waitress spoke English so that helps the non-Chinese speaking guests with ordering items off the limited menu. We were seated in the front section instead of the back larger banquet room where it seemed the local Asians sat and where the cart ladies hung out. We ordered typical fair, pan fried dumpling, har gow, shu mai, beef rice noodle, sesame ball, Chinese broccoli, turnip radish cake, cha siu bao, beancurd pork roll. Non of the dishes were outstanding, most were bland. They had a take out section so I recommend if you want to eat only your favorite dim sum, stand in the line and order from there, that way you don't waste time. We found metered parking since their parking was chaotic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sorrrento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
238 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“An overall good experience at CBS”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I came across CBS courtesy of Yelp. People rated this a 3.5 (out of 5), with this restaurant being the HIGHEST rated in Chinatown. With that said, though, I still enjoyed my dining experience here. It's basic dim sum fare: chicken feet, beef balls, shu-mai, etc. Service, as expected, isn't anything to write home about, but they managed adequately. Fortunately, they would always approach our table since I sat next to two non-Asians. Is CBS disappointing? Certainly not. It's a home run? Not that either, but it's a overall good restaurant. Plus, the location can't be beat with Olivera Street next door and the amazing temple-designed subway station.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CBS Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to CBS Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing