We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orange Drive Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty much faultless”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights just recently. The staff were OUTSTANDING. Very helpful, very friendly and they actually cared about your well being. Extremely professional staff. 10/10 for staff.

I stayed in a private room with a shared bathroom. The room was immaculate. It was a double bed (very comfy) it was very clean! There is plenty of space in room, I had plenty of space to put my luggage and hang my clothes. There was even a big set of draws. The toilets were always kept clean. Showers were clean.

The location is basically perfect. Nice quiet street (Off Hollywood Blvd) so there is barely any noise. And the Subway is literally a few hundred metres so VERY handy.

It's a bit of an "old" looking place inside, but that didn't phase me because it was clean and tidy. And besides, it's a hostel...not a 5 star hotel. This has to be by far the best value hostel out there. For what you get and the price, it's absolutely sensational. If I ever come to Hollywood again, I know where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun85259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    135
    48
    17
    21
See reviews for
26
119
80
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Great Hostel, Quiet, friendly. A quiet restful place just off Hollywood Blvd. I keep coming back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Excellent location right in the middle of hollywood but on a quiet street so very little noise. We found the staff very helpful and friendly and there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the hostel. With had a nice spacious room with ensuite,couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the kitchen/lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stay at this hostel every time I come to LA, it's a really cool place. It's directly behind the Kodak theater so perfect location. The rooms are large and nice, very comfortable beds. It's on a side street so very little noise from traffic, and the staff is awesome. There's a nice outdoor area with a patio and yard. Also, parking for only $5/day which you won't find anywhere in that location. I definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: I hear room #7 was where Marilyn Monroe stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dustin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Simply the best Hostel in Hollywood.
It is quiet and friendly
The staff are excellent and help you with their local knowledge
It attracts guests who are considerate to each other and is a welcome relief as a non-party hostel where you can get a good night's sleep.
I can fully recommend this place and its location, 30 seconds walk from Hollywood Boulevard, is second to none.
Easy access to the sights, Metro and bus's.
There is parking and internet access available too.
It is the only place I stay in Hollywood after trying others; this is the best.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I love this place. It is so perfect, it is comfortable, it clean, it quiet and the staff minding the place is extremely warm, extremely friendly, extremely helpful, extremely sweet and extremely hospitable I stay there for 5 days and stayed at Room 6. The room is so spacious and well maintained.

Breakfast is simple and it good. The kitchen is so well maintained. To get the hostel, the Metro is about 10 minutes walk or less. One can easily get food, supermarket and souvenirs in the vicinity which are all in walking distance. Overall the price is reasonable, the hostel is clean and comfortable, the staff namely Bea, Laura and Keith are so sweet. The location is so accessible to shops, food outlet, supermarket, Metro station and the major attraction. Kudos. Hope to come back again one day.

Room Tip: Room 6, the room is comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This was our first experience in a hostel and it exceeded our expectations. We stayed here for 7 nights in a private room. The room was clean, and we had a shower and toilet right outside.

Staff were very nice, courteous and helpful, even upgrading us with free towels and wi-fi because we were staying for an extended period.

Location was the best part about the hostel though, 2 minute stroll from Hollywood Blvd and nightlife of LA, yet the whole hostel was very quiet, allowing for good sleep.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahBlake_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,660 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,900 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,130 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 350 in Los Angeles
412 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 91 in Los Angeles
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Drive Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Drive Hostel

Property: Orange Drive Hostel
Address: 1764 N Orange Dr, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 91 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Orange Drive Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orange Drive Hostel has the absolute best location in Hollywood! Orange Drive Hostel is centrally located in the heart of Hollywood. We are walking distance from some of the most famous sites in Los Angeles, such as the world famous Chinese Theater, the Hollywood Walk of Fame, the Dolby Theater- Home of the Oscars, the Hollywood Bowl, Sunset Blvd, Jimmy Kimmel Live Studio, Disney's El Capitan Theatre, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, views of the Hollywood sign, Runyon Canyon-a favorite hiking trail of celebrities, with fantastic views of the city and the Hollywood Sign. We are also just steps from public transportation, the best night life, shopping and restaurants in Hollywood. We are also located a short drive or bus/metro stop away from Universal Studios,Paramount Studios, Warner Brothers Studios, West Hollywood, and Beverly Hills! We are the perfect location for movie Premieres, star Dedications and major Hollywood events! We offer a variety of room types, including dorm rooms, private rooms, and group rooms. Amenities Include: Free daily breakfast of all-you-can-make waffles, pancakes, oatmeal, coffee, assorted teas and hot chocolate. Free WiFi, Free Lockers, Free day storage of luggage before check-in and after check-out, Parking available (limited parking, parking is first come, first served. Sorry, we cannot accommodate over-sized vehicles. ATM, Laundry facilities, Fully equipped guest kitchen Common room w/HD flat screen TV (no TV's in rooms), Discount Supershuttle, Primetime Shuttle service to/from airport, Universal Studios tickets for sale, Discounted pub crawl with LA Epic Club Crawl. Some History about Orange Drive Hostel: Orange Drive Hostel was originally a manor home built in 1910. It later became a boarding house for the stars of Hollywood's Golden Age, including Marilyn Monroe, Gary Cooper, Rita Hayworth, Kim Novak, Douglas Fairbanks Jr, Johnny Weismuller 'Tarzan, and' and many more. Orange Drive Hostel is a historic home filled with Hollywood history, and staying with us offers a unique opportunity to experience the Golden Age of Hollywood. Open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Rooms are not guaranteed ready until 3:00 PM Additional key deposit is required and is refundable upon checkout. Please contact hostel if travelling with children or more than two guests/extra charges may apply. Methods of payment accepted: Visa, AMEX, MasterCard, travelers checks, and cash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Orange Drive Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Drive Manor Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing