We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orange Drive Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Magic Castle Hotel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hollywood VIP Hotel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Highland Gardens Hotel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
135
142
48
18
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
142
48
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshollywood boulevardshared bathroomgreat locationa private double roomdressing tablemake your own wafflesother guestsstayed here for nightswax museumminute walkfree breakfastsanta monicafamedormvaluablespedrocomputers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2008

a brilliant location right next to garman's chinese theatre and the walk of fame.

the staff were v helpful and friendly,

Hostel was clean and was an old house which was unusual.

only bad thing was that we could only pay by credit card when a particular member of staff was around and had to use our dollars which was a pain. luckily when we found the person they let us pay on credit card and gave us back the cash.

all in all a brilliant location and a great hostel

id definately recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kat1984London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

This hostel is in a great location right off Hollywood Blvd. It’s a quirky old building and has a comfortable feel to it. There are cooking facilities but we didn’t use them. Our room was a double en suite. It was small but did the job. There was a double bed , chair and dressing table and lots of cupboard space. We didn’t spend much time in there so it was fine for what we were after. This was our first experience of a hostel and was the first stop on our round the world trip. I think our only frustrations were that there was no plug in the sink (bring your own travel plug), there was no air con or fan - we did have a window but it was too noisy outside to leave it open at night (but to be honest in the location we expcted some noise) - and in hindsight we could have really done with a kettle in our rooms so should maybe have brought a travel one with us to save us traipsing down to the kitchen to make coffee.

We bought the wifi access but it didn’t work well in our room (although they did warn us beforehand). It was a bargain for what we got ($5 per day) compared with other places we’ve stayed recently although if you don’t need regular access you could use the free access at the Coffee Bean coffee shop at the end of the road to save yourself some cash.

The Starline trips were a good deal leaving from the Chinese Theatre round the corner. They mostly worked out cheaper than the LA Tours that can be booked through the hostel (even with the hostel discount). We did the hop on hop off bus tour and used them for the transfer to Universal Studios. If you buy the basic Universal Studios day pass then you can upgrade to the ‘front of line’ pass when you get into the theme park. This is well worth it - we didn’t buy it and didn’t get to see everything in the day we were there. We ditched the free bus back and got a taxi so that we could stay there longer - I think this was about $15.

Hollywood Blvd was a good location for the trip and if we went back I’d be happy staying at Orange Drive again as it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kazlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

+ location was great
- no air condition, not even a window to be opened,
bathroom too small

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank GranSelezzione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

didn't see them clean the room everyday. There is only one bathroom in every floor, which is very inconvenient. They don't have free internet and if you want to use wireless, you have to pay extra $5 for every night you stay there. Don't pay all the days you are gonna stay there, if you are not sure when you will leave. They don't give money back even if you check out several days earlier.
I would never go back to the hostel again

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jinyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Can't say enough good things about this place, Its RIGHT NEXT to the walk of fame, but still feels like your in the suburbs in a quite, luxury mansion. 1 block from subway, kodak theater, and everything else you want to see... I recommend doing the runyan canyan hike, 10 minutes from the hostel and you can see all of LA!!! Staff are great and the place is clean, safe and lots of fun!

Your a fool if you stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank worldtour2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews